Facebook   HARD ROCK INFO

REVIEWS 2019 - Page 3

Page 2   Index

Per Wiberg: Pile Of Nothing - Single
(Despotz Records)
So, the second single from his upcoming solo debut, "Head Without Eyes". They label his music as "rock/industrial/doom", but I don't really know what I should call this. I don't like it anyway.
As I said last time, Per Wiberg is a Swedish musician who have played keyboard, bass and guitar with several bands, like OPETH, SPIRITUAL BEGGARS, CANDLEMASS, CLUTCH/BAKERTON GROUP, SWITCHBLADE and KAMCHATKA, just to name a few of them all.
Not much else to add about this..
perwibergmusic.com   despotz.se
Published: April 17, 2019

ASTRAL DOORS: Worship Or Die - Album
(Metalville - Release date: April 26)
Swedish band ASTRAL DOORS have since their 2003 debut, "Of The Son And The Father", delivered their own brand of retro heavy metal - mainly influenced by Dio-era RAINBOW and BLACK SABBATH, as well as DIO - with elements of modern heavy metal. "Worship Or Die" is said to be their most melodic album since "New Revelation" from 2007, but yet 1 of the hardest as well.
When it comes to the lyrics, then it's really heavy stuff like religion, terrorism and the future of us all. But there's also a few songs with lyrics about myths and horror stories.
Well, they do what they do damned good. There's no doubt at all about that.
astraldoors.com   metalville.de
Published: April 16, 2019

SHAGGY: Fighting Angels And Demons - Album
(GMR Distribution)
The same year as I was born, in 1972, a new band was formed in Göteborg, Sweden who called themselves SHAGGY. They played rock music with influences from bands such as FREE, BAD COMPANY, YES, JETHRO TULL and others. In 1975 they had the honor of supporting SWEET at Scandinavium in their hometown, and they had a minor breakthrough that same year when they released their first LP, "Lessons For Beginners".
Now In 2019, the band is back with a brand new album, "Fighting Angels and Demons", which consist of 7 tracks in less than half an hour. And it's still good old rock music after all these years. Or hard rock the good old way to be exact. And they are doing it really good. I like what I hear.
Fans of 70s hard rock should like SHAGGY.
Published: April 15, 2019

SCARCROW: Beyond The Black Rainbow - Album
(SCREAM)
SCARCROW was founded in autumn 2015 in southern Germany. They got together for the love of true hard rock in the tradition of classic acts like Alice Cooper, BLACK SABBATH and DIO. But that doesn't mean that they sound exactly like that. They released their first EP, "A Murder Of Crows", in October 2016. And "Beyond The Black Rainbow" is their first album.
I would say that their sound is dark and heavy, but yet catchy and melodic. I think of a band like BACKYARD BABIES sometimes, even though it's not exactly like them either (possibly their heavier songs then). They have some really good songs here anyway, even though 12 tracks in 45 and a half minutes is a little too much at once.
facebook.com/scarcrowband
Published: April 15, 2019

ROYAL HUNT: Paradox - Album reissue
(NorthPoint Productions)
ROYAL HUNT continue to release their old albums digitally. We have now come to "Paradox" from 1997, which they say is "one of the best progressive metal albums of all time". I don't know if I agree, but it sold well over 250.000 copies across the world, so they obviously did something right. And yes, they have many great songs here. There's no doubt about that. Just listen to tracks like "Tearing Down The World", "Message To God" or "Silent Scream" for example.
If I should try to describe their music, then I would say that it's both melodic and progressive metal that we get here. A little like a more progressive 80s SCORPIONS maybe? I think that both fans of melodic metal and progressive metal will like this, as well as fans of good old heavy metal and power metal. So give them a chance! They're worth it.
On this re-release of the album we also get 2 bonus tracks. You can find the album on digital platforms like iTunes, Amazon, Google Play and Spotify.
royalhunt.com   northpoint-productions.com
Published: April 15, 2019

Brown Acid: The Eight Trip - Album
(RidingEasy Records - Release date: April 20)
A new edition of Brown Acid is always nice, since there are many secret jewels to discover that I never would have heard if it wasn't for this collection. And yes, I have praised Brown Acid here before. And "The Eight Trip" is just as good as any of the others that I have heard. So if you're into the good old heavy rock from the 60s/70s, then this is a golden treasure. The only problem with this album is that these 10 tracks are over way too soon.
The unknown bands that participate on this 8th volume are ATTACK!, WHITE ROCK, RIVERSIDE, LUKE AND THE APOSTLES, TOURISTS, BARTOS BROTHERS BAND, INSIDE EXPERIENCE, KARMA, MOLOCH and GRUMP. And if any of the names sounds familiar to you, it's probably not the band that you think it is. Some of these single tracks are completely unknown releases that just recently have been discovered. Some of these singles are so unknown that you can't even find any information about their existance on the internet.
ridingeasyrecords.com
Published: April 14, 2019

OREYEON: Ode To Oblivion - Album
(Heavy Psych Sounds)
This album was released about a month ago, so excuse me if I'm a little late with my review. It has been very much lately.
OREYEON is an Italian stoner rock band who was formed in 2014. Their first release, "Builders Of Cosmos", came out in 2016. Their inspiration comes from many different kinds of heavy music, but they blend in stuff that other stoner bands might not do, which makes them stand out a little from the rest. The music is mainly heavy, but also a bit psychedelic, while the vocals are melodic.
These 6 songs are from 4,35 to 9,20 minutes. Most of them are really good.
facebook.com/Oreyeonofficialband   heavypsychsounds.com
Published: April 12, 2019

REDWOLVES: Future Becomes Past - Album
(Argonauta Records)
Here's another record which has been lying for a while.
REDWOLVES comes from Copenhagen, Denmark and formed in 2012. The first EP, "Walking Roads", was released in 2016, and now the time has come for their first full length.
Their music is heavy rock, but there's also a touch of classic rock and The HELLACOPTERS. It's very catchy and energetic, even though there's some slower pieces too. A well-known sound from the past, done in modern time. And this is really good stuff my child. Both retro rockers and heavy rockers will like this band. Or just about any kind of rock fan actually.
Published: April 12, 2019

The QUIREBOYS: Amazing Disgrace - Album
(Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
I guess that there has always been some ROLLING STONES in The QUIREBOYS' music, but on this album it seems to be a extra big influence somehow. It's still good though. I like this kind of old man rock n roll.
The QUIREBOYS have made another great album. All songs might not be so great, but a few are even fantastic. And that's definitely not bad for a band that have been around for 35 years, and released as much as 6 albums just during the last 7 years.
"Amazing Disgrace" is their 12th album. It was recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales, where classic acts like QUEEN, BUDGIE and HAWKWIND made classics in the 70s, and SUEDE, The DARKNESS and OPETH in modern time.
quireboys.com   offyerrocka.com
Published: April 11, 2019

ICED EARTH: Enter The Realm - EP (Demo reissue)
(Century Media - Release date: April 12)
Seems like band leader/guitarist Jon Schaffer have become nostalgic. First a reunion EP with his old band PURGATORY, and now he have dug up an old demo with ICED EARTH from 1989. But this is very good, so there's no reason to complain.
This EP has been mastered from the original sound sources, and will be available on CD, digitally and LP (in several colours). This is actually ICED EARTH's first and only demo, and there's a total of 6 tracks. A must for any fan of the band of course. But fans of classic heavy metal in general will probably like this too.
The line-up in 1989 was Jon Schaffer (rhythm guitar, backing vocals), Greg Seymour (drums), Gene Adam (vocals), Dave Abell (bass guitar) and Randy Shawver (lead guitar). And as you might know already, the only one who is left in the band today is Jon Schaffer.
icedearth.com   centurymedia.com
Published: April 11, 2019

HUMANITY DELETE: Werewolves In The Iron Sky - Album
(Iron, Blood and Death Corporation)
HUMANITY DELETE is yet another one of all the bands/projects with Rogga Johansson (PAGANIZER, RIBSPREADER etc etc). The band was originally formed back in 2003, when a demo was recorded but never released. RIBSPREADER took too much time, so HUMANITY DELETE was put on ice until 2012, when they wanted to resurrect the band, and finally release those demo recordings. But that idea became their debut album, "Neverending Nightmares", instead. After that it took a few more years before they had time to make their second album, "Fuck Forever World". In January 2019 they released their third full length, "Werewolves In The Iron Sky". And if you like meaty death metal the way Rogga use to do it, then this is absolutely your thing.
facebook.com/roggaofficial   facebook.com/ibdc666
Published: April 11, 2019

DJÄVULEN MÖBLERAR OM: Mot Allt Som Du Är För - 10" EP
(Beluga Records)
Well, this Swedish punk rock band seems to deliver as usual. Because this sounds just as good as it use to do. So I'm just going to give you a very good advice: If you like punk rock in Swedish with a touch of rock n roll, then you just have to check out this band! That's how simple it is.
And sorry for taking so long with a short review like that, but there's been more records than ever to review lately.
facebook.com/DjavulenMoblerarOm   belugarecords.com
Published: April 11, 2019

WIVES: Waving Past Nirvana - Single
(City Slang)
This is said to be a grunge/psych quartet. They are from New York, and have just signed with City Slang. "Waving Past Nirvana" is their debut single, which will be released as a 7" single, with "Kinda Like You" on the b-side, on May 24 (the a-side is already available for streaming though). And this is a first taste of their debut album, which will be released during the summer.
What can I say about this then? To me it sounds more like some kind of alternative rock song than grunge or psych rock. Not useless though, but nothing that makes me interested in more material from them.
wivesnyc.com
Published: April 10, 2019

BLACK MIDI: Crow's Perch - Single
(Rough Trade)
I don't really know, but I think this is a weird little song. Or maybe special is a better word. Hardly any hit material anyway. But if you don't want your rock to be as every other band, then this is absolutely something for you. They fuses a toxic mixture of post-punk, psychedelic rock, noise rock, indie rock or just about anything that they want to throw in. A very special band that is hard to grasp. But some people like that. Are you 1 of them?
Watch the video: bm.ffm.to/crowsperch?
Published: April 10, 2019

BAD RELIGION: Do The Paranoid Style - Single
(Epitaph Records)
Bad Religion
BAD RELIGION continue to release singles from their upcoming album, "Age Of Unreason", which will be released on May 3. And "Do The Paranoid Style" is a faster punk rocker, but just as melodic as they always are. A really good song! I look forward to hear the new album, which seems to be a bit more variated than usual.
Not much else to say. I wait for the album and let you know more about it later.
badreligion.com   epitaph.com
Published: April 10, 2019

XAON: Solipsis - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: April 12)
This little orchestra is led by Vincent Zermatten (guitars) and Rob Carson (vocals/orchestrations), and "Solipsis" is their second album. How I shall describe what they are doing is the more interesting part here. Because this sounds like a band who wants to go their own way. It's metal anyway. There's no doubt about that. But we also have symphonic parts, as well as progressive moments. It's both hard and heavy, as well as melodic parts. A little bit of everything you could say. And with that I mean that they take pieces from all kinds of metal genres and put them together.
I don't know if you get any wiser after reading that description, but they have some good stuff here anyway. So maybe you should simply give them a try? I guess that people who like a band like EVERGREY for example could like this. But their record label says that this is something for fans of DARK TRANQUILLITY, TYPE O NEGATIVE and SEPTIC FLESH. So I guess that now both you and me are even more confused instead.
facebook.com/xaonmusic   mightymusic.dk
Published: April 9, 2019

RAUNCHY: Velvet Noise - LP reissue
(Mighty Music - Release date: April 12)
This album was recorded in 2000, and became Danish metal band RAUNCHY's debut album. The music is more of the alternative and modern kind of metal. Or a mixture of hard guitars and melodic melodies. And when the album came out, reviewers described it as a "modern classic", and said that the band was "boosting new life to a stagnated metal scene". Famous producers suddenly wanted to work with them, and big record labels wanted to sign them (they signed with Nuclear Blast after this album).
Now in 2019 this album will be released on vinyl for the first time. It will be available on orange vinyl in a limited edition of 500 copies.
Even though it might sound like this would be a masterpiece, it sure ain't a masterpiece to me. But on the other hand, I had never heard this album before. And it's far away from the worst I have heard. Some songs are pretty good actually.
RAUNCHY is still alive, and plan to record their 7th album in late 2019.
raunchy.dk   mightymusic.dk
Published: April 9, 2019

DEVIL'S GUN: Sing For The Chaos - Album
(Black Lodge Records - Release date: April 12)
This singer sounds exactly like Udo Dirkschneider (U.D.O., ex-ACCEPT). And this band's music is not far away from his bands. In other words damned good heavy metal that will make you scream for more. What else can you ask for?
"Sing For The Chaos" is DEVIL'S GUN's second album. It consist of 10 really strong tracks, and not 1 single ballad as far as the ear can hear. If you don't like this, then you don't like heavy metal.
soundcloud.com/devilsgunswe
Published: April 8, 2019

The MAMMUTHUS: Forever Tree - Album
(Gothenburg Noise Works - Release date: April 12)
The MAMMUTHUS has previously released 2 EPs - "Khatanga" in 2015 and "The Herd Is Gathering" in 2016. Now it's time for their debut album to arrive. And their music is described as "stonerish melodic riffs, bluesy hooks and thrilling echoes of 70s rock and 90s grunge". The members have different backgrounds in music. Bands that they have played or play with are ELECTRIC EARTH, FOSTER JENKYNS and CYNICAL EXISTANCE. They believe in artistic freedom, and let everyone get his space to create and contribute to the songs that they make.
If that sounds like your dream band, then this might be something for you. But you might also be like me - a simple man who like 70s rock and 90s grunge - and then this is also something for you.
The most magical song is actually the slowest track, "Doomsday Vault", with just guitar and vocals. But most of the other songs are also great.
facebook.com/themammuthus
Published: April 8, 2019

MURG: Strävan - Album
(Nordvis Produktion - Release date: April 26)
"Strävan" is the third album from this anonymous duo. It's the last chapter in a trilogy that started with 2015's "Varg & Björn" - Humankind as we know it with all our flaws and perversions no longer exists: a new form is created, a perfect beast born to sacrifice itself to end the entire universe.
We get 8 tracks of cold and raw black metal in Swedish. No symphonic stuff or any other over-ambitious things here. Just pure black metal as it was meant to be. There's still atmosphere, even though it's very dark (what else?).
Good stuff that you have to check out.
facebook.com/murgofficial   nordvis.com
Published: April 8, 2019

WALDGEFLÜSTER: Mondscheinsonaten - Album
(Nordvis Produktion - Release date: April 12)
WALDGEFLÜSTER gives us over an hour of atmospheric black metal. Melodic guitar melodies are mixed with both harsh and clean vocals. Their shortest song is 5,49 minutes, while the longest is 12,22 minutes. This is an epic and ambitious project that these Germans have put together. A winter album you could say. Or why not the perfect soundtrack to a walk in the forrest. But if you want your black metal to be hard and brutal, then this might not be the band for you. I like what I hear though.
waldgefluester.com   nordvis.com
Published: April 8, 2019

SOLITUDE: Reach For The Sky - Album
(Mighty Music)
This is the third album from this Japanese heavy metal band. But their history goes back all the way to 1996, even though it wasn't until 1998 that they picked the name SOLITUDE. Their debut album, "Virtual Image", was released in 2001. They started to prepare themselves for a new album in 2004, but it wasn't ready to be released until 2009. This album, titled "Brave The Storm", was also released in Europe in 2011. The recordings of "Reach For The Sky" began in 2014, and the album was released in Japan in 2015. But it's not until now that it will finally be released in Europe as well (if I got it right?).
In the faster songs this band is very influenced by MOTÖRHEAD. But in the heavier songs I think of a band like HIGH ON FIRE instead. So far so good. But unfortunately they sometimes have this tendency to play the same thing for a little too long. And that's not funny. Luckily not such a big problem though as most of their songs are really good. I think that fans of NWOBHM will like this a lot.
facebook.com/solitudejapan   mightymusic.dk
Published: April 5, 2019

MOLIOR SUPERUM: As Time Slowly Passes By - Album
(H42 Records)
MOLIOR SUPERUM is another Swedish band who play 70s blues/heavy rock, but with a pinch of stoner rock as well. Their debut album came out in 2013, and was followed by 2 EPs in 2014 and 2015. Then it became quiet. But now they are back with their second full length. And what can I say? Believe it or not, but here's another great band in this over-established genre. I'm not really sure how it's possible how so many 70s rock bands can be so damned great. But they are..
moliorsuperum.bandcamp.com   h42records.com
Published: April 4, 2019

Louise Lemón: A Broken Heart Is An Open Heart - Album
(Icons Creating Evil Art)
Even though I describe this as "dark pop", she start the album with a song called "Sunlight". So maybe it's not always so dark after all? Well, there has to be a light in the tunnel, because total darkness is not that funny. But a few songs later it's "Not Enough" for her, and then she have a "Blurry Vision" and "Swimming In Sadness". So I guess you could say that it commute between hope and despair.
The funny thing is that they say that she has been inspired by 60s/70s psych rock and soul on this album. Because that's not something that I can hear anyway. Possibly some soul, but psych rock? Well, that would possibly be the instrumental track, "Susceptible Soul", then.
And yes, I know that I call this site Hard Rock Info, but this is my site, and I do as I want to. And now I actually happens to like Louise's music. And it's not impossible that some more of you might do so. So if you like dark music, then give this a try at least.
louiselemonmusic.com   icea.se
Published: April 4, 2019

Stevie D ft Corey Glover: Final Resting Place - Single
(Mighty Music)
This song start with a guy singing without any music at all for almost a minute. The first time I heard it that was enough for me to start thinking that it was an accapella song. Luckily it wasn't. Because after almost a minute the other guys have woke up, and start to play. And in the end it's not such a bad song after all.
Stevie D feat. Corey Glover is a musical partnership by producer and multi-instrumentalist Stephen DeAcutis (aka Stevie D) and singer Corey Glover (LIVING COLOUR). They will release their first album together, "Torn From The Pages", in May through Mighty Music. "Final Resting Place" is the first single from that album.
facebook.com/StevieDftCoreyGlover   mightymusic.dk
Published: April 3, 2019

Per Wiberg: Get Your Boots On - Single
(Despotz Records)
Per Wiberg is a Swedish musician who have played keyboard, bass and guitar with bands like OPETH, SPIRITUAL BEGGARS, CANDLEMASS, CLUTCH/BAKERTON GROUP, SWITCHBLADE and KAMCHATKA, among others. But now it's time to make his solo debut, starting with the first single from his upcoming album, "Head Without Eyes", which will be released on May 10.
"Get Your Boots On" is like a darker rock song, and not that much as any of the bands mentioned above. It's a good song though, but I don't really know what I can compare it with. So just to make sure if you like it or not, simply give it a try.
perwibergmusic.com   despotz.se
Published: April 3, 2019