skull HARD ROCK INFO skull
HOME | NEWS | REVIEWS | PHOTOS | LINKS | CONTACT
REVIEWS 2017 (Page 4)
Back to page 3
ALL 4 1: World's Best Hope - Album
This could almost be called yet another supergroup. Not that everybody has been playing in any bigger bands, but anyway.. The members are Terry Brock (GIANT, STRANGEWAYS) on lead vocals, Robert Berry (THREE, ALLIANCE) on bass/vocals, Gary Phil (BOSTON, Sammy Hagar, ALLIANCE) on guitar and Matt Starr (Ace Frehley, MR. BIG) on drums. And the music they play is AOR with pieces from MR. BIG, VAN HALEN, STRANGEWAYS and ALLIANCE. Very catchy and melodic stuff that I think everybody who like AOR/melodic rock will like. Pretty good stuff, but nothing that is extra good.
(Frontiers Music)
JULY 24, 2017
Photo
BLAZING RUST: Armed To Exist - Album
Debut album from a Russian band. And this is something for fans of NWOBHM. But they also reminds me of a Swedish band called 220 VOLT. A classic 80s sound anyway. And these 9 songs are not bad at all. It's actually very good. So I can't see any reason why you should not check this out.
And sometimes there's no reason to say more than that..
Release date: July 28, 2017 (Pure Steel Records)
facebook.com/blazingrust
JULY 24, 2017
Photo
BADGE: If It Hurts It Must Be Good - Album
Weird stuff. It's a little like PRIMUS would have started to play some kind of redneck hard rock. But what they play is some kind of harder blues rock, but obviously with their own twist. They have definitely found their own blues rock sound.
This Swedish band started in 2002, and has released 2 albums - "Kill Another Fuzz" (2010) and "If I Could Love I'd Love This" (2013).
If you like pre war blues and/or want something different, then this might be something for you.
Release date: July 28, 2017 (Pride & Joy Music)
facebook.com/badgesweden
JULY 24, 2017
Photo
HELSLAVE: Divination - EP
Yet another old school death metal band. And yet again it's really good. Nothing to complain about here. I guess you know this stuff pretty well, so I guess that it doesn't come as a big surprise that they're inspired by good old Swedish bands like GRAVE, ENTOMBED and DESULTORY. HELSLAVE seems to be from Italy though. Nice.
(Black Market Metal Label)
youtube.com/watch?v=WG2-RP3EL4Y
JULY 23, 2017
Photo
TUBEFREEKS: The Dry Tide - Album
Grunge in 2017? Some kind of alternative rock anyway. Are they any good then? Well, let's just say that hit thinking doesn't seem to be on their mind. It's not totally useless though. The first songs are good at least. But 12 songs is too much for me. I get tired after 5-6 songs becuse there's not enough variation.
TUBEFREEKS comes from Maryland, and are said to be a hard rock band. This is actually their 3rd album, their first in 7 years.
I think this can fit fans of bands like STONE TEMPLE PILOTS, ALICE IN CHAINS and similar.
(Online Metal Promo)
tubefreeks.com
JULY 23, 2017
Photo
NADIMAC: Besnilo - Album
These guys from Belgrade, Serbia might not know English (they sing in their language), but they seems to know how to make some old school crossover thrash metal anyway. And that's definitely something good.
The band started in 2003, and they have as much as 25 releases on the market, including 4 official albums, EPs, singles, DVD and split albums. So it seems like they have been working really hard. "Besnilo" is their 5th full length album.
Well, this is not so bad at all, so I think you should give it a try.
(Xtreem Music)
nadimac.com
JULY 22, 2017
Photo
MATREKIS: Kill Your Captor - Album
MATREKIS was formed in Minnesota in 2009, with the goal to play some old school metal influenced by classic acts like BLACK SABBATH, MOTÖRHEAD, IRON MAIDEN and MEGADETH. That doesn't mean that MATREKIS sounds exactly like those bands, but they definitely have some really good songs here, even though everything might not be great.
They have previously released a EP, "End Of Time", in 2013. This is their first full length though.
(Online Metal Promo)
facebook.com/matrekis
JULY 22, 2017
Photo
WARNER DRIVE: Till The Wheels Fall Off - Album
I don't really know, but to me the first song sounds like VOLBEAT. And I'm not a fan of them. The rest sounds like some kind of American teenage pop punk. And I'm not a fan of that either.
WARNER DRIVE is described as an original American rock band from Hollywood, who have catchy riffs and a punk edge. It seems like they have released 3 full lengths before this album, and they are so energetic and popular when they play live. But I have totally missed this band. And it's not something I have to cry for, even though it wasn't so bad as I first thought. I'm pretty sure that the teenagers will love this band though. Or fans of BLINK 182 maybe?
Release date: July 28, 2017 (Dead End Exit Records)
JULY 21, 2017
Photo
SOUL SECRET: Babel - Album
Progressive metal band from Italy, who released their debut album, "Flowing Portraits", in 2008. "Babel" is their 4th album. It's a concept album, covering topics like religion and love, and ranging from classic progressive rock to more modern progressive metal, with influences from djent, electronic and latin music.
Well, I have definitely heard worse in my life..
Release date: July 28, 2017 (Pride & Joy Music)
soulsecret.net
JULY 21, 2017
Photo
GRAHAM BONNET BAND: Live... Here Comes The Night - Album, DVD
Well, this old man should not be a stranger in the hard rock scene. He has been singing in bands like RAINBOW, MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP and ALCATRAZZ for example. And if you don't have a clue who those bands are, then you really have something to learn my friend. And as this is a live album, you get both his solo material as well as some songs from some of the bands he has been singing for through the years. It's simply a 15-track best of set, so there's not much to complain about as everybody seems to do a really good job.
This concert took place at Frontiers Rock Festival III in Trezzo, Milan, Italy on April 24, 2016.
(Frontiers Music)
JULY 20, 2017
Photo
DEATHCULT: Tyrant Of All Tyrants - Album
What can I say about this then? Some kind of raw thrash/death/black metal? Hardly the best or the worst I have heard. So I guess they end up somewhere in the middle. A band that not too many will pay any attention to, but it's not impossible that they might have a few really true fans somewhere. This is music for those who like their metal a little bit more unpolished.
(Do Or Die Productions)
facebook.com/DeathcultChicago
JULY 20, 2017
Photo
DAWN OF MORGANA: Revelations - EP
Male growl are mixed with female clean vocals. I actually don't really know what I should think of this symphonic metal soup. But I guess it could be something for those who like NIGHTWISH, AMARANTHE, EPICA and The GATHERING. Which isn't exactly something that I use to listen to.
DAWN OF MORGANA was formed in 2010 with the intention that it would be just a recording project. That changed after a while though, and now they also play live. "Revelations" seems to be their first official release, which consist of 3 tracks.
(Online Metal Promo)
dawnofmorgana.com
JULY 20, 2017
Photo
COFFEINNE: Circle Of Time - Album
This is the first album from this Spanish band, who play melodic metal that is mainly inspired by the European scene. But they blend in some power metal, modern Scandinavian metal and even some melodic death metal as well. People who like melodic metal should definitely check this out, because these songs are really good. There's no doubt about that!
..and I don't know what else there is to say.
(Fighter Records)
facebook.com/Coffeinne-1013748078752599
JULY 20, 2017
Photo
SAPATA: Satanibator - Album
Yet another one of these doom rock bands with a foot in the 70s. "MDD" is a little bit more psychedelic (or however I should describe it) than the rest, while "Full Power" is almost punk in the best MISFITS style. It's variation between each song, which I like, and it sounds really good. So this is of course a album that you definitely should check out as soon as possible (immediately if you can).
SAPATA was formerly known as SATANIBATOR, and comes from Tampere, Finland. They formed in 2014, and this is their debut album.
(Inverse Records)
facebook.com/SAPATABAND
JULY 19, 2017
Photo
SOULSPELL: The Second Big Bang - Album
Well, this is hardly the first or the last metal opera. And as usual it's very majestic and many different kinds of metal, as well as many various musicians involved.
SOULSPELL is the vision of Brazilian musician Heleno Vale. This is the 4th album from this group of friends. Among the more well-known friends on this album are singers like Tim "Ripper" Owens (ex-ICED EARTH, ex-JUDAS PRIEST), Blaze Bayley (ex-IRON MAIDEN), Timo Kotipelto (STRATOVARIUS), Fabio Lione (RHAPSODY) and Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR).
It's a good album. There's no doubt about that. So I guess most people who like classic heavy metal and power metal in the more majestic and melodic league are going to like this.
(Inner Wound)
JULY 18, 2017
Photo
NECROMANDUS: Necromandus - Album
This band's music is probably best described as a mixture of classic rock and progressive rock. And they have some really good songs here, but my favorite must be "And She Smiles". So yes, sometimes there actually is a progressive rock band that I like. But I guess what makes me like this band is that they concentrate on doing good rock songs, instead of just showing how damned good they can play. Melody before boast.
Well, this is hardly a new band. It seems like they started their career back in the late 60s already, but unfortunately it didn't last for that long. Their self-titled debut album never came out, and then 1 of the members suddenly left the band during a US tour. It was goodnight for the band. The debut album was released as a bootleg, titled "Orexis Of Death", in the 90s. When a official release of the album finally came out in 2010, 3 of the 4 members had died. The only remaining member today is the drummer Frank Hall.
Release date: July 21, 2017 (Mandus Music)
JULY 17, 2017
Photo
YE BANISHED PRIVATEERS: First Night Back In Port - Album
Napalm Records continue to support the pirates. But the funny thing with this band is that they're not any folk metal pirates. No, this is just folk music actually. But I like it anyway. And some of these songs could actually have worked good as heavy metal songs as well. 15 songs is a little too much at once though (but that's nothing new). And when 1 song towards the end is 9,50 minutes, and the last song is as long as 18,39 minutes, then you begin to understand that the party is over. The best songs are in the first half of the album.
It seems like this band comes from my country, Sweden, but it sounds like they could have been Scottish or Irish. There's both male and female vocals, and they seems to have a whole crew of members who sing and play. Don't expect any electric guitars here. This band use traditional instruments like fiddle, banjo, accordion etc.
(Napalm Records)
yebanishedprivateers.com
JULY 16, 2017
Photo
Eva with band Eva Eastwood at Stora Torget in Borås, Sweden on July 13, 2017
Who might Eva Eastwood be then you might ask? Well, it's a Swedish rockabilly singer. Very catchy and melodic (family friendly) rockabilly, but I liked it. Most songs was in Swedish, but some of her older stuff was in English.
And how come a hard rocker like me go to a family friendly show like this then? Well, I grew up with music from the 50s and 60s, as my father used to play that stuff (among many other things). And I happens to like all kinds of rock, so I prefer to call myself rocker and not hard rocker. Another reason for going to this show is that it was free entrance, plus that I have not been to a show in months. My leg didn't really like that I had to stand for an hour though, but that's a other story..
Eva Eastwood
JULY 15, 2017
Photo
CORNERS OF SANCTUARY: Cut Your Losses - EP
CORNERS OF SANCTUARY is an American heavy metal band who formed in 2011, and you might have read about them here before. A 6-track EP, "Forgotten Hero", was released in March 2012, and in June the same year they released their first full length, "Breakout". A lot of more records has been released since then. They are currently working on their next album, "The Galloping Hordes", which they plan to release towards the end of this year. While we wait for that we can listen to this 4-track EP.
They might not be the best heavy metal band in the world, but they are far away from the worst either. They have their bright moments if we put it that way. Give it a try.
(Online Metal Promo)
cornersofsanctuary.com
JULY 14, 2017
Photo
BURN RIVER BURN: Neüstonia - Album
The second album from these San Francisco, California hard rockers. They combine elements of their musical influences, such as ALICE IN CHAINS, VAN HALEN, BLACK SABBATH, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and SOUNDGARDEN, but try to make something on their own out of it. I wouldn't say that they have made something unique though. But if that sounds like something that you would like, then I can recomend you to check this out. Because it's not bad at all. They have several good songs here.
(Online Metal Promo)
burnriverburn.com
JULY 13, 2017
Photo
BRUME: Rooster - Album
Doom trio from San Francisco, California who release their debut album. There's just 6 tracks, but it takes about 51 minutes before the album is over. So expect some long songs - 7,39 to 11,49 minutes. There's 1 shorter song though, and it's just 2,56 minutes. But anyway.. You could say that this is a little psychedelic sometimes. It's definitely heavy anyway. But I guess that wasn't too hard to figure out.
Not bad. Not bad at all. This might be the heaviest trip of acid you will get this year without getting bored.
Release date: July 15, 2017 (DHU Records/Doom Stew Records)
JULY 13, 2017
Photo
BLOOD: Mental Conflicts - Album (re-issue)
German band who formed in 1986 as a fun noisecore band. They recorded 3 demos of that shit. But in June 1987 they became more serious, and in 1989 they released their debut album, "Impulse To Destroy". "Mental Conflicts" is their 4th album, which was originally released in 1994. And on this re-release you also get the "Spiddle Of Red Blood" EP from 1995 as a bonus. So it's a total of 24 tracks. And excuse me my subjects, but that wasn't really what I wanted to hear. But if it's crappy death/grind that you're looking for, then I won't stop you from giving it a try.
(Vic Records)
JULY 13, 2017
Photo
BLACKOUT: The Horse - Album
Heavy and monotonous doom/stoner rock by a trio from New York City. Same riffs over and over again. Not the most funniest record I have been listening to this summer.
After a brief hiatus between the March 2015 release of their self-titled sophomore album and a writing session with mushrooms and tequila in July 2016, BLACKOUT regrouped and recorded a new album in just 4 days.
I guess that fans of a band like HIGH ON FIRE might like this. I prefer HIGH ON FIRE, even though it was a few years since I heard them last time.
Release date: July 14, 2017 (RidingEasy)
JULY 13, 2017
Photo
INFERNÄL MÄJESTY: Unholier Than Thou - Album (re-issue)
Canadian extreme metal band who has been around since 1986. They are probably best known for their debut album, "None Shall Defy", from 1987. This is their second album though, which wasn't released until 11 years after the debut (in 1998). And as a bonus you will also get the live album "Chaos in Copenhagen", originally released in 2000.
Might be worth checking out if you are a fan of this band, but I wouldn't waste my last money for beer on this. They play and play and scream, but it's like nothing happens.
(Vic Records)
JULY 12, 2017
Photo
GATES OF ISHTAR: A Bloodred Path - Album (re-issue)
GATES OF ISHTAR was formed in Luleå, northern Sweden in 1992. Their debut demo, "Season of Frost", led to a record deal with Finnish label Spinefarm Records, who released their debut album, "A Bloodred Path", in 1996. Their music is melodic death metal like it's made in Sweden. Think of bands like DAWN, DISSECTION, SACRAMENTUM and early AT THE GATES, and you will get the picture (or the sound in this case).
I can't say that it's bad, because this was really good stuff! Just listen to "Where The Winds Of Darkness Blow" for example. Also nice with a cover of the W.A.S.P. classic "I Wanna Be Somebody". This is definitely worth checking out!
(Vic Records)
JULY 12, 2017
Photo
BLOODY HAMMERS: The Horrific Case Of Bloody Hammers - EP
They call this horror sleaze rock for some reason, but I don't know if I agree on that. I can't hear any sleaze rock here. I think they reminds me of Marilyn Manson sometimes. So I would say goth instead of sleaze. I guess it's yet another one of these bands that you simply can't get a grip on.
BLOODY HAMMERS is a duo that consist of Anders Manga (vocals, guitar, bass) and his wife Devallia (keyboards/organ).
6 songs is what you get on this EP, and I just don't know what else there is to say..
Release date: July 14, 2017 (Napalm Records)
bloodyhammers.com
JULY 12, 2017
Photo
ASSORTED HEAP: Mindwaves - Album (re-issue)
ASSORTED HEAP was a cult death/thrash metal band from Aurich, Lower Saxony in Germany. Their debut demo, "Killing Peace", was recorded in early 1988 and received very good reviews from many underground magazines. In 1991, the band signed a deal with new extreme metal label 1MF Records and recorded their debut album. "Mindwaves" is their second album, which was originally released in 1992. This re-issue also includes some live tracks from the "Swing Of The Axe" tour.
This is a pretty o.k. album, but not much else to be honest with you.
(Vic Records)
JULY 12, 2017
Photo
STILLBORN: Lorelei - Single
STILLBORN are back after almost 3 decades, and this is the first single from their upcoming album, "Nocturnals".
I have actually not heard this band before, so I can't compare them with their previous material. But I have learned that this was a pretty unique band in the late 80s. The genre goth, or gothic metal or rock, didn't really exist back then. But the best way to describe the sound of STILLBORN is goth/doom rock. It was heavy, gloomy and dark. And not much seems to have changed.
This is a pretty good song, so I think it can be interesting to hear the new album.
(Black Lodge Records)
youtube.com/watch?v=8BFfXmo0Yis&feature=youtu.be
JULY 11, 2017
Photo
ToJa: V - Album
This German band was founded in 1997 as a studio project, but soon developed to a whole group. And as the title says, it's their 5th album. The music is melodic hard rock, and they really seems to know what they are doing, because this is really good stuff.
I don't really know what else there is to add. This is definitely worth checking out of course. That's it!
Release date: July 14, 2017 (Pure Rock Records)
toja-rock.com
JULY 11, 2017
Photo
VINTERSORG: Till Fjälls Del II - Album+EP
"Till Fjälls" was released in 1998 already, but it's not until now that a second part comes. Which means that the music and the concept goes back to the roots of VINTERSORG. Folk metal with a touch of black metal here and there. Lyrics in Swedish about snowcapped mountains, nature-inspired mysticism and Nordic folklore. It's mainly melodic, but there's some harsh outbursts too once in a while.
As a bonus we also get the EP "Tillbaka Till Källorna", which consist of songs that was written before VINTERSORG was formed.
13 really good songs is what we have here, so if you have any interest at all in folk metal, then this is something for you.
(Napalm Records)
facebook.com/vintersorganic
JULY 11, 2017
Photo
ASHCLOUD: Kingdom Of The Damned - Album
This is described as "crust punk infused death metal with ice cold melodies". And then we talk about Swedish old school death metal, like it sounded back in the late 80s and early 90s. The stuff that we like best.
The band was actually born as SKINBAG in 2005 already, with Jonny Pettersson (WOMBBATH, HENRY KANE, PALE KING, GODS FORSAKEN) as the only member. But it wasn't until 2013, when he met Gareth Nash (BODY HARVEST, AGELESS OBLIVION), that a demo was finally recorded, and the name was changed to ASHCLOUD. Another demo was recorded before they got signed to Xtreem Music, who has released 2 albums with them before "Kingdom Of The Damned". And joining the duo on the new album is session drummer Bryan Berger (VIRVUM).
There might not be as much crust as there was on their previous albums, but you can still hear some influences from it at least. The melodies are still there though, and possibly some more atmosphere (or however I should describe it). It's something different anyway. But I like it, so that's not a problem at all.
Definitely worth checking out!
(Xtreem Music)
facebook.com/Ashcloud666
JULY 7, 2017
Photo
APOSENTO: Bleed To Death - Album
Scary metal. Or death metal in the heavier league. That doesn't mean that they're slow all the time though, because they can be pretty brutal too sometimes.
APOSENTO comes from Spain, and formed in 1990. They released a couple of demo recordings and the MCD "Welcome To Darkness" before they gave up in 1997. In 2012 they returned with a new lineup, and released another MCD, "Retorno a la Muerte". In 2014 their first, self-titled, full length album was released. And now their second album is here.
(Xtreem Music)
JULY 7, 2017
Photo
DIAMOND HEAD: Death And Progress / Evil Live - Albums (re-issues)
I have not heard the "Death And Progress" album before, but I reconize 1 song at least: "Run". Many of these songs actually reminds me of classic bands like LED ZEPPELIN and AEROSMITH. So you could say that it's a more blues rock based kind of NWOBHM. No matter what it sounds good. But it's not as good as their classics (that I always seems to mention when I write about this band, so I guess I don't have to mention any titles again).
"Death And Progress" is the band's 4th studio album, and it was originally released in 1993. It was their first new album in 10 years. This record has a much cleaner and more polished sound than their previous 3 albums, and it also features 2 special guests: Tony Iommi of BLACK SABBATH and Dave Mustaine of MEGADETH.
"Evil Live" was released as a double CD in 1994. The main album was recorded live at the National Bowl, Milton Keynes, UK in 1993. The second CD, "Evil Extras", features cover versions and at the time previously unreleased tracks. And what we get is a mixture of a few old classics and a lot of stuff that I wasn't familiar with since before. Unfortunately the sound quality is as good as a better bootleg recording, but the songs are good anyway. There should be better live recordings with DIAMOND HEAD. And among the songs from the bonus CD, I like the cover of "This Flight Tonight" by NAZARETH best. But the rest of the songs are not so bad either.
(Dissonance)
diamondheadofficial.com
JULY 6, 2017
Photo
SKINFLINT: Chief Of The Ghosts - Album
..and what's the meaning with the first useless track, "Borankana Metal"? Stop that shit! But otherwise it's heavy metal and nothing else.
This African trio (from Botswana) has never really impressed me that much. They might succeed to do some half good songs once in a while, but not much else. And this album doesn't really change that. It's in through one ear and out through the other. This is like listening to a band that never made it. And you can hear why. They simply just don't have the songs it takes to get to the top.
This is the kind of band that will be stuck in the underground scene forever. But for some bands that's enough. So who am I to complain? And if you happens to like SKINFLINT, then this album won't dissapoint you, because it sounds just as usual.
Release date: July 7, 2017 (Pure Steel Records)
skinflintmetal.com
JULY 5, 2017
Photo
KABBALAH: Spectral Ascent - Album
Spanish psych/doom trio. Their music is a little mysterious, occult 70s rock and a little psychedelic. They reminds me of bands like GHOST and The DEVIL'S BLOOD somehow, even though KABBALAH has their own twist. They're really good though. No doubt about that! So you should really check this out of course.
Release date: July 7, 2017 (Twin Earth Records)
JULY 5, 2017
Photo
RADIATION ROMEOS: Radiation Romeos - Album
RADIATION ROMEOS is a new band formed by the singer Parramore McCarty, best known for being the frontman of the US metal act WARRIOR and famed Billy Idol guitarist Steve Stevens' solo project, ATOMIC PLAYBOYS. Musically, the band moves in a melodic hard rock direction with solid, metallic edges thanks to the production of Michael Voss (PHANTOM 5, CASANOVA, Michael Schenker), who also contributed to the songwriting. Guitar on the album was played by Dag Heyne, a guy named Jogi Spittka took care of the bass, and the drums was handled by Gereon Homann.
Well, you get 11 tracks, and most of the songs are good, so there's not much to complain about here.
(Frontiers Music)
JULY 4, 2017
Photo
Marvel in action MÄRVEL: The Hills Have Eyes - EP
Many records that comes out nowadays sounds almost like demo productions. Then comes this little band from Sweden, and blow the shit out of the speakers with a loud and clear production. I'm impressed!
This record was released as a 12' EP (vinyl) about a year ago or something like that. And now it's time for a re-release on CD. Their music is similar to Swedish rock bands like late The HELLACOPTERS and IMPERIAL STATE ELECTRIC. But 1 song sounds more like the perfect mixture of NWOBHM and punk. 1 thing is for sure though: They kick ass! Very catchy and melodic rock that you just must like. All 6 songs are great.
I must also say that to make a W.A.S.P. song from the 80s sounds like something from the 70s with KISS or The RUNAWAYS was a pretty cool thing to do.
Release date: July 7, 2017 (The Sign Records)
marveltheband.com
JULY 3, 2017
Photo
ELEINE: Eleine - Album
The name ELEINE might not sound so metal, but I can assure you that this is metal, even though it's the more melodic and symphonic kind of metal. "Seductive, stylish, and monumental" is how they describe themselves. This is their debut album anyway, which was originally released in 2015 already by Cardiac Records/Universal. But now it's time for a worldwide release through Black Lodge Records.
The story about this band begins back in 2011 though, when singer and model Madeleine Liljestam began to work with Cardiac Records. After that it took some years to find members for the band. So it wasn't until the end of 2013 that the lineup was complete, and they finally could start recording their songs.
ELEINE are currently working on new material for their second album.
Release date: July 6, 2017 (Black Lodge Records)
eleine.com
JULY 2, 2017
Photo
RANCID: Trouble Maker - Album
17 tracks is what they give us this time. And for once it's not like it's 7 too many. But then most of these songs are not longer than approximately 2 minutes (punk length).
The first song, "Track Fast", is almost like MOTÖRHEAD, even though the vocals is not the same as Lemmy's voice. The rest is the usual street punk rock that we use to get from RANCID. Many sing-a-long friendly pieces. And as usual they mix it with some ska songs as well. Damned good stuff!
This is their 9th studio album, and it was produced by their longtime producer and founder of Epitaph records, Brett Gurewitz.
(Eagle)
rancidrancid.com
JULY 1, 2017
Photo
QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE: The Way You Used To Do - Single
So, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE is back with a new single. And it's yet again one of these songs that I don't really know what to say about. It's o.k. anyway, but hardly as good as their early hits (seems like I always say that about this band). On the other hand they have never been a band that I listen to frequently, so what do I really know?
Their new album, "Villains", will be out on August 25.
(Matador Records)
qotsa.com
JULY 1, 2017
Photo
CAVE OF SWIMMERS: The Sun - 7" Single
Florida-based doom/hard rock duo. They reminds me of SYSTEM OF A DOWN somehow, even though it's not as wild and crazy as they can be. They have definitely found their own style anyway, and it sounds really good to me. So I think you should check out this band at once!
The b-side is a live recording of "Hangman", which was recorded at the Psycho Las Vegas festival last year. Very bad sound quality, and that song is far away from as good as "The Sun".
Release date: July 3, 2017 (Southern Druid Records)
JUNE 30, 2017
Photo
el CAMINO: Cursed Congregation - Album
Wasn't there a stoner band named el CAMINO? It's an old American car anyway. But this is a Swedish metal band in the heavier league. Pretty dark stuff actually. There's both doom and black metal in this brew. They have definitely found their own style.
The band formed in Nässjö, Sweden in 2003 to spread some heavy doom metal darkness. It wasn't until 2010 that they finally released their first self-produced MCD, "Satanik Magiik", which was re-released with 3 additional tracks as their debut album, "The Satanik Magiik", in 2011. Some more records has been released in various shapes since then.
Not bad actually..
Release date: July 2, 2017 (Night Tripper Records)
elcaminodoom.se
JUNE 30, 2017
Photo
UNLEASH THE ARCHERS: Apex - Album
It looks like this female-fronted metal band have been around for 10 years already, and this is their 4th album. The first track, "Awakening", sounds like power metal to me, while most of the other songs is more like heavy metal. And don't expect any opera vocals or something like that just because it's a woman who sing. You won't find any of that here (and thanks for that). The vocals is mainly melodic, but she can scream too. There's definitely variation.
They have some really good songs here, so this is an interesting album that you should give a chance.
(Napalm Records)
unleashthearchers.com
JUNE 29, 2017
Photo
THAT ROCK GUY: Nothin' To Lose - Album
Sounds like some kind of American "butter hard pop" from the 80s. Think of bands like BON JOVI around their 2 first albums for example. Very melodic rock/AOR in other words. But it's good, and he has a lot of great songs here. There's no doubt about that.
THAT ROCK GUY is based around an Australian singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer who lives in Europe since 2001, and this is his debut album.
Release date: June 30, 2017 (AOR Heaven)
ThatRockGuy.com
JUNE 29, 2017
Photo
KNOGJÄRN: Marcherar & Förstör - Album
This reminds me of the Swedish bands ZOMBIEKRIEG (who doesn't exist anymore) and LILLASYSTER somehow. It's not exactly the same thing though. This band have more melodic choruses for example. And ZOMBIEKRIEG was more thrash metal, while this band is more metalcore. What all 3 have in common is that they sing/scream in Swedish, and they all have a punk aggressiveness and the same groove as PANTERA. And that's what makes KNOGJÄRN (which means knuckle-duster in Swedish) so much better than all the other bands who play metalcore. You have to give this a try! I'm pretty sure that you will like it. Otherwise you probably have no taste at all.
Best song: "Döda Röster" maybe? Excellent chorus anyway.
(Big Balls Productions)
knogjarn.com
JUNE 28, 2017
Photo
The FERRYMEN: The Ferrymen - Album
Swedish guitarist Magnus Karlsson (PRIMAL FEAR, MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL) and vocalist Ronnie Romero (LORDS OF BLACK, RAINBOW) have joined forces, together with drummer Mike Terrana (RAGE, Axel Rudi Pell etc.), in a brand new project dubbed The FERRYMEN. Musically you can expect the finest kind of melodic metal. These guys are professionals when it comes to this kind of music, so this is obviously something that you just have to check out.
(Frontiers Music)
JUNE 28, 2017
Photo
Alice Cooper Alice Cooper: Paranoiac Personality - Single
Here's the first single from the old horror rock legend Alice Cooper's new album, "Paranormal", which will be released on July 28. And it's a little odd, as it sounds both different and familiar at the same time. So I don't really know what to expect from his new full length. But now I'm not the kind of person who have been listening to his latest albums. I prefer the early albums and the first 3 albums after his comeback, to be honest with you. This song is not bad though. I just have to give it a couple of chances.
(earMUSIC)
alicecooper.com
JUNE 28, 2017
Photo
MAIDAVALE: Tales Of The Wicked West - Album
Yet another one of all these retro rock bands. They reminds me of good old BLACK SABBATH most of all. And just like Ozzy, Matilda's voice is a little special too somehow. You might not like it the first time, but just give it another try, and you will get used to it. That they have good songs is something that I could hear at once though, so there you have another reason to give at least 1 more try when you have listened to this.
The only song that might not be as strong as the rest is the last, "Heaven And Earth", which is almost 11 minutes of guitar solos and guitar picking. No vocals at all. Very psychedelic, but not so funny. But on the other hand, nobody forces me to listen to it.
The band consist of 4 women who met each other in Fårösund on a island called Gotland, Sweden. But they live in Stockholm, Sweden nowadays. They formed the band in 2012, and "Tales Of The Wicked West" is their debut album. The album will now be re-released in North America.
Release date: June 30, 2017 (The Sign Records)
facebook.com/maidavaleswe
JUNE 27, 2017
Photo
ONSLAUGHT: In Search Of Sanity - Album (re-issue)
Usually ONSLAUGHT play thrash metal. But I think this material sounds more like NWOBHM (you could possibly call it melodic thrash metal). New singer on this album was Steve Grimmett (GRIM REAPER). The sound is more polished than on previous albums. It's still good though. Except for the useless intro then, which last for as long as 5,17 minutes. What a waste of time!
"In Search Of Sanity" is these English men's third album, which was originally released in 1989. This re-release also includes a whole live show, recorded in Bristol, UK (according to what I can hear), but I don't know what year. Most likely on the tour for the album anyway. It's also their most successful album, peaking at #46 in the UK charts, while the single "Let There Be Rock" peaked at #50. A great accomplishment for an underground metal band.
Release date: June 23, 2017 (Dissonance)
onslaughtuk.com
JUNE 23, 2017
Photo
NARTHRAAL: Screaming From The Grave - Album
This is a tribute to Swedish old school death metal. And with a song title like "Dismember The Entombed", I guess it's not so hard to figure out where they pick up their influences. But in "Worldwide Destruction" it sounds like they have also been listening to a newer band like AMON AMARTH. This band is not from Sweden though, they're actually from Iceland. "Screaming From The Grave" is their debut album, even though the band formed already in late 2012. But it's not the first record from the band. They have priviously released 2 EPs (in 2014 and 2016).
Well, if you think death metal was better in the 90s, then this is definitely something for you.
(Inverse Records)
facebook.com/Narthraal
JUNE 22, 2017
Photo
PERPETUAL RAGE: Empress Of The Cold Stars - Album
It sounds like this could be something for fans of IRON MAIDEN and JUDAS PRIEST. Classic 80s heavy metal just the way it's supposed to be. The band comes from Finland, and formed in 2009. They have released a couple of demos, a EP and 1 album before this record.
They might not do anything new at all, but what they do is really good stuff, so this is definitely worth checking out of course.
(Inverse Records)
facebook.com/PerpetualRage
JUNE 22, 2017
Take Me To The Top   Back to page 3
This site has been online since 2001.
All reviews and photos/images by Jimmy Blom.