Facebook Like Hard Rock Info, baby!

REVIEWS 2019 - Page 7

Page 6   Index   Page 8

NIBIRU ORDEAL: Solar Eclipse - Album
(Inverse Records - Release date: Nov. 15)
The story of NIBIRU ORDEAL began in the summer of 2006, when 2 childhood friends decided to start making music together. Today the group consist of 5 members from both Finland and Sweden. Their music is mainly rooted in classic power metal like HELLOWEEN and STRATOVARIUS. But they are not afraid to add elements from other sub-genres of metal. I actually think it's progressive sometimes, and especially in the 2 last songs, who are as long as 13 and 14 minutes.
Even though the band has existed since 2006, it wasn't until 2015 that their first 5-track EP, "Spacebeast", was released. And finally, after many years of writing material, their self-financed debut album is here.
Well, these guys really know how to play, and the singer is also great. The songs are not bad either, even though it's a very long album with its 80 minutes.
If I understand it correctly, "Solar Eclipse" will be released digital to begin with, but they plan to release it as CD in the future.
facebook.com/NibiruOrdeal   inverse.fi
Pubished: Nov. 12, 2019

PAST THE FALL: From Insanity's Ruin - Album
(Self released on Nov. 15)
They begin silent with an acoustic guitar. But that's just the calm before the storm, because after that it gets hard, heavy and aggressive. But don't judge them just yet..
PAST THE FALL formed in 2011, released their first EP, "Beggars At The Liars Banquet", in early 2013, and now it's time for this UK-based metal band's debut album in the long format.
The music is some kind of modern metal with a touch of thrash and groove metal, as well as a pinch of progressive metal sometimes. The singer is both screaming and singing clean. Sometimes the music is hard and heavy, sometimes softer and more melodic. And this may sound very familiar to you, but this band has found their own style and doesn't sound like the rest. So the best way to really find out what they sound like, and if you like it or not, is simply to listen for yourself.
pastthefall.com
Published: Nov. 12, 2019

SUBTERFUGE: Prometheus - Double Album
(Pure Steel Publishing - Release date: Nov. 15)
SUBTERFUGE comes from Poland, and they play progressive heavy metal with elements of death metal. On top of that we have both female vocals and male vocals. And the band consist of as much as 8 people (even though they're just 5 on the band photo). Except for typical metal instruments like guitar, bass and drums, we also have violin, saxophone and synths.
This is a band who go their own way, and pick their inspiration from many different places. We get all kinds of emotions and vocals on this double disc. This is something for those of you who are not satisfied with an ordinary metal album, but want something more interesting instead.
facebook.com/pg/Subterfugepl   purerock-records.com
Published: Nov. 12, 2019

CONJURING FATE: Curse Of The Fallen - Album
(Pure Steel Records - Release date: Nov. 15)
CONJURING FATE were originally formed in 2005 in Belfast, Northern Ireland. But it took a while to find the right lineup, so they didn't play live until 2008. Their debut EP, "House On The Haunted Hill", came out in 2014, and was followed by a full length album, "Valley Of Shadows", in 2016. 3 years later their second album, "Curse Of The Fallen", is here.
CONJURING FATE's music is somewhere between NWoBHM and power metal you could say. It's heavy, catchy and melodic, and have good guitar solos and vocals. And the songs they play are not bad at all, so I think that you should give this a try.
conjuringfate.com   puresteel-records.com
Published: Nov. 12, 2019

DENNER'S INFERNO: In Amber - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Nov. 15)
It didn't take many seconds before I wanted it louder (and not because of bad sound quality), which is something very positive. The music is good old hard rock like it sounded back in the 70s/80s. And this album is full of fantastic songs! This is something that you just can't miss. Especially the 5-6 first songs are a little extra great. The songs in the second half are just a little bit weaker, but absolutely not bad.
You probably already know who the Danish guitarist Michael Denner is, as he has been playing with MERCYFUL FATE and KING DIAMOND. But among the things that you might not know, is that he actually started his career in a punk band called BRATS, which he joined in 1979. And during the time that he have not played with MERCYFUL FATE or KING DIAMOND, Michael has been active in other musical projects.
The story about DENNER'S INFERNO started with a band called DENNER'S TRICKBAG, who released a covers album in 2013. After a few changes in the lineup, and the addition of the American singer Chandler Mogel (who is doing an extremely good work here!), a new band was born, and renamed to DENNER'S INFERNO.
facebook.com/DennersInferno   mightymusic.dk
Published: Nov. 11, 2019

IN SANITY: Welcome To The Show - Album
(Black Sunset/MDD)
German melodic death metal band IN SANITY has released their third full length. The band is influenced by the bands from the 90s, but has yet taken their own path with 3 guitarists for example. Some parts of these songs actually makes me think of ACCEPT with Udo Dirkschneider on vocals, but then there's suddenly something modern instead. Their songs vary between hard and melodic, and in most of them there's a really good chorus. But after a few songs, however, you begin to recognize the arrangement. Still a really good album though.
insanitymetal.com
Published: Nov. 10, 2019

HELL RIDERS: First Race - Album
(Volcano Records)
This sounds like something that could have been recorded in the late 70s, a little like JUDAS PRIEST around that time. So not exactly a modern production here. But they deliver some really good songs here, so you should absolutely listen to this.
HELL RIDERS was formed in 2017, when 2 members of BEYOND DEATH OF HUMANITY decided to give a heavy metal vibe to their songs. It seems like the members are from Italy and Switzerland. "First Race" is their debut album, which features 10 tracks, just like in the old days.
facebook.com/hellridersheavymetalband   volcanopromotion.com
Published: Nov. 10, 2019

BLACKHEARTH: Blackhearth - Album
(Sliptrick Records)
Very good heavy metal from Spain. Even the long 11,23-minute adventure that is the title track, as well as the last song on the album, is really great. And this is just their debut album! But they formed back in 2010 already, so they have had 9 years to make these fantastic songs. It will be very interesting to see if they can make more albums like this.
The music is mainly classic 80s heavy metal with strong melodies and soulful vocals. Their influences comes from the European metal scene, but especially NWoBHM and early German metal bands.
This is a band that you should keep an eye on.
blackhearth.bandcamp.com   sliptrickrecords.com
Published: Nov. 10, 2019

CRUSADE OF BARDS: Tales Of Bards & Beasts - Album
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Nov. 15)
..and here's yet another symphonic metal band. This is their debut album, where they blend bombastic orchestrations with traditional instruments and heavy riffs. It's said to fit fans of bands like SERENITY, NIGHTWISH, LAST DAYS OF EDEN, XANDRIA, WITHIN TEMPTATION and similar acts. And as I'm not such a big fan of this genre, even though there's a good band once in a while, I'm ready to believe them. But I must also add that this is actually among the better once. I'm not completely sold though.
We also have 2 guest apperances on this album: Henning Basse (FIREWIND, MaYan) on 1 song (with a very long title) and Lady Ani (LAST DAYS OF EDEN) on another.
facebook.com/CrusadeBards   prideandjoy.de
Published: Nov. 9, 2019

Adrian Benegas: The Revenant - Album
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Nov. 15)
This could probably have been good if it wasn't for those symphonic/orchestral parts and the opera vocals here and there, which is just very irritating. Because in general this is melodic power/heavy metal, and should be good just because of that.
Adrian Benegas is a composer, keyboardist and entrepreneur from Asuncion, Paraguay. He started his first band PERGANA in 2008, and they released 2 EPs. In 2015 he founded a symphonic metal project called ABRACADABRA together with Emilie Ragni (Luca Turilli) on vocals, and they also released 2 EPs. After that it was time for the international metal project TRAGUL, which has released 8 singles since June 2017.
In 2019 Adrian's most ambitious project so far was started, when he decided that it was time for his full length debut, "The Revenant". All lyrics, concept and all music is written by himself, but features guest apperances from Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR), Herbie Langhans (AVANTASIA), Henning Basse (FIREWIND), Zuberoa Aznarez (DIABULUS IN MUSICA, TRAGUL) and some friends from Paraguay: Sebastian Ramirez on drums and Diego Bogarín (TRAGUL) on guitar and bass.
If you like more melodic heavy and power metal, and have nothing against some symphonic parts now and then, then I guess you should give this a try.
adrianbenegas.com   prideandjoy.de
Published: Nov. 9, 2019

SALEM UK: Win Lose Or Draw - Album
(Dissonance Productions - Release date: Nov. 8)
SALEM UK was formed back in 1979. After a number of gigs and a self released single, the band split up in 1983. And that could have been the end of the story, but suddenly the band reformed in 2008 and has released a few albums since then. 2 of the original members are still in the band: Simon Saxby (vocals) and Adrian Jenkinson (bass).
The music that we get on this album is hard rock/NWoBHM of the melodic kind, but yet with heavy and modern guitars. It's like a mixture of the old and the new school you could say. And I can hear many good songs among these 10 tracks, so this could actually be worth checking out.
salem.me.uk   dissonanceproductions.co.uk
Published: Nov. 8, 2019

HIDEOUS DIVINITY: Simulacrum - Album
(Century Media - Release date: Nov. 8)
Italian tech-death combo HIDEOUS DIVINITY are hard, fast and heavy at the same time. Their music is built on a 30-plus year tradition of death metal. An adrenaline rush. They might not be the most interesting band in this genre, but far away from the worst. They are simply just good, no more no less.
The band was formed in Rome in 2007, and released their first demo the same year. Over the course of the next 5 years they changed lineups and refined their songwriting, before they finally got signed to the American label Unique Leader Records, who has released 3 albums with HIDEOUS DIVINITY. Now they have signed with the German label Century Media Records, who release their 4th album, "Simulacrum".
facebook.com/hideousdivinity   centurymedia.com
Published: Nov. 8, 2019

The FLOWER KINGS: Waiting For Miracles - Double Album
(Inside Out Music - Release date: Nov. 8)
In 2018 "Manifesto of an Alchemist" was released under the name Roine Stolt's The FLOWER KINGS. But now it seems to be back to just The FLOWER KINGS.
Anyway, if a double sandwich of progressive rock with a 70s touch is what you're looking for, then these 15 tracks is your kind of food. To me it feels like it last for something like 3 hours, even though the real playing time is approximately 85 minutes. Some songs are better, while some are less interesting. But I'm sure that fans of this genre will love this album, so don't listen to what I say about it.
Even though it's a pure prog rock album, there's also elements of other music genres. On top of that we also get vintage keyboards and long guitar solos. It's almost like the soundtrack to a cinematic adventure in a fairy tale world. In other words, probably just the way you want it.
The album was recorded during the summer at RMV Studios in Stockholm, Sweden - a vintage studio owned by Benny Andersson from ABBA.
facebook.com/TheFlowerKings
Published: Nov. 8, 2019

ELECTRIC GUITARS: All I Want For Christmas Is An Electric Guitar - Single
(Mighty Music/Target Group - Release date: Nov. 8)
Danish guitar rock band ELECTRIC GUITARS are going to release a live album in December. But before that we get a completely new Christmas song from them. And well, if you have named your band ELECTRIC GUITARS, then it's pretty obvious that all you want for Christmas is an electric guitar (yeah, even I would want 1 this year).
This song is softer than their usual high energy guitar rock, but it's still pretty good. I might even add it to my collection of Christmas songs.
This single will be released both digital and as 7" vinyl. On the later you also get the acoustic version of this song.
facebook.com/ElectricGuitarsDK   mightymusic.dk
Published: Nov. 8, 2019

VADIT: Darkness Proceeds EP - Cassette, Digital
(Redefining Darkness Records)
VADIAT was born in 2018 from the ashes of Cleveland bands TERROR and BLOOD OF CHRIST. Their goal is to show the kids what death metal really is. They go back to the early days of the genre, which doesn't mean the classic old school sound, but more like what came before that. It's said to fit fans of the early material from IMMOLATION, PARADISE LOST, SENTENCED, DESULTORY and GRAVE.
These 4 tracks are not the most exiting that I have heard, but at the same time it's far away from the worst. It feels like most of these songs are a little too long with its 6-7 minutes. 2 of these songs are heavy, while 2 are faster. I like the faster tracks best.
redefiningdarkness.com
Published: Nov. 7, 2019

The LAST MARTYR: Like A Ghost - Single
(Self released)
Not so bad for being modern melodic metalcore (as I call this). A catchy song with competent musicians and most of all a good singer who is actually singing and not screaming.
The LAST MARTYR released their debut EP, "Creatrix", digitally in April (August in North America) this year. I'm not sure if this song comes from that record or if it's a completely new song. Worth checking out anyway.
thelastmartyr.bandcamp.com
Published: Nov. 7, 2019

BROWSING COLLECTION: Break Closed-Minded Bars - Single
(Ditto Music/Icons Creating Evil Art)
Swedish rock band BROWSING COLLECTION has almost become regulars here. But that's mainly because they release new singles pretty often. Luckily many of their songs are good, and sometimes even great, so no problem.
BROWSING COLLECTION seems to have a little problem though. They just want to be able to do what they do best, rock hard, without it having to be a fight against sexism and narrow-mindedness every time just because they happens to be women. And that's why they have made this song.
The first version of "Break Closed-Minded Bars" was written 5 years ago. But now they have made a new version with their current sound. It's also a taste of what their new album will sound like. The album should be out in early 2020.
Well, this is another energetic rock song, and it's absolutely not bad at all. I think you should check this out. And 1 more thing: Don't forget to connect the brain!
browsingcollection.com
Published: Nov. 7, 2019

NOX IRAE: Here The Dead Live - EP
(Transcending Obscurity Records - Release date: Nov. 15)
Members of the French death metal band CATACOMB join forces with members of AFFLICTION GATE to create raw, thrashy death metal with that familiar old school sound. The only time it's full speed ahead on this 6-track EP is in the first seconds. After that it's mainly pretty catchy death metal that we get from these French men. And this is absolutely not bad at all. I really like what I hear! So this is defintely something worth checking out.
This is just their debut EP, but I look forward to hear some more from this band.
facebook.com/noxiraefrance   tometal.com

TRIBULATION: Alive & Dead At Södra Teatern - Double Album/DVD
(Century Media - Release date: Nov. 15)
Swedish metal band TRIBULATION release their first live album, which was recorded at Södra Teatern in Stockholm, Sweden in front of a seated audience. They did 2 sets this night. In the first part they performed the entire album "Down Belowed" (2018) from beginning to end. In the second part they delivered 8 songs from their back catalog.
Now I have not seen the DVD, but it sounds like they did a damned good concert here. They also have many fantastic songs here, so I have nothing to complain about.
How do I describe TRIBULATION's music then in case you have not heard them? Well, I would say that it's a more progressive kind of death metal, with many different influences. They're not as fast as a typical death band, so it's more the vocals that reminds me of that. This is a band that people who like more adventurous metal should enjoy.
tribulation.se   centurymedia.com
Published: Nov. 5, 2019

BOMBUS: Vulture Culture - Album
(Century Media - Release date: Nov. 15)
Bombus a few years ago
It's already 10 years since Swedish band BOMBUS formed as a duo, with Fredrik "Feffe" Berglund on drums and Mattias "Matte" Jacobsson on guitar. At that time their songs were inspired by bands like MELVINS, The JESUS LIZARD and POISON IDEA. But they soon became an explosive metal beast who go their own way, which you can hear on their 3 previous albums, and definitely on this 4th full length.
For many years the band was 4 members, but they has now expended to a 5-man lineup with 3 guitars. And I think that this album sounds a bit different compared to the other albums they have made. Or maybe I should say that they have developed even more, and somehow also matured slightly. The music is still loud and heavy, and at the same time kind of progressive. But this time it's even more bombastic than ever.
The thing with BOMBUS is that they pick their influences from all kinds of hard rock, metal, punk, hardcore and all kinds of rock music. So somehow they have found their own unique sound. This is absolutely an interesting album.
bombusmusic.com   centyrumedia.com
Published: Nov. 5, 2019

NOCTURNALIA: III Winter - Album
(The Sign Records - Release date: Nov. 8)
This often reminds me of a band like GHOST, even though this is not exactly the same. It's some kind of darker rock anyway, which they deliver with winding melodies and epic soundscapes. Influences comes from classic rock acts like RAINBOW, BLACK WIDOW, "Hammerheart"-era BATHORY and traditional folk music. It's both familiar and different at the same time, as well as mysterious and spiritual.
The first seeds for the Swedish band NOCTURNALIA were sown in late 2011. After 2 vinyl singles they released their first self-titled album in 2013. After a second album in 2015, they decided to take a short hiatus from the band to focus on other projects. But in early 2018 they started to write new material for their third album, "III: Winter".
I really like what I hear here. This is a fantastic album! But it's probably not a band for everyone.
facebook.com/nocturnaliaswe   thesignrecords.com
Published: Nov. 4, 2019

QUEEN ELEPHANTINE: Gorgon - Album
(Argonauta Records/Atypeek Music - Release date: Nov. 8)
O.k., this is not music. This is just heavy noise or eternal jams that last for way too long - 10-13 minutes. And as their so called "songs" are so damned long, there's just 4 tracks. But that's more than enough for me. This gives me nothing at all.
Avant-garde post-apocalyptic rock is what they call this. It's a wild mixture of psychedelia, doom, drone, noise rock, as well as free jazz and sacred music from around the world.
QUEEN ELEPHANTINE was formed in Hong Kong in 2006, but are currently based in Philadelphia, USA. "Gorgon" is their 6th studio album.
queenelephantine.com   argonautarecords.com   atypeekmusic.com
Published: Nov. 4, 2019

ATTENTAT, BOTTLECAP and RÅTTORNA at Pumphuset in Borås, Sweden on November 2, 2019
It took something like 1 and a half year between "Punk Night 1" and "Punk Night 2", but only a few months between 2 and 3. Funny..
It should have been sold out as they just sell 200 tickets, but it didn't look like it was sold out. More room for me then..
Reunited local band RÅTTORNA was the first band. They started with 1 of my favourites, "15 Minuter Kvar". Unfortunately they played too many songs that I have not heard before, which I suppose was their new songs. The songs was not bad, but I would have prefered more of the good old classics from the 80s. I think they just played 3 songs from the 80s, and that's way too little for me.
Rattorna   Rattorna   Rattorna   Rattorna   Rattorna
Next band was BOTTLECAP. I saw them earlier this year, and it wasn't bad at all. They did a good show this evening too. While the other bands played more like punk rock with much melody, BOTTLECAP played faster and harder. More like hardcore almost. Not much else too say about them..
Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap   Bottlecap
Swedish veterans ATTENTAT was the last band. Many years since I saw them last time, but they use to deliver a really good show, and so they did this time too. Since last time I saw them, there has been some changes in the lineup and a new album has been released. They played both old classics from the 80s and more modern material, and most of the songs was good. They play a very sing-along friendly kind of punk rock, which is very melodic. A good band.
Attentat   Attentat   Attentat   Attentat   Attentat   Attentat   Attentat
attentat.nu   bottlecapband.com
Published: Nov. 3, 2019

A KILLERS CONFESSION: The Indifference Of Good Men - Album
(Wake Up! Music - Release date: Nov. 8)
NU metal in 2019? Well, that's what I call this band's music anyway. And now I'm not such a big fan of this kind of music, so all these songs reminds me of something that I could have heard with LINKIN PARK or something similar. But a song like "Reanimated" and a few more are pretty good anyway. 13 tracks at once is a little too much though.
A KILLERS CONFESSION formed in 2016 in Cleveland, OH. Their debut album, "Unbroken", was released in May 2017 via EMP Group (MEGADETH bassist Dave Ellefson's label). After that they released 3 singles on their own, and in 2019 they got signed to Wake Up! Music.
akillersconfession.com   wakeupmusicgroup.com
Published: Nov. 2, 2019

MORTUARY: The Autophagous Reign - Album
(Xenokorp Records - Release date: Nov. 8)
This could have gone so wrong. Because it's a very fast and brutal kind of thrash/death metal that we get from these veterans. Very intense stuff actually. And it's not often that they calm down a little. Normally this would be too extreme for me, but yet I like what I hear. I think this is a very good album to put on when you're really angry and need to calm down and be satisfied and happy again. Because this album should blow all the shit away from your brain.
This is the 6th full length from this French band, who has been around for as much as 30 years now.
mortuary-fr.com   xenokorp.com
Published: Nov. 1, 2019

ANC4: ANC4 - LP
(Beluga Records)
This band is so catchy and melodic that they are on the border to pop actually. I guess we can call it power pop though. And for some reason they reminds me a lot of some other band that I have heard somewhere, so they are hardly unique but still good. As long as you have the right passion, the good songs will come to you even though you are doing the exact same thing as somebody else. And this band seems to have that passion.
I am not sure if you remember a band called ARVIDSON & BUTTERFLIES, but this time their mainman Roger Arvidson have teamed up with Tomas Nilsson (MOP TOPS) and Janne Borg (The MODERNS). Some of their influences on this album are The BEATLES and The BYRDS among others, which means 60s styled pop/rock with strong melodies and sweet harmonies. This is their first album.
facebook.com/ANC4-Arvidsonnilssoncombofour   belugarecords.com
Published: Oct. 31, 2019

KICKIN VALENTINA: Sweat - Single
(Mighty Music - Release date: Nov. 1)
Ass kicking rock n roll with punk attitude, or sleaze rock as they use to call it. Anyway, this is a band from U.S.A. who visited Copenhagen, Denmark in May. And when they were there they recorded a EP, "Chaos In Copenhagen", which will be released in December. "Sweat" is the first single from that EP, and with this song they show us all how it's supposed to be done. You check this out! Simple as that.
kickinvalentina.com   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 31, 2019

RÅTTANSON: I'd Rather Be With The Noise - LP
(Open Mind Records)
RÅTTANSON is a Swedish DIY solo project, and this is his second album. The Rat's songs are simple and guitar-driven rock n roll with pop melodies. Very catchy power pop/garage rock. He is really trying to catch the sound of the 60s, but you can still hear that it's a recording of today. So I would guess that every fan of garage rock, power pop and good old pop/rock n roll from the 60s will like this record.
There's as much as 14 tracks on this album, but most of these songs are no longer than approxiamtely 2-3 minutes, and most of them are good, so that's o.k. for a change.
The album is released on vinyl (300 copies) and digital.
facebook.com/rattanson   openmindrecords.se
Published: Oct. 31, 2019

TYGERS OF PAN TANG: Damn You! - Single
(Mighty Music)
These British veterans will release a new album, "Ritual", on November 22. And that's where this song comes from. "Damn You!" is the second single and just 1 of many good songs from that album, so you should definitely check this out if you like good old hard rock and heavy metal.
More about the album in November..
tygersofpantang.com   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 31, 2019

WAYWARD SONS: The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
I don't know, but many of these songs reminds me of Canadian trio DANKO JONES actually, while a slow song like "Fade Away" sounds like something from the 70s. In some other songs I think of a band like FOO FIGHTERS for example. In general it's some kind of harder, catchy rock. And this album sounds really good, and is full of fantastic songs. This should be a modern classic.
WAYWARD SONS features Toby Jepson (ex-LITTLE ANGELS) on vocals/guitar, Nic Wastell (CHROME MOLLY) on bass, Phil Martini (SPEAR OF DESTINY, ex-The QUIREBOYS, DOWN N OUTZ) on drums, Sam Wood (TREASON KINGS) on guitar, and Dave Kemp (ex-LITTLE ANGELS) on keyboard. "The Truth Ain't What It Used To Be" is their second album.
waywardsonsband.com   frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 30, 2019

VANDEN PLAS: The Ghost Xperiment, Awakening - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
Once in a while there's a progressive band that is actually really good. And VANDEN PLAS is absolutely 1 of those bands. They give us a perfect combination of hard and melodic stuff. The orchestral parts are more in the background this time, while there's more progressive elements in the songs.
"The Ghost Xperiment, Awakening" is the 9th studio album from this band, and is based on an actual documented paranormal experiment. 6 tracks is what we get, and they are between 5,23 to 9,43 minutes. This is the first part, the continuation, "The Ghost Xperiment: Illumination", is expected to be released in fall 2020.
vandenplas.de   frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 30, 2019

Michael Sweet: Ten - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
Hard and heavy hard rock/heavy metal. And the STRYPER frontman Michael Sweet have some really strong material here. This album is great! And then we have the guest musicians that he has invited: singer Todd La Torre (QUEENSRŸCHE), drummer Will Hunt (EVANESCENCE), bassist John O'Boyle, and guitarists Joel Hoekstra (WHITESNAKE, NIGHT RANGER), Jeff Loomis (ARCH ENEMY, NEVERMORE), Marzi Montazeri (EXHORDER, PHILIP H. ANSELMO & THE ILLEGALS), Gus G. (FIREWIND, Ozzy Osbourne) and Andy James. Impressive!
And just in case you have not got it yet, this is something that every true fan of hard rock and heavy metal have to check out. It really is that simple!
michaelsweet.com   frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 30, 2019

The FERRYMEN: A New Evil - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
Melodic metal band The FERRYMEN released their self titled debut album in June 2017. Now the band return with the follow up, "A New Evil".
The band consist of people that might be familiar to you: Swedish guitarist Magnus Karlsson (PRIMAL FEAR, Magnus Karlsson's FREE FALL), Chilean-born singer Ronnie Romero (RAINBOW, CoreLeoni), and drummer Mike Terrana (RAGE, Axel Rudi Pell, and more). And what this trio have made here is an extremely good record. I think of a band like EVERGREY for example when I hear these 11 tracks, but there's also a touch of DIO sometimes. This is definitely something that you have to check out if you have any interest in heavy metal at all.
facebook.com/TheFerrymenofficial   frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 30, 2019

ECLIPSE: Paradigm - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
Well, I have nothing to complain about here. ECLIPSE are just as good as they always have been. So if you are a fan of melodic hard rock, then you just can't miss this album. This is actually a must have!
The band have developed a high standard through the years, with big choruses to die for and catchy melodies, and on top of that the voice of frontman Erik Mårtensson. Now I have not heard every album that they have made, but I would guess that this is one of their strongest records so far. Old fans will not be dissapointed when they hear this, and new fans will fall in love.
eclipsemania.com   frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 30, 2019

DIMMAN: 152 - EP
(Inverse Records)
Man, this sounds more like Swedish pop artist E-type or something like that than melodic death metal (which it's supposed to be). All because of an irritating zynth and female background vocals. But o.k., some tracks are more like the melodic death metal that I'm used to, so it's not totally hopeless.
I guess that these 5 tracks is something for those of you who like more modern stuff.
"152" is a digital EP, and should be availble on sites like Spotify, Deezer, Tidal, Amazon and Apple Music.
facebook.com/Dimman   inverse.fi
Published: Oct. 29, 2019

NOCTEM: The Black Consecreation - Album
(Art Gates Records - Release date: Nov. 1)
NOCTEM return with their 5th studio album. And if it's true black metal that you're looking for, then look no further, because this is the band for you. No atmospheric or symphonic stuff here. Just pure raw black metal like it was meant to be. 8 tracks straight at you without any excuses. Like it or stay away.
This Iberian band has already existed for more than 15 years, and are said to be one of the most active bands from Spain.
I actually think that "The Black Consecreation" is the best black metal album that I have heard in a very long time.
facebook.com/noctemofficial   artgatesrecords.com
Published: Oct. 29, 2019

SARCASM: Esoteric Tales Of The Unserene - Album
(Chaos Records)
It seems like there's at least 7 more bands named SARCASM, but this is the Swedish death metal band from Uppsala, Sweden. They originally existed between 1990-94, and released several demo tapes. In 2015 they were back again, and has since then released 3 albums with this one included (there has also been a few compilations through the years).
"Esoteric Tales Of The Unserene" is a very good album. So if you like Swedish death metal, then this is something that you have to try. It really is that simple!
Right after the recording of this album, drum veteran Matte Modin left the band to focus on his other bands. New drummer is Alvaro Svanerö (IMPERIAL DOMAIN), who also co-produced and mixed this album.
sarcasmsweden.se   chaos-records.com
Published: Oct. 29, 2019

ÖRNATORPET: Vid Himinsenda - Album
(Nordvis Produktion - Release date: Nov. 1)
O.k., this is not really music, but more like atmospheric sound scapes without any deeper meaning to me. A very strange album for a rocker, because this has nothing to do with rock music. This sounds more like something that you listen to when you want to relax or meditate.
ÖRNATORPET are from Sweden, and are said to play dungeon zynth/dark ambient. And it seems to be a very productive artist, because it seems like an album was released earlier this year and 1 last year, so this is the third album in a very short time.
Published: Oct. 29, 2019

The DROWNING: The Radiant Dark - Album
(Transcending Obscurity Records - Release date: Nov. 8)
Death/doom metal from the UK, with a band who pay tribute to the pioneers of this genre, but also add their own touch to the stew. And this could have been so boring, but somehow they succeed to keep me interested and not fall asleep. I have definitely heard worse than this in my life. I must say that they manage with the art piece to actually vary themselves and not be monotonous. Congratulations! Brutal vocals is mixed with good guitar melodies and an atmosphere that will scare the shit out of everybody who are not into extreme metal.
The DROWNING is said to be something for fans of WARCRAB, MY DYING BRIDE, PARADISE LOST and similar. And I'm actually willing to agree.
drowningwales.bandcamp.com   tometal.com
Published: Oct. 28, 2019

PAGANIZER: The Tower Of The Morbid - Album
(Transcending Obscurity Records - Release date: Nov. 1)
No surprises here. Good old death metal in the traditional old school way. But damned good of course. On the other hand I didn't really expect anything else from these veterans. This is something for every fan of Swedish death metal.
It's a good mixture of faster and heavier parts on this album, so it's definitely not the same song all the way. And I really like that. It can easily get boring very fast if there's not enough variation. I'm not really sure what else I should say though..
facebook.com/paganizersweden   tometal.com
Published: Oct. 28, 2019

ANTI-LAM FRONT/LAARHÖNE: Prematur Geriatri - Split EP
(Self released? - Release date: Oct. 25)
I'm not really sure which band who play which songs here, but on the other hand they sound more or less the same: Fast and catchy punk rock that sometimes reminds me of the Swedish trallpunk. They call it skate punk. Both bands are from Norway and sing in the dialects Sørlandsk and Trøndersk. There's both new material as well as covers on this split.
LAARHÖNE has been around for 10 years now, and has released some albums and several singles through the years.
ANTI-LAM FRONT are just half the age of LAARHÖNE, but has been very active. Their debut album, "Tidlig Anti-Lam Front", was released about a year ago.
Well, I like what I hear here, so this is worth checking out if you like more melodic punk, like skate punk and trallpunk for example.
facebook.com/antilamfront   laarhone.com
Published: Oct. 24, 2019

NIGHTSTALKER: Great Hallucinations - Album
(Heavy Psych Sounds Records)
Don't worry. This will not give you hallucinations. No, this is more like some kind of early heavier hard rock/proto stoner rock, with a singer who sound like a copy of a young Ozzy Osbourne. It's heavy but yet catchy. And they have several great songs among these 8 tracks. As a matter of fact, I can't hear 1 single bad song on this album.
NIGHTSTALKER is hardly a new band. They are from Greece, and formed back in 1989 already. Their debut EP, "SideFX", was released in the middle of the grunge era in 1994. And "Great Hallucinations" is actually their 8th studio album.
This is something for those of you who like it raw, dirty and heavy.
nightstalkerband.com   heavypsychsounds.com
Published: Oct. 24, 2019

DRAGONFLY: Zeitgeist - Album
(Art Gates Records - Release date: Oct. 25)
So, the title track is just a way too long intro? How were they thinking there then?
Anyway, what we get after that is pretty traditional heavy and power metal in Spanish. "Zeitgeist" is their 6th album, and it sounds very good, even though they don't have anything extra good.
For some reason their whole website is in Spanish, and there's no English version (another how were they thinking). What I succeed to figure out though is that they must have formed in 2000 and comes from Buenos Aires, Argentina. And from the info I got with this release, I could find out that they have been touring both nationally and internationally (and that's why I think they should have a English version of their site).
webdragonfly.com   artgatesrecords.com
Published: Oct. 23, 2019

John Harv's TWISTED MIND: Into The Asylum - Album
(Metalapolis Records - Release date: Oct. 25)
John "Harv" Harbinson began his career as a singer for NWoBHM band SWEET SAVAGE (which also featured guitarist Vivian Campbell, who later joined DIO, WHITESNAKE and DEF LEPPARD). He formed his own band DEF OF THIEVES in 1993, which split up in 1998. He then formed the WHITESNAKE tribute band SNAKEBITE, which led to STORMZONE, who still exist (6 albums so far).
After the latest album with STORMZONE, John started to write some songs that didn't fit in to the band's musical style. So he decided to release a solo album instead, with some help from some of the best session musicians from Norhern Ireland. And what we get is an album filled with as much as 14 tracks of melodic heavy metal. And this is absolutely not bad at all. So I recomend you to give this a try.
metalapolis.eu
Published: Oct. 23, 2019

ORION'S REIGN: Symphony Of War - EP
(Pride & Joy Music)
What we get here is 5 symphonic versions, 1 folk version and a NIGHTWISH cover on top of that. Might be heaven for those of you who like symphonic metal then, but I don't belong to that category. But I can at least hear that it's very epic and bombastic, and that they are good at what they are doing.
Not much else to say..
orionsreign.com   prideandjoy.de
Published: Oct. 23, 2019

Carl Dixon: One - Album reissue
(AOR Heaven - Release date: Oct. 25)
Carl Dixon are from Sault Ste Marie, Ontario, Canada, and was one of the frontmen for the hard rock band CONEY HATCH, who released 3 albums between 1982-85. After leaving the band in frustration about different things, he focused on writing songs for other artists for a few years, before he decided to release his first solo album, "One", in 1993.
Carl has since this album been a member of both The GUESS WHO and APRIL WINE, and his old band CONEY HATCH has reunited. He has also continued with his solo career, and has a new album, "Unbroken", out soon (end of November).
Except for the 15 tracks on the original version, this re-release also includes 2 bonus tracks. Most of these songs are simply melodic rock/AOR or hard rock that reminds me of DEF LEPPARD and VAN HALEN. But then there's suddenly a song that reminds me of 80s ZZ TOP or 70s AEROSMITH or something more melodic with THIN LIZZY. And even though 17 tracks is a little bit too much at once, most of these songs are great. So why complain about too many songs then?
carldixon.com   aorheaven.com
Published: Oct. 23, 2019

RITUAL STEEL: V - Album
(Pure Steel Records - Release date: Oct. 25)
It seems like this trio, from northern Germany, has been around for 2 decades already. And it also seems like it was 6 years since their last album, "Immortal", was released. But now they are here again with a new album. And the music that we get is traditional heavy metal.
It sounds very good when I listen to this, but unfortunately they have no song that I can remember when the album is over. Still worth a try though.
RITUAL STEEL has released several albums and singles through the years, as well as a couple of split records.
facebook.com/RITUALSTEEL   puresteel-records.com
Published: Oct. 22, 2019

MILLENNIUM: A New World - Album
(Pure Steel Records - Release date: Oct. 25)
MILLENNIUM play a kind of heavy metal that is full of melody and very catchy. But they can also be a little harder and heavier, like in "All Out War" for example. This should be something for those of you who like legendary bands like MANOWAR, IRON MAIDEN and JUDAS PRIEST. And they have many good songs here, like the title track and "King Of Kings" or "Kill Or Be Killed" and "Victory", just to mention a few of them all.
MILLENNIUM was formed in Billingham in County Durham, UK back in 1982 already. After contributing with 3 songs on a compilation, called "Pure Overkill", in 1983, they released their self titled debut album in 1984. Unfortunately they split up around 1988.
But in 2016 they were asked to appear at Brofest in Newcastle Upon Tyne, which resulted in a full-blown reunion and a new studio album, "Awakening", in 2017.
"A New World" is their third album. A lot of the songs on this album have an apocalyptic story to them. A true metal album!
millenniumofficial.com   puresteel-records.com
Published: Oct. 22, 2019

MIDNIGHT FORCE: Goddodin - Album
(Iron Shield Records - Release date: Oct. 25)
The vocals is not exactly the same, but this reminds me of some other band. Can't remember their name right now, but I would guess that it's a Swedish band that I'm thinking of. In the end this is just classic heavy metal with influences from both the 70s and the 80s. So it's hardly something new, but still damned good of course.
The lyrics on this album is about crusades, Roman campaigns, cursed ships etc. The title track is a tale of the inhabitants of the Scottish east coast finding their demise in battle at the hands of the invading Angles. So, historical themes.
It's all done with great passion, both music and lyrics.
midnightforce.bandcamp.com
Published: Oct. 22, 2019

FRONTBACK: Don't Mind The Noise - Album
(Black Lodge Records - Release date: Oct. 25)
This is the third album from Swedish hard rockers FRONTBACK, where they give us a nice mixture of rock n roll energy and catchy melodies. Most of these songs are really good. Their vocalissa Anlo Front have been called "a hard rocking Gwen Stefani", and they are said to sound like FOO FIGHTERS, GREEN DAY, ROYAL REPUBLIC and DANKO JONES. I don't really know if I can agree on that last thing though. They might have some ingredients from those acts, but that's all.
The best track must be the last song, "Sunny Days". There they have really found the right hit potential.
frontback.se
Published: Oct. 21, 2019

HAYSTACK: The Sacrifice - Album
(The Dogma Repertory Institute/Threeman Recordings - Release sate: Oct. 25)
Swedish rock band HAYSTACK was formed in 1994 by Ulf Cederlund (ENTOMBED, DISFEAR, MURDER SQUAD, ALPHA SAFARI, SWARM OF SOULS) after a North American tour where the band UNSANE opened up for ENTOMBED. Uffe liked UNSANE so much that he formed his own trio, so he could play the same kind of music, but he was also influenced by other noise rock and punk rock acts in the same style, like HAMMERHEAD, NoMeansNo, STEEL POLE BATH TUB, BITCH MAGNET, MELVINS, DINOSAUR JR, WIPERS and DEAD MOON. After some changes in the lineup, the band finally consisted of Uffe on vocals/guitar, Jonas Lundberg (A-BOMBS, The MAGGOTS) on drums and Johan Blomqvist (BACKYARD BABIES) on bass. HAYSTACK released 2 albums with this lineup.
Johan left to focus on BACKYARD BABIES, so Jörgen Sandström (ENTOMBED, GRAVE etc) filled in on bass before the band went into a state of slumber for nearly 20 years.
But in 2017 Uffe and Jonas decided that it was time to start the band again. Patrik Thorngren (ALPHA SAFARI) became the new bassist. And it didn't take long before they started to work on new songs for a album, and this is the result: 9 tracks of some kind of punky noise rock. Pretty o.k. stuff, but not much else to be honest with you. A few songs might be a little better, while others are less good, and some are just o.k.
haystacktrio.com
Published: Oct. 21, 2019

GOLGOTHA: Erasing The Past - Album
(Xtreem Music - Release date: Oct. 22)
Hailing from Palma de Mallorca (Spain), GOLGOTHA were founded in 1992. During 1994-2005 they released several albums and EPs, while members came and left. After a hiatus, they were back again in 2014.
This album is actually a return to the label, then called Repulse Records, who released their first EP. Today's lineup consist of the 2 founding members Vicente Payá (guitar, also in UNBOUNDED TERROR) and Amón López (vocals), as well as the new drummer Tomeu Crespí. M. Angel Riutort (MEGA) play bass and keyboard on the album, but is not a member as I understand it.
GOLGOTHA's music is heavy and aggressive, but there's melodic parts too. The vocals is both harsh and clean. There's always a good melody. I think this is very good.
They have somehow succeeded to come up with their own kind of doom metal with influences from all and nothing. And I think that not just fans of doom can enjoy this. Anybody who like it hard and heavy, but have nothing against melodies, could like this. Well, maybe even fans of RAMMSTEIN, because there's at least 1 song that reminds me of them.
golgothaofficial.com   xtreemmusic.com
Published: Oct. 20, 2019

BENT KNEE: You Know What They Mean - Album
(Inside Out Music)
O.k., so what's the meaning with that first useless track then? I mean, it's not even a intro! Just some total bullshit.
This warped band celebrate their 10-year anniversary with their fifth studio album. They are from the Boston area, and they play art rock. Sometimes (especially in the second half) it sounds more like pop though.
This is a progressive painting that change its form constantly. Even though 1 song might sound o.k., you never really know what the next will be like (well, not until you heard it anyway). But this album is said to be more simple than any of their previous recordings. According to the band it's more riff-driven, and have more focus on the vocal melody.
I guess that this could be something for fans of Nina Hagen, even though this is a more American and modern version, and not as crazy as she was.
bentkneemusic.com   insideoutmusic.com
Published: Oct. 19, 2019

DENNER'S INFERNO: Sometimes - Single
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 18)
Michael Denner is the guitarist from MERCYFUL FATE and KING DIAMOND. DENNER'S INFERNO is his latest band, who play good old hard rock from the 70s/80s.
This song comes from DENNER'S INFERNO's upcoming album, "In Amber" (release date: Nov. 15). It might not be 1 of the best songs from that album, but it's definitely not bad. They could have picked a more interesting song though, because there's lots of great songs. This is a band that you should check out anyway.
..and yes, you might have heard about the MERCYFUL FATE reunion next year? For some reason Michael Denner was not even asked to participate. He will concentrate on this band instead, and I think that's a good idea.
facebook.com/DennersInferno   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 18, 2019

JUNKYARD DRIVE: Home - Single
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 18)
Explosive Danish rock n roll band JUNKYARD DRIVE will be touring in Europe with Swedish melodic hard rockers ECLIPSE in October/November. At the same time they release a new single about feeling at home.
And what can I say about this song then? Well, it sounds like a really good hard rocker in the old school. You should absolutely give it a try, because you will probably like what you hear.
facebook.com/junkyarddriveofficial   mightymusic.dk
Published: 18, 2019

ALUNAH: Violet Hour - Album
(Heavy Psych Sounds Records)
It seems like this British band formed in 2006, so this is not the first record that they have made. Their music is a dark and doom tinged kind of hard rock. Heavy riffs are mixed with beautiful melodies. No growl or harsh vocals here, but just clean female vocals. And this album is full of passion and fantastic songs. I really think that you should check this out, because this album is great.
alunah.bandcamp.com   heavypsychsounds.com
Published: Oct. 17, 2019

MONTE LUNA: Drowners Wives - Album
(Argonauta Records)
MONTE LUNA is a doom duo based in Austin, and "Drowners Wives" is their second album. I have heard that their songs use to be very long, but this time they are a little shorter than usual they say (2,19-6,29 minutes).
MONTE LUNA's music is really heavy, but yet catchy. Sometimes there's also a psychedelic twist as well. This is pretty good acually. So if you like it heavy, then you better check this out.
monteluna666.bandcamp.com   argonautarecords.com
Published: Oct. 17, 2019

The WHIRLINGS: Earthshine - Album
(Subsound Records - Release date: Oct. 18)
Italian band The WHIRLINGS was founded in 2008, and play stoner/heavy psych/post rock. The first song, "Vacuum", is the most normal song, and it even has vocals, which I can't hear much of on the other 4 tracks. So that song is a little better than the rest according to me. The other songs are a little like slow and atmospheric instrumental jam sessions that has become songs, or however I should describe them. But there's also more wild moments. Some more vocals wouldn't have hurt though.
I don't think I'm going much further than that with this..
thewhirlings1.bandcamp.com   subsoundsrecords.it
Published: Oct. 17, 2019

Lexi Layne: The Darkness Of Your Heart - Single
(Self released)
This is the first single from L.A. woman Lexi Layne, and it tells a tale of lust and love in an uncertain relationship. Hardly a new subject.
Layne began singing at age 5 and grew up performing in musical theater productions, but it was her passion for rock that led her to strike out on her own. Inspired by EVANESCENCE, FLYLEAF and WITHIN TEMPTATION, Lexi's music draws from the raw experiences that have made her a stronger woman.
The music is some kind of melodic rock of the modern kind. And this song is not bad at all. I think you should give it a chance.
facebook.com/LexiXLayne
Published: Oct. 16, 2019

ARCANE TALES: Power Of The Sky - Album
(Broken Bones Records/Silverstream Records)
ARCANE TALES is a power/symphonic metal band from Italy. And sure, they are hardly doing anything different and new here, but somehow they succeed to be a little bit more interesting than the rest. Probably because it sounds more like power/heavy metal and not just symphonic metal. This also means that this record is totally free from soprano/opera vocals. And just that is worth a few extra points from me.
So, let me put it this way: If you are going to check out just 1 symphonic album this year, then pick this one.
facebook.com/arcanetales   facebook.com/brokenbonesrecords   facebook.com/silverstreamrecords
Published: Oct. 16, 2019

AOR: Heavenly Demos - Album
(Perris Records)
AOR was formed in 2000 by guitarist/keyboardist Frédéric Slama, and to his help he had the cream of the U.S. and European session musicians in hard rock. The first album, "L.A. Concession", was released in 2000. Several albums has been released since then. And during the last years he has released the demo collections "Rare Tracks & Demos" (2017) and "More Demos From L.A." (2018).
Now a third demo collection, "Heavenly Demos", is here. It features 14 tracks with singers like Paul Sabu (ONLY CHILD), Steve Overland (FM), Kevin Chalfant (The STORM), Jeff Scott Soto (TALISMAN, Yngwie Malmsteen etc), Sarah and Mélissa Fontaine (CHASING VIOLETS), Chris Antblad (SPIN GALLERY), Philip Bardowell (UNRULY CHILD), Göran Edman (STREET TALK, MÅRRAN, John Norum etc) and many more.. It's said that most of the songs were recorded in the 80s and 90s (and it actually sounds like that too), which is before this project even existed. I would expect that this is just different versions of songs that was released later. But this could of course be interesting for a fan of the band.
This could actually be interesting for any fan of AOR, becuse there's lots of great songs here, even though a track like "It's Just Too Easy" reminds me of Michael Jackson or some song from an 80s film.
facebook.com/AOR4ever   perrisrecords.com
Published: Oct. 15, 2019

HOLY SERPENT: Endless - Album
(RidingEasy Records - Release date: Oct. 18)
HOLY SERPENT comes from Melbourne, Australia, and this is their third album. And this doesn't really sound like anything else. They blend heavy riffs with melodic vocals. Sometimes it's a little psychedelic, and sometimes more melancholy and emotional. Like a pop singer in a rock band. Because rock it is. But exactly what sub-genre I should put them in is unknown to me.
The whole album is influenced by the ocean. We get 6 tracks in 40 minutes. A different journey.
Published: Oct. 15, 2019

ASSASSIN'S BLADE: Gather Darkness - Album
(Pure Steel Records - Release date: Oct. 18)
ASSASSIN'S BLADE consist of the former EXCITER vocalist Jacques Bélanger (from Canada) and a Swedish group with David Stranderud (ex-PORTRAIT) and members of CULT OF THE FOX. The band released their debut, "Agents Of Mystification", 3 years ago, and now another chapter of their story is here.
The music is good old heavy metal somewhere between EXCITER and JUDAS PRIEST. We get 10 tracks in 45 and a half minutes. And these guys have nothing to be ashamed of.
assassins-blade.com   puresteel-records.com
Published: Oct. 15, 2019

REXORIA: Ice Breaker - Album
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Oct. 18)
REXORIA is a melodic heavy metal band from Sweden, and "Ice Breaker" is their second album, which have many great songs among its 12 tracks.
If you're a fan of good old heavy metal, but with a modern sound, and have nothing against influences from both power metal and folk music, well then this is a band for you.
The album was mixed and mastered by Fredrik Nordström at the famous Studio Fredman. Niklas Isfeldt (DREAM EVIL) is doing some guest vocals on the Swedish song "Vår Verklighet" (the rest is in English).
facebook.com/rexoriamusic   prideandjoy.de
Published: Oct. 14, 2019

DANGER ZONE: Don't Count On Heroes - Album
(Pride & Joy Music - Release date: Oct. 18)
Italian band DANGER ZONE started in the early 80s already. After various demos and lineup changes, they released their debut LP, "Victim Of Time", in 1984. It wasn't until 1987 that they finally gained bigger attention in their homeland, but they were aiming at the American market, and in 1989 the whole band actually moved to L.A. for half a year. But the album they had just recorded, "Line Of Fire", got shelved and wasn't released until 2011.
By that time the band had already got back together again (in 2010), and was now working on new material. They have since then released a couple of albums.
The music that these Italians play is simply AOR/melodic hard rock, mainly in the good old 80s style, but with a modern production. And this is not bad at all. I think that fans of this genre will like DANGER ZONE a lot.
dangerzoneweb.com   prideandjoy.de
Published: Oct. 14, 2019

KAL-EL: Witches Of Mars - Album
(Argonauta Records)
This Norwegian heavy/psych rockers formed in 2012. They have previously released 2 EPs and 3 full length records. Here they deliver a massive sound wall that reminds me a little of early BLACK SABBATH. And it's definitely not bad at all. They have many good songs among these 6 tracks, who are between 5,21 to 10 and a half minutes long. The last song is a cover of the JJ Cale classic "Cocaine".
I think that this is something that will please many different kinds of people: Heavy rockers, psych rockers, doom metallers and even space rockers should like KAL-EL.
kal-el.no   argonautarecords.com
Published: Oct. 13, 2019

ARMAGEDDA: Only True Believers - Album reissue
(Nordvis Produktion - Release date: Oct. 18)
..and here comes another re-release with ARMAGEDDA. "Only True Believers" is their second album, which came out in 2003. Drums on this album was performed by Erik Danielsson (WATAIN), and this is a true black metal album. The CD version of this re-release includes 2 bonus tracks.
Well, this is a very good album. Probebly even 1 of the best of those that I have heard so far with ARMAGEDDA. So every fan of Swedish black metal should check this out.
This band released a few albums and EPs between 2001-2010. Everything they did was not so good, and after this album not even that much black metal anymore (but you can read about their third album, "Ond Spiritism" somewhere else on this site).
facebook.com/armageddaofficial
Published: Oct. 13, 2019

ANGELES: Fire It Up - Album
(Dark Star Records/Sony - Release date: Dec. 13)
This band seems to know how to rock, and how to make good songs. But then they're hardly any kids who just started to play. No, this band played live in Hollywood back in the 80s already, and has shared stage with many legends in the rock scene. "Fire It Up" seems to be their 13th album.
What we get is classic American hard rock like it used to sound in the 80s. So if you like that, then this is simply a must for you.
angelesband.com   darkstarrecords.com
Published: Oct. 13, 2019

Tommy Concrete: Trauma - EP
(Self released?)
This EP was released in late May, and contains 3 tracks that were left over from Tommy's latest album, "Unrelaxed". Funny that they have picked my line "Be prepared for an adventure if you want to try this" in the info about this release, which is something that I wrote in my review of the album.
"Trauma" is not so adventurous though. Not that it's the most "normal" music that he's playing, he definitely has his own style. They mention Devin Townsend and KILLING JOKE to describe these songs. So if you want something different, then I guess that this could be something for you. Personally I don&'t really know what I should think of these songs, but they have an important message as all 3 tracks explores mental health issues.
On Tommy Concrete's CV we can find out that he has been playing guitar for Scottish punk legends The EXPLOITED (respect!), instrumental doom with JACKAL-HEADED GUARD OF THE DEAD, been singing for metal band MAN OF THE HOUR and created harsh industrial under the pseudonym Zaceus Zinetti. He has been using his own name since 2001, and has released 6 albums and 2 EPs. He's currently working on his next album, "Unrelaxed 2", which should be released early next year.
tommyconcrete.bandcamp.com
Published: Oct. 12, 2019

LOS PEPES: Automatic - 7" EP
(Beluga Records/Wanda Records)
LOS PEPES play a kind of power pop that is more punk rock. It's more raw and dirty, but still very catchy. I really like these 4 songs, and I would not say no to some more from them. My advice to you is that you check them out at once! Especially if you like early British and American punk rock.
It looks like LOS PEPES formed in London, even though the members are from UK, Japan, Brazil and Poland. They has released several 7" EPs and 3 LPs through the years.
lospepes.bandcamp.com   belugarecords.com
Published: Oct. 12, 2019

Helga: The Autumn Lament - EP
(Icons Creating Evil Art)
The vocals might not be so metal, but more like some kind of dark folk pop. But listen to the guitars. There's often both rock and metal riffs, at least in some of the songs. That doesn't really mean that this is full of action though. No, this is actually pretty laidback and cool. Something for those of you who like a artist like Louise Lemón for example, but with a touch of Swedish folk music.
facebook.com/helgadalarna   icea.se
Published: Oct. 12, 2019

JD MILLER: Afterglow - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 18)
JD Miller live
JD MILLER comes from the same city where I live: Borås, Sweden. They have been playing since 2011, and has been called "the heaviest AOR around" by Sweden Rock Magazine (I don't think that they are so heavy though). "Afterglow" is their third album, which is said to be their most ambitious album so far.
They mix good old Scandinavian melodies with harmonies and heavy guitars, and create the finest kind of melodic hard rock (as I prefer to call it). This is something that every fan of Swedish hard rock must check out. Simple as that!
Any favorites? "In The Afterglow" and the single track "The Desire" are some of the extra good tracks.
facebook.com/jdmillerband   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 11, 2019

LUCER: Crazy - Single
(Mighty Music)
What?! Seriously? Some kind of soft rock for the kids with an electronic touch. The only reason why a label sign a band like this, is beacuse they see the chance to get a quick million. So no, this wasn't something for me..
When I reviewed their latest album, "Ghost Town", I described them as a "pop band trying to be a rock band". I also wrote: "This stuff turns my whole body inside out. I guess that says it all.."
End of the story!
facebook.com/lucerofficial   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 11, 2019

MINUS ONE: What's Up - Single
(Mighty Music)
Oh shit. The original version by 4 NON BLONDES was really good. But why did these guys have to destroy it with this version? And a children choir? Why, oh why?
No, this is not something that I can recomend you to check out. But try the original version, it's damned good.
facebook.com/Minusonecy   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 11, 2019

Soren Andersen: Skybar - Single
(Mighty Music)
This is the song from his latest album, "Guilty Pleasures", that reminds me most of the 80s TV show Miami Vice. It's actually said to be a celebration of the mid-80s, and there's even electric Simmons drums (performed by Marcus Linnet) to get that typical 80s sound. It also features Ida Nielsen (Prince) on bass.
Not bad for being an instrumental song. So if you like the 80s sound, then you should check this out.
facebook.com/Soren-Andersen-Music-141280017407   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 11, 2019

STARGAZER: So Now You're Leaving - Single
(Mighty Music)
This is the third single from Norwegian band STARGAZER's new album, "The Sky Is The Limit", which will be released on October 11. And it's what we can call a power ballad. Maybe not 1 of my favorites from that album, but absolutely not bad, because it's an amazing album that they have made (more about that in the album review though).
facebook.com/stargazertheband   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 11, 2019

HOT BREATH: Hot Breath - EP
(The Sign Records - Release date: Oct. 18)
Hot Breath, first gig ever
This band features members from Gothenburg, Sweden-based bands like HONEYMOON DISEASE and HYPNOS. And this self titled EP is their first release, which consist of 6 high-energy rockers. Their rock is raw and dirty, and they deliver it with adrenaline and teenage lust. It reminds me a lot of HONEYMOON DISEASE, but it's still not exactly like them.
All 6 songs are great, but "1000 Miles" is a little extra good - It should be a big hit! I really look forward to hear some more from them in the future.
facebook.com/hotbreathgbg   facebook.com/thesignrecords
Published: Oct. 10, 2019

INFECTED DEAD: The Rache - Single
(Hostile Media)
"With our new single we have sought to increase the depth and diabolism of our penetrations into the masters work, with a tale of grave robbing and revenge. There is no escape from The Rache", says vocalist Lou Ede about this new song. And I must warn you, because this song will take a stranglehold on you, and won't let you go until the song is over after 4,49 minutes.
INFECTED DEAD deliver furious death metal, and it's hard to say no to this, because they are damned good. So just let them strangle you and like it.
INFECTED DEAD are a 5-piece technical death metal band from Kent, UK. They erupted onto the live scene in 2017. Their debut EP, "Archaic Malevolence", was released in December 2017, and they are currently working on their debut album, which is scheduled for release in 2020.
facebook.com/infecteddead   hostilemedia.net
Published: Oct. 9, 2019

G.T: How Dare You - Single
(Despotz Records)
I think we all know the story behind this song already, but that somebody would sign and release this song was a surprise. But they are doing it for a good cause: All the record company's profits from the release will go straight to Greenpeace. With the single release, Despotz Records also launches a campaign under the hashtag #GREENMETAL, where they urge the metal fans worldwide to mobilize and take part in the environmental movement together and to create history making the song enter the billboard top 10 charts.
The artist G.T is John Mollusk, the drummer of New York thrash metal band SUAKA. This little death metal song, where he growl Greta Thunberg's speech in New York, is over in just 2 minutes. It's hard to tell if it's any good, so I guess we can say that the message is the most important thing here. But if you want the world to die, then this is not for you. But if you want the world to survive, then you should absolutely support this.
The song is available on most digital platforms; like YouTube, Spotify, Apple Music and Bandcamp for example.
despotz.se
Published: Oct. 9, 2019

STARGAZER: The Sky Is The Limit - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 11)
I think of Tony Martin-era BLACK SABBATH and Robin McAuley-era MSG, as well as the 2 first albums with the PHENOMENA project. We talk melodic hard rock here in case you didn't get that. And this is definitely not bad at all. This is actually great! You just have to check this out!
STARGAZER (not to be confused with STARGAZERY) released their debut album in 2010, which received great reviews all over Europe. But I guess that didn't help much, as it has taken them 9 years before their second album is finally ready to see the light. But now they are ready to take the world by storm. And if they don't succeed with this fantastic album, then there's something really wrong in the rock n roll business of today.
facebook.com/stargazertheband   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 8, 2019

SCREAMER: Highway Of Heroes - Album
(The Sign Records - Release date: Oct. 11)
"Highway Of Heroes" is like 1 of those great heavy metal albums from the 1980s. It has all the right ingredients, like catchy and memorable songs with melody, but yet heavy enough to be metal. This is an album that deserves more attention then it probably is going to get. SCREAMER has already existed for a few years now, and released a few albums, but they are still an underground band and not among the more well-known bands. But I really hope that this album is going to change that.
"Highway Of Heroes" is the 4th album from this Swedish band. It was produced by Gustav Hjortsjö from BULLET, recorded by Ulf Blomberg in The End Studio, mixed by the legendary Tomas Skogsberg in Sunlight Studio, and mastered by Patrik W. Engel in Temple Of Disharmony. If that's not enough to take them to the next level, then I don't know..
wearescreamer.com   facebook.com/thesignrecords
Published: Oct. 8, 2019

OPIUM LORD: Vore - Album
(Sludgelord Records - Release date: Oct. 11)
The first track begin silent, before a maniac start to scream and it finally turn in to a hell of a noise towards the end. Totally useless! It gets a little better after that though. Hard, heavy and angry stuff. Not exactly any wonderful lullabies. I'm not so sure that I like this though, but many others seems to do, so don't let me stop you from checking this out.
OPIUM LORD comes from Birmingham, England, and started in 2014. Their first album, "Eye of Earth" was released in 2017 by Candlelight Records, but for their second album, "Vore", they decided to move on to Sludgelord Records instead. Their music is usually filed under the doom/sludge metal tag, but they are actually more than just that. People who like their shit heavy and a bit noisey will probably enjoy this anyway.
thesludgelord.bandcamp.com/album/vore
Published: Oct. 8, 2019

ETHEREAL KINGDOMS: Hollow Mirror - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 11)
They seems to be pretty good at what they're doing, but this is not really a band for me. But if you're a fan of symphonic and melodic metal, and have nothing against a few surprises, then you should at least give this band a try instead of reading what I write. Because you will hopefully understand this much better than me.
ETHEREAL KINGDOMS comes from Denmark, and this is their debut album. Their music is a little theatrical/cinematic actually, and full of ghost stories. Metal, soprano, growl and harsh vocals are mixed with choirs and a lot of different instruments and different twists and turns. So, this is obviously a very ambitious project, and absolutely not just another symphonic metal band.
etherealkingdoms.com   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 8, 2019

NECROTTED: Die For Something Worthwile - EP
(Rising Nemesis Records - Release date: Oct. 11)
NECROTTED was born in early 2008, and consist of as much as 6 guys. Their first EP, "Kingdom Of Hades", was released in April 2010, which was followed by a full length album, "Anchors Apart", in June 2012. 2 more albums has been released since then, and now it's time for a 4-track EP.
It's death metal that these Germans play. It's both fast and heavy, and on top of that a catchy chorus. All songs are around 3 minutes. Not bad, even though I have heard much better. You might like them more than me though, so give them a try at least.
facebook.com/NECROTTED   risingnemesisrecords.de
Published: Oct. 7, 2019

LACUNA COIL: Black Anima - Album
(Century Media - Release date: Oct. 11)
These Italians celebrated their 20-year anniversary last year with both a book, "Nothing Stands in Our Way", and the live release "The 119 Show: Live in London". This new album sounds more or less like they use to: Like the beauty (Christina Scabbia) and the beast (Andrea Ferro) in a metal symphony. Possibly with some new shades here and there. Or a mixture of their past and the future you could say.
The funny thing is that the more melodic song, "Save Me", is the best song on this album. And for some reason it's the second last song. They should have played that card earlier. But the other songs are not so bad either. This is a modern metal album that is actually worth checking out. And most metal fans should find something that they like here.
lacunacoil.com   centurymedia.com
Published: Oct. 7, 2019

BLACKWATER HOLYLIGHT: Veils Of Winter - Album
(RidingEasy Records - Release date: Oct. 11)
This album start with heavy doom, but after a few songs it's suddenly more like psychedelic rock instead. So I guess that we can call this doom/psych rock. It's like they say in the info about this album: "BLACKWATER HOLYLIGHT, as the name suggests, is all about contrasts. It's a fluid convergence of sound that's heavy, psychedelic, melodic, terrifying and beautiful all at once."
As I understand it, their influences comes from early SONIC YOUTH, the first album with BLACK SABBATH, as well as some post punk and krautrock. You should not get bored when you listen to these 5 women. This is a very good album.
blackwaterholylight.com   ridingeasyrecords.com
Published: Oct. 7, 2019

THRASHFIRE: Into The Armageddon - Album
(Xtreem Music - Release date: Oct. 10)
THRASHFIRE comes from Turkey, and the band has existed since 2006. After a demo in 2007, and a promo EP in 2010, they finally released their debut album, "Thrash Burned the Hell", in 2011. Their new album, "Into The Armageddon", is said to be their best work to date. And I actually believe them. Because this is very good stuff! Fans of legendary acts like KREATOR, DARK ANGEL, SLAYER and SODOM should absolutely give this band a chance. Without a doubt!
facebook.com/thrashbeerandviolence   xtreemmusic.com
Published: Oct. 6, 2019

TOPPLOCK and HOT BREATH at The Abyss in Göteborg, Sweden on October 5, 2019
This will be very short. HOT BREATH played first, and it was their first show ever. They did a really good job though, and was great. Check them out if you like action rock and similar stuff.
Hot Breath   Hot Breath   Hot Breath   Hot Breath   Hot Breath   Hot Breath
TOPPLOCK was mainly loud and heavy, but the first and the last song was more like action rock. Pretty o.k. stuff, but HOT BREATH was more in my taste.
Topplock   Topplock   Topplock   Topplock   Topplock
facebook.com/Topplock   facebook.com/hotbreathgbg   facebook.com/theabyssgbg
Published: Oct. 6, 2019

Sascha Paeth's MASTERS OF CEREMONY: Signs Of Wings - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
The music is great. But with American singer Adrienne Cowan (SEVEN SPIRES) on vocals this album becomes even better. Because this woman can really sing, and she can handle every vocal style. Which she gives us a taste of on this album. This is an album full of variation, and has a little bit of everything from the metal scene. But I would say that the main ingredient is melodic metal.
But who might band leader Sascha Paeth be then? Well, he's a German producer/guitarist/songwriter. Among the acts he has produced during the years are AVANTASIA, KAMELOT, RHAPSODY, EPICA and many more. After 4-5 years of discussion about a collaboration with Frontiers, he finally said o.k. But as you probably have figured out already from my beginning, this is more than just a solo album. Among the musicians that I have not mentioned yet are Felix Bohnke (AVANTASIA) on drums, André Neygenfind (AVANTASIA) on bass, and Corvin Bahn on keyboards.
This is definitely something that you should check out!
frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 5, 2019

PUDDLE OF MUDD: Welcome To Galvania - Album
(Pavement Music)
On this new album PUDDLE OF MUDD offers us many good songs in their good old tradition. Not that I have heard too many songs with them before, and probably not anything at all since early 2000 sometime, but I think it sounds familiar - which means just as they sound back then. So old fans of this band should be happy (and maybe nostalgic) when they hear this. Just listen to a song like "Uh Oh" for example, which could have been a hit about 20 years ago.
"Welcome To Galvania" is their 6th album, but they formed back in 1991 already. But their first major album, "Come Clean", wasn't released until August 2001. They have since then sold over 7 million albums, and has had a string of No. 1 singles - like "Blurry", "She Hates Me" and "Famous".
This new album was produced by Cameron Webb (ALKALINE TRIO, DISTURBED, MOTÖRHEAD), and is also their first new full length in 10 years.
facebook.com/puddleofmudd   pavementmusic.com
Published: Oct. 5, 2019

KXM: Circle Of Dolls - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
KXM is a hard rock band who wants to be a little harder and heavier. That's what it sounds like to me anyway. But they are at the same time melodic.
This power trio features KORN drummer Ray Luzier, dUg Pinnick of KING'S X on vocals/bass, and guitarist George Lynch from LYNCH MOB and DOKKEN. They released a self titled album in 2014, and in 2017 they released another album. Now their third album is here with as much as 13 tracks. And they seems to be very proud of themselves for creating this album.
It's not totally useless, but hardly the best album on the planet either. To me this is the kind of music that goes in through 1 ear and out through the other. They have nothing that is extra good to me, something that I can remember when the album is over. A little tragic actually. This is often very boring. But that's just my opinion of course.
frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 5, 2019

The DEFIANTS: Zokusho - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
The DEFIANTS is a band put together by Paul Laine, Bruno Ravel and Rob Marcello. All of them have been members of DANGER DANGER at some point. And now I can't really remember what DANGER DANGER sound like, but if you like melodic hard rock then this could be something for you, because they have many good songs here. And if you like DANGER DANGER, you might be exited to hear that their drummer Steve West is special guest on this album.
Now I don't really know what else I should say here, so get the album instead.
frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 5, 2019

BULLRING: Break Down The Gates - Album
(Street Symphonies Records/Burning Minds Music Group)
Italian hard rock trio BULLRING was born in 2018, and "Break Down The Gates" is their debut album. But even though they are from the land of pasta and pizza, their music is influenced by the American sound of bands like BLACK STONE CHERRY, PRIDE & GLORY, BLACK LABEL SOCIETY and HINDER.
But honestly, the first track, "Are You Shining?", sounds more like action rock from Scandinavia. But after that they calm down a little. Just a little though. And then they slow down even more and get heavier.
This is a pretty good album, but hardly a masterpiece that will become a classic in the future.
bullringband.com   burningmindsgroup.com
Published: Oct. 5, 2019

BLOCK BUSTER: Losing Gravity - Album
(Frontiers Music Srl)
BLOCK BUSTER is an up and coming band from the Finnish rock scene. They were still in junior high when they formed the band, and spent their teenage years developing their sound and identity. They released an EP and 2 singles before they got signed to Italian label Frontiers Music, who released their debut album, "Losing Gravity", last month.
Even though they are young, their music is like a mixture of all kinds of rock and hard rock from the 1970s up until today. Mainly pretty o.k. stuff. But I wonder where their hit song is? Because without a hit there won't be much action. As it is now too many songs sounds more or less the same, so they still have some stuff to work on.
frontiers.it
Published: Oct. 5, 2019

Lindsay Schoolcraft: Martyr - Album
(Self released - Release date: Oct. 7)
Lindsay Schoolcraft use to play keyboard and sing in the British extreme metal band CRADLE OF FILTH. "Martyr" is her first solo album, which was co-written with former EVANESCENCE drummer Rocky Gray.
This album doesn't have much to do with CRADLE OF FILTH though. This is more like some kind of gothic and very melodic metal/rock, influenced by Schoolcraft's background in classical music. There's also a couple of ballads. So I guess that fans of acts like EVANESCENCE and NIGHTWISH might like this.
I can hear many good songs on this album, so I guess it can be worth a try.
lindsayschoolcraft.com
Published: Oct. 4, 2019

ARCHANGEL A.D.: Eventide - Single
(Self released?)
"Raw, untamed, powerful, and precise" is how they describe this band. They are also said to be "a youthful band that channels the classic aggression and songwriting of the Big 4 with a modern sensibility".
ARCHANGEL A.D. are from Texas, and formed in 2015. They has released several demos, EPs and split releases before this single.
This song has all the right ingredients - It kicks ass, it's catchy and heavy, and on top of that an almost anthem like chorus. My advice to you is: Check this out!
archangelad.bandcamp.com
Published: Oct. 4, 2019

Soren Andersen: Guilty Pleasures - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 4)
O.k., I'm not really a fan of instrumental albums. And this album hardly change that. He is a very good guitarist, and the songs are not bad, but yet, it's not so funny to listen to 10 tracks that after a while sounds more or less the same. I guess that guitar freaks who like Joe Satriani and Steve Vai will be happy to hear this though.
Some of these songs actually reminds me of the 80s, and the TV show "Miami Vice".
Dane Soren Andersen is a Danish guitarist and producer who have played with Glenn Hughes (DEEP PURPLE, BLACK SABBATH etc) among others, and produced artists like Mike Tramp (WHITE LION), Marco Mendoza (a lot of bands), Tommy Aldridge (WHITESNAKE, THIN LIZZY), The DEAD DAISIES etc. Among the guests on this album are Chad Smith (RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS), Glenn Hughes, Marco Mendoza and fellow Dane Ida Nielsen (Prince).
facebook.com/Soren-Andersen-Music-141280017407   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 3, 2019

ANOXIA: To The Lions - Album
(Mighty Music - Release date: Oct. 4)
The musical direction on this album is mainly good old heavy metal. It's melodic and hard-hitting, while the riffs are strong and heavy. Sometimes there's also a modern twist. And the 9 tracks that we get here are definitely not bad at all. This Danish band seems to know how to make good metal songs. No doubt about that.
ANOXIA is said to be a well-established act in the Danish undeground metal scene, and they have been playing for over 20 years already.
anoxia.dk   mightymusic.dk
Published: Oct. 3, 2019

IRON KINGDOM: On The Hunt - Album
(Self released on Oct. 4)
Canadian traditional heavy metal band IRON KINGDOM are inspired by legends like IRON MAIDEN, JUDAS PRIEST, SCORPIONS and RUSH. In other words powerful heavy metal with catchy melodies and good riffs. And this band know how to make good songs. I can hear lots of great stuff on this album. There's no idea to mention any favorites here, because all tracks are good.
This is something for those of you who like the bands from the 80s and the classic sound.
iron-kingdom.com
Published: Oct. 2, 2019

INSOMNIUM: Heart Like A Grave - Album
(Century Media - Release date: Oct. 4)
This is the 8th album from this melodic death metal band, who got together back in 1997 already. The lineup has been the same since 2011. But last year guitarist Ville Friman decided that he could not combine the heavy touring with his other career as a lecturer in York university. So the band decided that they needed a third guitarist. And since Jani Liimatainen (The DARK ELEMENT, CAIN'S OFFERING, ex-SONATA ARCTICA) had already been a live guitarist on several tours, he was the right man for the job.
"Heart Like A Grave" consist of 10 tracks in over an hour (there are versions with more tracks though). The songs are epic and melancholy. Raw vocals are mixed with nice guitar melodies. The inspiration comes from some of the bleakest tales, lyrics and poems of the north. And I really like what I hear on this album. This is fantastic! And it just happens to fit perfect with the season here in the north.
insomnium.net   centurymedia.com
Published: Oct. 2, 2019