skull HARD ROCK INFO skull
HOME | NEWS | REVIEWS | PHOTOS | LINKS | CONTACT
REVIEWS 2017 (Page 8)
Back to page 7
TERRA INCOGNITA: Fragments Of A Ruined Mind - Album
Hm.. Some of these songs sounds very familiar somehow. Like I have heard the exactly same thing recently. And it turns out that I have, as the band is TERRA INCOGNITA and not FRAGMENTS OF A RUINED MIND as the folder said. It was just another stupid person who didn't do it right. So I had to check my e-mail to figure out what band it was (maybe you should let somebody else do the digital work?).
Well, this band doesn't seems to be better or worse than any other classic heavy metal band, so they could be worth checking out. They have some really good songs here anyway. There's no doubt at all about that.
Best tracks? Well, "Conqueror" is without any doubt their strongest number! And I also like "My Emptiness" a lot. Nothing is really bad, even though there are weaker parts here and there.
(Symmetric Records)
terraincognitaband.gr
DECEMBER 31, 2017
Photo
SINOPTIK: Standalone Syndrome - Single
They call this psych/stoner rock, and say that it's similar to bands like GRAND FUNK RAILROAD, MUSE, LED ZEPPELIN, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE and PINK FLOYD. Well, I think this song will probably please fans of QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE anyway. It's a pretty o.k. song, but not much else actually.
The band was formed in Donetsk, Ukraine in 2011. But due to the war they had to leave for Kiev about 3 years ago.
facebook.com/SinoptikBand
DECEMBER 31, 2017
Photo
HAMKA: Multiversal - Album
Another over ambitious symphonic metal band? You could easily think that when you hear the intro. But after that they're not so pretentious. I like that the singer is actually singing, instead of pretending that she's at the opera. It's more heavy metal.
The band started to take shape in 2003, and their first EP, "Exodus", was released in 2005, which was followed by the debut album, "Unearth", in 2006. Many years passed by with other things in life, like other projects, jobs and family for example. But in 2013 they were back again with 3 new members, and it's not until now that their second album has been released.
Well, they have some really good songs here, even though everything might not be so good. And 14 tracks is almost always too much. But I don't really know why they call this symphonic power metal. Because to me it sounds more like melodic metal.
(Fighter Records)
facebook.com/hamkametal
DECEMBER 30, 2017
Photo
GRIMNER: En Fallen Jätte - Single
Catchy folk metal in Swedish. This single comes from their new album, "Vanadrottning", which will be released on February 9. Their lyrics deal with stuff like Nordic mythology, folklore, historic viking adventures and daily life at that time. The band celebrate their 10-year anniversary in 2018.
Not bad at all, so it could be worth a try.
(Despotz Records)
grimnerband.com
DECEMBER 30, 2017
Photo
ALDARIA: When The Time Has Come - Digital Single
This is the 2017 Christmas single from the band ALDARIA. 100% of all income of this single will be donated to Cancer Research.
ALDARIA's mastermind is Frode Hovd. But the lineup on this single also includes an all-star lineup that includes names like Chris Bay (FREEDOM CALL), Ralf Scheepers (PRIMAL FEAR), Ola Halen (ex-INSANIA STOCKHOLM), Yannis Papadopoulos (BEAST IN BLACK), Mike Livas, Victor Emenka (SOULSPELL), Terje Harøy (PYRAMAZE), Siegfried Samer (DRAGONY), Todd Michael Hall (RIOT V) and David Åkesson (QANTIZE) on vocals. While guys like Frode Hovd, Christer Harøy (DIVIDED MULTITUDE), Thobbe Englund (ex-SABATON), Lars Rettkowitz (FREEDOM CALL) and Jimmy Hedlund (FALCONER) play guitars. Ronnie König (SIGNUM REGIS) play bass and Morten Gade Sørensen (PYRAMZE) play drums.
Seems to be a very ambitious project. But for a good thing. So if you're into more bombastic/symphonic power metal, then this might be something for you.
(Self released)
aldariaband.com
DECEMBER 29, 2017
Photo
MIND OF DOLL: Speak No Evil - EP
The first song sounds like a mixture of DANKO JONES and TURBONEGRO. But what should I say about the rest? Some kind of alternative hard rock maybe? Their record label call it raw and pure rock, and say that they have been compared with bands like SMACK, GLUECIFER and BACKYARD BABIES.
The band was originally founded in Vantaa, Finland in 2000, and they have released 2 albums - "Low Life Heroes" (2007) and "Shame On Your Shadow" (2013).
Well, no matter what we decide to call their music, it's pretty good stuff anyway.
(Secret Entertainment)
mindofdoll.com
DECEMBER 28, 2017
Photo
MASS BURIAL: Breeding Plagues - Album
Fine death metal in good old tradition.
The idea for this Spanish band started to grow in 2002 already. But it wasn't until 2004 that they finally started the band. And their debut album, "Of Carrion and Pestilence", didn't come out before 2011. This is their 3rd album.
And if you like good old bands like ENTOMBED, AUTOPSY, DISMEMBER, GRAVE and CARNAGE for example, then this is a band for you.
(Immortal Souls Productions)
massburial-isp.bandcamp.com
DECEMBER 28, 2017
Photo
LUNAR: Theogony - Album
So, this is supposed to be progressive rock/metal? But I don't really know what to call this, and I don't really get their music. So progressive it obviously is then. Because that genre is often hard to understand for me (even though there's more "normal" bands too). But sure, there is actually some songs that I understand, and those are really good actually. Like "Erato" for example. Fantastic!
This is the first album from this Sacramento, California band, who has been around since 2013. But you could think that they have been doing this all their lives. Because even though I don't understand it, I can hear that they are very good musicians anyway.
This is a concept album based on The Nine Muses of Greek mythology.
(DiveBomb Records)
facebook.com/Lunarbandofficial
DECEMBER 28, 2017
Photo
DumDefBlind: Call Out! - Album
Sounds pretty hard to be dumb, deaf and blind. All at the same time.
This is their debut album, but the members have been in the music business for many years, either as a band member or writer and producer. And what we get here is some kind of heavier melodic hard rock. I guess it's pretty o.k. and nothing bad at all, but at the same time it's far away from excellent (but it doesn't always have to be that either).
I don't really know what else I should say about this, but you can always give it a try if you want to.
facebook.com/dumdef
DECEMBER 27, 2017
Photo
VENOM: Assault! - Box Set
Between 1985 and 1987 a series of "Assault" EPs were released: Canadian, American, French, Japanese, German and Scandinavian Assault. These EPs collected studio material along with previously unreleased live tracks. The Assault-series were conceived as a strictly-limited souvenir of each of their overseas jaunts. VENOM officially agreed on the Canadian, American and the Japanese Assault. The others were released without the permission from the band.
Now these EPs are released on CD for the first time, as a 6-CD box set filled with 42 tracks. And this is definetely something for the die hard collectors.
I guess I'm old enough now to admit that when I was a kid in the 80s, I actually never had any records with VENOM. I didn't really know what to expect. They were actually a little scary back then because of their Satanic image (ha, ha). I was just a kid who was listening to hard rock and heavy metal, and wasn't really into extreme metal. So I guess it wasn't until the late 90s that I finally heard them, and they were damned good. And nowadays I know better..
Release date: Jan. 5, 2018 (Dissonance)
venomslegions.com
DECEMBER 26, 2017
Photo
METALSTEEL: Beyond The Stars - Album
Couldn't they find a more stupid band name? Luckily the music is not stupid though. This is classic heavy metal just the way we like it. They combine raw agression with melodic and progressive structures.
The band comes from Slovenia, and this seems to be their 7th full length, which is a concept album about Extraterrestrial civilisations who descended on Earth in order to rise the spiritual awareness of mankind and interfere in the process of humanity's evolution. Doesn't that sound metal, or what?
You better give this a try, because you might actually like it.
(On Parole Productions)
metalsteel.net
DECEMBER 25, 2017
Photo
MYRHOLT: Med Samme Nål, Under Samme Måne - Album
Norwegian old school black metal with the roots in the 90s. Fact is that the first material was written and recorded back in 1992, by a then 14-year old Ole Alexander Myrholt (ARCHON, DIABOLICAL BREED, ENSLAVEMENT OF BEAUTY, GAIA EPICUS, The FLAME WITHIN, THOSE LEFT BEHIND etc). Many recording sessions commenced through the years, and some of the material was spread through tape trading early on under different monikers, while some was released as TREMOR. TREMOR was put on hold in 2011 due to lack of dedication.
But the inspiration came back when Myrholt stepped in playing drums for Norwegian black metal band MORK in December 2016. This resulted in a monthly release flow of old and new material. MYRHOLT was chosen as the new moniker.
Well, if you miss the sound of the 90s when it comes to black metal, then this can be something for you, because it's not bad at all.
(Myrholt Design)
olealexandermyrholt.com
DECEMBER 25, 2017
Photo
NARCOS FAMILY BAND: Pink Blues - EP
Weird release date.. (New Yearœs Eve) Weird band..
What we get here is 4 tracks that combine rock n roll with punk, hardcore and a pinch of metal. Add a saxophone to that mixture. And the members have stupid names like Hot Meat, Uncle Shitty etc. I honestly don't really know what to think about these dudes. It might not suck completely, but it's not that good either.
1 thing is for sure though, I don't think they sound like anybody else.
This EP will be available digitally and as a limited edition cassette.
Release date: Dec. 31, 2017 (King Pizza Records)
narcosrocknroll.bandcamp.com
DECEMBER 25, 2017
Take Me To The Top   Back to page 7
This site has been online since 2001.
All reviews and photos/images by Jimmy Blom.