skull HARD ROCK INFO skull
HOME | NEWS | REVIEWS | PHOTOS | LINKS | CONTACT
REVIEWS 2017 (Page 6)
Back to page 5
FKU F.K.U.: Friday The 13th Part 2 - Single
Another single from their new album, "1981", which will be released soon. And it's another thrash attack. And very punk somehow. It's a tribute to their favorite day of the year: Friday The 13th. And it's another damned good song, so I really look forward to hear the new album. Because I think it will be great. Not much else to say.. You can find this song on digital platforms like Spotify and YouTube etc.
(Despotz Records)
moshoholics.com
OCTOBER 22, 2017
Photo
DR. LIVING DEAD!: Cosmic Conqueror - Album
We have some really good thrash bands here in Sweden nowadays. Like The HAUNTED, F.K.Ü., TYRANEX and this band, DR. LIVING DEAD! Just to name a few.. So I would say that we have a pretty good thrash scene today.
The Doctor and his living dead friends have been around for 10 years now, and this is their 4th full length. They have once again succeeded to make a really good album. But that was not such a big surprise, as I didn't expect anything else. But how could you possibly go wrong when you pick your inspiration from classic bands from the happy 80s? "Cosmic Conqueror" is almost as good as any of those old bands albums.
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Century Media)
deathfuckingthrash.se
OCTOBER 22, 2017
Photo
BROWN ACID: The Fifth Trip - Compilation Album
Yeah! Finally a new volume of this excellent collection of old rarities from the 60s and 70s. Fact is that the single tracks that they have included on these compilations are almost impossible to find nowadays. But then we talk about obscure underground proto metal/hard rock bands that hardly anyone have heard about. There's only 1 artist here that people might have heard of before, and that's Thor (it must be the same person as the well-known muscle man). The other artists are CAPTAIN FOAM, George Brigman, FINCH, CYBERNAUT, FARGO, MAMMOTH, FLASHER, LANCE and ZEBRA.
Well, not that much to add other than definitely worth checking out (as usual). Because this is a must!
Release date: Oct. 31, 2017 (RidingEasy Records)
OCTOBER 20, 2017
Photo
TYKETTO: Live From Milan - CD/DVD, Blu-ray
Well, are they going to start to play or are they going to fool around all day? In other words, did they really had to include that useless introduction? And then we also have the common problem too much talk. Maybe I'm too old or something, but live albums are not that cool anymore. It's not like when I was a kid. Then live albums was something really cool (and those albums are still great of course).
I'm pretty sure that I have reviewed at least 1 studio album with this band before, but I have no idea what I wrote back then. But they have a few good songs, even though everything isn't great. And if you happens to be a fan of this band, then I won't stop you from checking this out. It's probably damned good according to you.
This recording comes from their performance at Frontiers Rock Festival IV, which took place in Milan, Italy earlier this year (if I got it right). And at that show they played their entire debut album, "Don't Come Easy", from the last song to the first song of the album (funny guys).
(Frontiers Music)
tyketto.com
OCTOBER 20, 2017
Photo
TORCHIA: Of Curses And Grief - Album
TORCHIA is not better or worse than any other band in their genre, which is what I would call really hard thrash metal with a touch of melodic death metal, but I can't hear anything here that is extra good. On the other hand, nothing is extra bad either. So I guess they are one of those "middle bands" that are o.k. as background music. I wouldn't waste my last money for beer to get this album, but maybe you can stream it somewhere to see if you like it more than me.
TORCHIA was started to create a new and raw metallic union consisting of melodies, solos, high tempos and madness in a unique way. They did their first show in the end of 2011, and released their first demo, "One", in 2013. In 2015 it was time for their first EP, "Ending Beginning". And now in 2017 it's time for THORCHIA's debut album, "Of Curses And Grief".
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Concorde Music Company)
torchia.fi
OCTOBER 20, 2017
Photo
STILLBORN: Nocturnals - Album
So, the Swedish band STILLBORN are back. Their debut album, "Necrospirituals", from 1989 is seen as a cult classic today. And it was probably the first gothic metal album (not that the term exited then).
Their music is some kind of dark gothic doom metal. And they have really found their own unique style. This is a album that you should give a try. Becuse it's not bad at all. There's plenty of good songs among these 10 tracks.
Bonus info: Peter Asp (drums) are also playing in BOMBUS, and is a former member of MARY BEATS JANE.
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Black Lodge Records)
stillbornsweden.com
OCTOBER 20, 2017
Photo
Sparzanza SPARZANZA: Announcing The End - Album
Well, it starts good, and most of these songs are hard and heavy like it should be. But I can't really get why some of the songs on this album sounds so soft and weak, almost like VOLBEAT. And in 1 song it's almost nu metal for a while. And that fucking piano in the end of the last song (couldn't they have smashed it into pieces instead? that would have been more interesting to hear). No, this is hardly the best that I have heard from SPARZANZA. But I wouldn't say that it totally sucks though. There are some good songs too.
This band have been playing together for 20 years now, and this is their 8th studio album.
(Despotz Records)
sparzanza.com
OCTOBER 20, 2017
Photo
SNOWY DUNES: Atlantis - Album
The first track is almost 11 minutes long. But then it takes 1 and a half minutes before they actually start to play. And even longer than that before they start to rock a little. But when they finally start to rock, then it's not so bad at all. Some kind of progressive rock in the old school way is what we get from this band. It's 5 pretty long pieces, between 6-11 minutes. So it's like a little adventure to listen to this record. And sometimes it's like they might have taken too much LSD or something, as it ends up in an eternal jam (or whatever I should call it). Like in the end of "Ritual" for example. But mainly it's a damned good trip that they take us on.
SNOWY DUNES comes from Stockholm, Sweden and are described as "an eclectic psychedelic riff-rock band drawing inspiration from the psychedelic vibe of 60s rock music and the gritty heaviness of stoner-rock". The band was formed in 2013, and their self titled debut album was released in 2015.
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Hevisike)
OCTOBER 20, 2017
Photo
The MONS: Trust No One - Album
15 songs. But most of them are just around 1 to 1 and a half minutes, so for once it's not too much at once, as it usually can be with that many songs.
The MONS comes from Chicago, and are said to be a hardcore/punk band. But to me this is more like some kind of intense punk rock. They have 1 leg in the snotty 70s punk and 1 foot in the 80s hardcore, you could say. But no matter what you call it, it's not bad at all.
They have previously released a demo, 1 EP and 1 album. This is their second full length. Give it a try, punk.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Triple Eye Industries)
OCTOBER 19, 2017
Photo
MIDNITE CITY: Midnite City - Album
MIDNITE CITY was formed as late as in January 2017 by current TIGERTAILZ frontman Rob Wylde (ex-VEGA, Steevi Jaimz, TEENAGE CASKET COMPANY). He was soon joined by Pete Newdeck (NEWMAN, EDEN'S CURSE, BLOOD RED SAINTS) on drums, Miles Meakin on guitar and Shawn Charvette on keyboards. In June their first album was done, and now it will be released in October.
The music is melodic rock/hard rock that sounds like we were still in the 80s. And no problem with that. I like what I hear here.
This could be something for fans of BON JOVI and DEF LEPPARD.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (AOR Heaven)
facebook.com/midnitecityuk
OCTOBER 19, 2017
Photo
Honeymoon Disease HONEYMOON DISEASE: Part Human, Mostly Beast - Album
Here's a band that I have seen live like 4-5 times or something like that. So yes, I obviously like them. This is their second album, and I haven't bought their first album yet (I got 2 7" EPs though).
HONEYMOON DISEASE are a Swedish high energy rock n roll quartet. I think this could fit people who like IMPERIAL STATE ELECTRIC as well as good old rock n roll from the 50s/60s. There's even some soul here and there in these songs. And it's a really good album with 12 strong songs that they have made. But I didn't expect anything else. So I'm satisfied.
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (The Sign Records)
honeymoondisease.com
OCTOBER 18, 2017
Photo
HOLY TERROR: Total Terror - 5-disc Box Set
Here's another one of those 80s bands who never really made it to the top. But they succeeded to release some albums anyway. And what we have here is a box filled with all their albums - "Terror And Submission" (1987), "Mind Wars" (1988), "El Revengo" (2006) and the live album "Live Terror" (2006) - plus a live DVD with recordings from Milwaukee, Chicago and Anaheim.
HOLY TERROR comes from California and played mainly thrash/speed metal. But there's also some good old heavy metal here. Pretty good stuff that you really should give a try. All these albums are great (as usual I didn't get the DVD, but no problem).
My favorite songs must be "Christian Resistance" and "No Resurrection".
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Dissonance Productions)
OCTOBER 18, 2017
Photo
HOLLYWOOD UNDEAD: Five - Album
This sounds more like hip hop than rock. And I don't really like that ghetto shit. Raping is like listening to a stupid ass hole with mouth diarrhoea. It's so embarrasing to listen to this crap that I have to lower the volume so that nobody else can hear it. And I can't really get why somebody think it's a good idea to send this to me. Maybe you want me to be really angry at you&63; What do I know? People are strange nowadays.
But o.k., some tracks could probably, but just probably, be called nu metal. I can count those songs on 1 hand though, and it hardly makes this album any better.
And just like it wasn't bad enough, they just have to torture me with as much as 14 tracks of this shit. No way! Never again!
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Dove & Grenade Media/BMG)
hollywoodundead.com
OCTOBER 18, 2017
Photo
HERETIC: A Game You Cannot Win - Album
HERETIC was born in the early 80s in Southern California, and they play power/thrash metal. They released 2 albums and a EP back in the 80s before they split up because their singer joined METAL CHURCH. But then they took METAL CHURCH's former singer and formed REVEREND instead. More than 20 years later they were back again, and this is their first studio album in 5 years.
It's almost more power and heavy metal than thrash metal. And I don't really know why they had to include both a intro and a outro. But it's pretty good stuff that could be worth a try anyway.
Release date: Oct. 27, 2017 (Dissonance Productions)
OCTOBER 18, 2017
Photo
MEFISTO: Mefisto - Album
Is the sound really going to be that low? When are the song going to start? Are they going to play something good at all? Many questions.. It seems like these guys can play at least, so why they have a singer who sounds like somebody that they just have let out from the madhouse is another good question. But I guess it's supposed to be that way. After all, it's hardly any sweet love songs that we get here.
I didn't like their last album, "2.0.1.6", but I'm man enough to admit that this album is much better than that shit. And a song like "Let Go Of Life" is actually not so bad. But then it's LG Petrow from ENTOMBED A.D. who take care of the vocals in that song. Another song that I like is "In Morte Victoria". Both these songs are a little heavier than the rest.
I guess you already know how the story goes, that MEFISTO was 1 of the first extreme metal bands here in Sweden (formed in 1984), and that it didn't last for too long (split up in 1987). During the years they became a cult band in the metal underground, and a couple of years ago they decided to reunite. This is their second album. Nowadays they are a duo with original member Robban Granath and new member Morgan Myrhberg.
(GMR Music)
mefisto.se
OCTOBER 17, 2017
Photo
Madame Mayhem: Ready For Me - Album
If I'm not totally wrong, I wasn't so impressed of her last album. This seems to work better though for some reason. But that doesn't mean that this is a masterpiece.
The music is modern hard rock with pop melodies. So I guess it's o.k. to call this hard pop. Hardly the hardest stuff anyway. Even though the guitars are heavy, the vocals are melodic and full of emotions.
There are a few songs that are a little better among these 13 tracks. Like "Stand Up" for example. But I don't really get why there have to be as much as 3 slow songs (wouldn't surprise me if I complained about that last time too).
Among the band members on this album are Corey Lowery (SAINT ASONIA), Clint Lowrey (SEVENDUST) and Troy McLawhorn (EVANESCENCE). Why she have 2 drummers (Ryan Bennett and Bevan Davies) is a mystery though.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Metalville)
madamemayhem.com
OCTOBER 17, 2017
Photo
ICE AGE: Breaking The Ice - Album
Here's a band that most people in the metal community probably have heard of. But how many have actually heard them before? I don't think that I have anyway. Well, now it's time to change that..
But let's take it from the beginning, in case you don't know the story behind this band. ICE AGE are probably most well-known for being 1 of the first Swedish thrash metal bands. And just if that wasn't enough, they were all women. Which also was unusual back in the 80s.
The band was formed in Göteborg (aka Gothenburg), Sweden in January 1985. And in the beginning they were more of a power metal band, but after their first demo, "Rock Solid", they became more raw, and more like a thrash band. They released some more demos, which sold in thousand of copies, and they became pretty poular. But due to problems with their manager at the time, they unfortunately split up in 1990.
In 2014 they were back again. And in January 2015 ICE AGE entered the stage for the first time in 25 years at the Gothenburg Sound festival. And now their debut album is finally here with 5 re-recorded demo classics and 5 brand new songs. The linup includes old members Sabrina Kihlstrand and Vicki Larsson, plus the new members Linnea Landstedt (TYRANEX) and André Holmqvist (MANIMAL, the first male member). The music is thrash/heavy metal, and I think it sounds really good. For some reason the singer sounds very familiar, but I can't really figure out why.
Best track: "General Alert".
Release date: Oct. 21, 2017 (GMR Music)
OCTOBER 16, 2017
Photo
FIRE RED EMPRESS: Black Morphine - Album
FIRE RED EMPRESS was formed in 2014 by members of some bands from both UK and France, and now their debut album is here. Stoner rock riffs are mixed with modern melodic hard rock and metal. The female singer is both singing and screaming. She is really giving it all she can. This reminds me of a other good band called KOBRA AND THE LOTUS.
Well, this is definitely something that you should try. They have many good songs on this album. No doubt about that.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Polarian Records)
OCTOBER 16, 2017
Photo
NEURONSPOILER: Second Sight - Album
Damned good heavy metal in the classic/traditional way, with a singer that is just as good as any of the better (and more well-known) from the 70s/80s. This band really know how to deliver a good heavy metal song. This album is just as good as any of your favorite albums from the 80s.
I know that you probably don't believe me. But give this a try and you will scream for more.
The band comes from London, UK. This is their first album since 2013.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Dissonance Productions)
OCTOBER 15, 2017
Photo
DEADFREIGHT OF SOUL: Tortured Puppets - Album
This band has been around for 10 years already, but this is actually their first full length. They have just released a couple of EPs before. The music is death metal. They have both heavier and faster songs. And it's not bad at all. This could be worth checking out actually.
I don't really know what else to say about this..
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Kernkraftritter Records)
OCTOBER 15, 2017
Photo
CODE RED: Incendiary - Album
Really melodic rock/AOR. And I guess that everybody who like that will fall in love with this band. Because they have plenty of good material on this album.
Swedish singer Ulrick Lönnqvist has mainly been working as song writer for different artists during the last years, and it was never his ambiton to become a solo artist. But producer Daniel Flores succeeded to convince him that it was a very good idea. So Ulrick teamed up with co-writers Morgan Jensen (SWEDISH EROTICA) and Michael Palace (PALACE, BIG TIME). And along with lead guitarist Oscar Bromvall (PALACE, Erika) and keyboard player Kaspar Dahlqvist (SHADOWQUEST, DIONYSUS) the line-up was complete, and CODE RED was born.
Now their debut album is here, which consist of 10 really strong songs.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (AOR Heaven)
OCTOBER 15, 2017
Photo
CHELSEA: Mission Impossible - Album
Well, just because they have not released a new record for a while doesn't give them the right to include as much as 15 tracks. It's just stupid. 10 is the magic number. Didn't you know that? Well, now you know.
This sounds just like time would have stood still since the late 70s. In other words good old punk rock with catchy melodies. And I thank them for that. Because who wants another lazy old-man rock album from an old punk band? Most of these songs are really good stuff actually, so this is absolutely worth a chance (or 5) of course.
This is actually their 11th studio album. Their last album, "Saturday Night Sunday Morning", came out in 2014 (also a really good album), and was their first album in 10 years. Well, let's be glad that it didn't take another 10 years before this album came out.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Westworld Recordings)
OCTOBER 14, 2017
Photo
DEPARTMENT S: 45 Revolutions, Singles 1980-2017 - Album
Well, the title says exactly what this is, so let's talk about the music. It's some kind of alternative rock or post-punk/new wave. It could be something for fans of The STRANGLERS and The DAMNED I think. Pretty good stuff in other words. But it's not like I need 3 different versions of "Is Vic There" and 2 versions of "I Believe". Especially not when some of those extra verisons are electronic remixes. I hate that useless shit. But on the other hand, nobody force me to listen to it.
I like most of these songs though. Some of my favorites must be "On My Own Again" and "When All Is Said And All Is Done".
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Westworld Recordings)
OCTOBER 14, 2017
Photo
ARCHONS: Lords Of Light And Thunder - Album
"Sludgy space metal" is what they call this band's music. ARCHONS is a trio from San Diego, who have existed since 2003. They released their debut album, "Punish The Stars", in 2009. "Lords Of Light And Thunder" is their second album, so they doesn't really seems to be in a hurry when it comes to releasing new music on a regular basis.
As you probably have figured out, this is a band in the heavier league. But space metal? I don't know.. It's definitely sludge metal anyway. And I guess they're not so bad now that I have heard this album several times.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Self released)
OCTOBER 13, 2017
Photo
AFFLIKTOR: Affliktor - Album
A new black/thrash metal band with American guitarist Toby Knapp (ex-GODLESS RISING, WAXEN, WHERE EVIL FOLLOWS) as the only member. And he has been involved with the extreme metal scene since the early 90s. The music is raw and dark, just as it's supposed to be in this genre, but the odd thing with this band is all the metal guitar riffs and solos. It works though, so don't you worry about that. It's still very evil stuff (if you must know that), so it can obviously be worth checking out.
Release date: Oct. 20, 2017 (Transcending Obscurity Records)
affliktor.bandcamp.com
OCTOBER 13, 2017
Photo
BLOOD REGION: The Veteran - Single
"The Veteran is a song about reflections of war, on individual and collective levels. Inspired by documentaries and stories of people who had to face the horrors. It's also a song about the legacy of veterans, those who were sent to the frontlines, those who never came back and those who returned traumatized and struggling through life with the experiences they had in the battlefields. The meaning behind this song is not glorify war in any sense, more likely to wake people think, remember the roots in some level. Its concept is also based on theme of Finland reaching 100 years as a nation and its history, and therefore a tribute to veterans", says the drummer Sami Vertanen about this song.
Their music is some kind of symphonic extreme metal. Pretty hard and heavy stuff. And it's actually not so bad at all. Could be worth checking out. That's all I have to say..
(Inverse Records)
facebook.com/bloodregion
OCTOBER 12, 2017
Photo
FM2000: Hubba Bubba Rehab - Album
I don't know that many words in Finnish (mainly the bad words), and can hardly have a conversation in that language, so I don't have a clue what they are singing about. But Finnish people use to be funny sometimes, so it wouldn't surprise me if this band have very funny lyrics. They are at least said to be a cult band in their home country, and the main theme on this album is said to be feminity.
The music is some kind of alternative metal and rock. Sometimes with a touch of heavier punk. And I don't really know how else I should describe them. I guess you have to hear them for yourself to figure out what you think about them. I think they have some good songs here anyway - like "Kraka" and "Saona" (which reminds me a little of our local dirt punk veterans VRÄVARNA) for example. But I get tired of listening to this after a few listenings. Probably becuse everything isn't so good. There are a few weaker tracks (but that's hardly anything unusual, so don't cry for that).
Release date: Oct. 13, 2017 (Inverse Records)
fm2000.org
OCTOBER 12, 2017
Photo
WILD WITCH: The Offering - Album
True classic heavy metal like it sounded back in the 80s. Most of these songs are really good, but my favorites must be "Diabolic Jaws" and "Blades Of Pain".
Yes, this band takes their influences from good old heavy metal, speed metal and hard rock acts like JUDAS PRIEST, SAXON, MOTÖRHEAD, ANGEL WITCH, ACCEPT, IRON MAIDEN, THIN LIZZY, TOKYO BLADE and even VENOM. That doesn't really mean that they sound exactly like any of those bands. But it's something similar. Maybe more like a mixture of the best parts from those bands.
The band was founded in 2011 and comes from Brazil. They released a EP, "Burning Chains", in 2012, which was re-released as a cassette in 2013. "The Offering" is their debut album.
(Arthorium Records)
OCTOBER 12, 2017
Photo
TYMO: Purge & Reset - Album
Much stuff from Canada lately. Here's a thrash band from Edmonton, who blend good old 80s thrash with a modern touch. But when I hear the instrumental tune, "Flames To Frost", I think of early IRON MAIDEN (the 2 first albums). Good stuff anyway. There's no doubt about that. Maybe not a masterpiece, but still worth checking out anyway.
Their debut album, "The Lone Wolf", was released in 2015, and "Purge & Reset" is their second album.
tymo.ca
OCTOBER 12, 2017
Photo
HIVE: Fights The Reds - Album or Demo?
Now I'm getting a little confused here. Is there 2 bands called HIVE? Because I reviewed a band from Minneapolis in May, and this band comes from Canada. The band from Minneapolis play 90s crust/hardcore, and this band is said to play sludge. And then we also have the world famous Swedish garage rockers The HIVES. Well, it's hardly the first or the last time that there's a band with the same name as a other band.
So, what about the music then? Are they any good at all&63; Well, I would say that this is actually not so bad. I think it sounds more like old-school hardcore/punk than sludge though. Even though some songs might be more like sludge. I guess it's a mixture of both then.
These 8 songs are over pretty fast as most of them are between approximately 1 and a half to 3 minutes (1 song is 5,36 minutes though). The sound quality is not the best as it sounds like an old demo tape, but I have heard a lot worse.
The band is currently looking for a record label who wants to release this and upcoming recordings. Maybe they should look for a new name of the band too?
(Self released)
hivecigaretarian.bandcamp.com
OCTOBER 11, 2017
Photo
Liv Sin with Sister Sin LiV SiN: King Of The Damned - Single
Animal liberation! As Swedish hardcore/punk legends MOB 47 sang in the 80s (among many other songs about animals rights). And now it seems like the metal community has finally woke up and figured out that this is something important to sing about. Because this is exactly what this song is about. A call to the public to do something about the extermination of animals and nature. And all money they get from their Bandcamp page are actually going to the Swedish animals right organization Djurens R&aunml;tt.
And now that you know that you probably want to know if the song is any good or not. Well, what do you think? Her debut album, "Follow Me", which was released earlier this year, was damned good. And if this is a taste of what to come in the future, then I won't worry anyway.
(Despotz Records)
facebook.com/livsinmusic
OCTOBER 11, 2017
Photo
A DEVIL'S DIN: One Hallucination Under God - Album
To just call this rock won't give you the whole picture of this Montreal trio. What they paint is a landscape of 60s rock, progressive rock and psychedelic rock. There might also have been some illegal substance involved while they got inspiration from artists like The BEATLES, Syd Barret-era PINK FLOYD, early BLACK SABBATH and The BYRDS.
I like what I hear and think that all retro rockers should give this band a chance. It seems like it's just availabale digitally though, which is a shame. Stuff like this should be on vinyl!
This is their 3rd album. They have previously released "One Day All This Will Be Yours" in 2011 and "Skylight" in 2016.
adevilsdin.com
OCTOBER 10, 2017
Photo
DEXTRESS: Dextress - Album
Typical 80s hard rock with a singer that try to sound like Vince Neil and Sebastian Bach. The chorus in the first song consist of 1 line that is repeated a million times. But the rest of the songs is much better. I guess we can call this sleaze/hard rock, and it could actually be worth a try, because they have many good songs among these 10 tracks. If you're a fan of 80s bands like VAN HALEN, GUNS N' ROSES and MÖTLEY CRÜE, then this is a band for you.
DEXTRESS comes from Calgary, Canada, and this is their debut album (they started in 2011 already though). I look forward to hear some more from them in a near future.
dextressband.com
OCTOBER 10, 2017
Photo
DOM ZLY: Dom Zly - EP
They start with 20 seconds of some totally useless crap (just some talking in a language I don't understand) that shouldn't even have been included here. And they end the whole thing with a song that is 8 minutes. But between that we get some songs with more normal length (2,23-5,28 minutes).
Their hardcore/crustcore is very dark and heavy. Not the way that I'm used to when it comes to eastern European hardcore bands. But it's other times now. Obviously. It actually reminds me a little of AMEBIX somehow. So I guess that fans of that band should give this a try.
This band is just about a year old, and they are from Poland. Not so hard to figure out that this is their debut then I guess?
Release Date: Oct. 13, 2017 (Unquiet Records)
facebook.com/domzlydom
OCTOBER 10, 2017
Photo
GREY WOLF: The Beginning - Album
Compilation with as much as 22 tracks of demo and live recordings, plus 2 previously unreleased tracks. Unfortunately they doesn't seems to have done that much to make the sound quality better (even if they say that this material have been remastered and so on). They say that the live tracks are actually recorded with a smartphone.
Their music is some kind of epic war heavy metal that sounds like a cheap copy of early MANOWAR. So I guess that they are GREY WOLF's big idols. The singer in this band is far away from as good as Eric Adams though, but he's o.k. with the limited voice that he got. I find it hard to believe that anybody will listen to this more than just a few times though.
The story of the GREY WOLF begins in the year 2012 somewhere in Brazil. They released as much as 6 demo recordings between 2012-2013 (but then there can't have been more than 2-4 songs per demo), and have released 3 full length albums between 2014-2016. So they seems to be a hard working band.
(Arthorium Records)
OCTOBER 9, 2017
Photo
FOZZY: Judas - Album
I don't really know, but this is another one of these modern metal rock bands. It doesn't suck completely, but I'm not impressed either. Maybe if it would have been a EP with 3-4 songs. But a whole album? No..
But o.k., I can admit that this album grow a little the more I listen to it, but it hardly makes it a masterpiece. I don't like the nu metal song "Three Days In Jail", but "Drinkin With Jesus" and a couple of more songs are pretty good.
This band released their first self titled album in 2000, so they are hardly a new band. They have released several albums since then. And the biggest succees so far is "Do You Wanna Start A War" from 2014 (#54 on the Billboard 200).
European release date: Oct. 13, 2017 (Century Media)
fozzyrock.com
OCTOBER 9, 2017
Photo
HÄLLAS: Excerpts From The Future Past - Album
What we have here is probably best described as some kind of progressive 70s hard rock/heavy metal. The titles are all in English, but the funny thing is that the first times I heard this it didn't sound like he sang in English at all. Which was a little weird.
Now I have been listening to this album so many times that I got used to his voice, so it doesn't really sound that weird anymore. And the music was good already the first times I heard them, so no problem there anyway.
HÄLLAS are from Sweden, and this is their debut album. I think that fans of bands like URIAH HEEP would like this. Not that it's exactly like them, but something similar at least, even though HÄLLAS tend to be more psychedelic sometimes.
Release date: Oct. 13, 2017 (The Sign Records)
OCTOBER 8, 2017
Photo
ODRADEK ROOM: A Man Of Slit - Album
Looks like we have some progressive Sunday sailors here again. Some kind of atmospheric metal for the 7 seas, even though there's some harsh outbursts here and there. They call it Prog Doom (for some reason). The band comes from Ukraine, and this is their second full length.
8 songs is what we get here, and I guess it's o.k. It's far away from the worst I have heared anyway.
Release date: Oct. 12, 2017 (Hypnotic Dirge Records/Solitude Productions)
OCTOBER 8, 2017
Photo
R.I.P.: Street Reaper - Album
Isn't there already a heavy metal band named R.I.P.? What this band play is what they call street doom. I think they prove how thin the line between doom and stoner can be. Because to me this could just as well be called stoner rock. But anyway..
This band try hard to be as cool and heavy as all their idols. And they are probably as stoned as them too. They might not be the most exiting band on the planet, but they are definitely not bad either. So I guess they are 1 of these bands who are just o.k., and no more no less. That should not stop you from giving them a try though.
Release date: Oct. 13, 2017 (RidingEasy Records)
OCTOBER 8, 2017
Photo
TERRA INCOGNITA: Sign With Blood - EP
4 damned good heavy metal songs is what we get from this New York band. This is definitely something that you should check out! There's no doubt at all about that. And my favorite must be the second track, which I think is "Congueror" (it just says "Track 2" in my playlist).
This band doesn't just play the traditional kind of heavy metal, but blend different subgenres. So there's variation between these songs, but not so much that it sounds like a totally different band.
This group was born in 2010. But it just last for a few years before they went into a 2-year hiatus. They succeeded to release a album during those years though. In 2015 they were back again, and they are currently working on their second album, "Fragments of a Ruined Mind". "Sign With Blood" was recorded in 2016.
terraincwgnita.com
OCTOBER 8, 2017
Photo
TWINGIANT: Blood Feud - Album
TWINGIANT continue to play loud and heavy on their 3rd full length album. And as you probably can figure out for yourself, we talk about heavier metal with influences from stoner, sludge and doom. But it's not just shit heavy and boring or a hell of a noise. No, this is actually pretty catchy stuff. So I really like what I hear.
I actually reviewed this band in January (a split cassette with INTO THE STORM), but I didn't have that much to say then. It was just 2 songs from each band, and I didn't think it was something that you must have. This album is definitely more interesting though, so it could absolutely be worth a chance (or 6).
Release date: Oct. 13, 2017 (Argonauta Records)
twingiant.com
OCTOBER 8, 2017
Photo
V1: Armageddon, End Of The Beginning - Album
This band was actually formed for the first time in 1978 already by former IRON MAIDEN members Dennis Willcock (vocals) and Terry Wapram (guitar). After almost 40 years they have decided to come back with a new lineup, and finally release a album.
This album consist of new recordings of old material, which most people probably never have heard. And the music is a mixture of 70s/80s hard rock and heavy metal, which all fans of NWOBHM probably will like.
I think most of these 12 tracks are good. It's not like IRON MAIDEN, because this band did their own thing. But it can still be worth checking out.
Release date: Oct. 13, 2017 (Frog Juice Production)
OCTOBER 8, 2017
Take Me To The Top   Back to page 5
This site has been online since 2001.
All reviews and photos/images by Jimmy Blom.