skull HARD ROCK INFO skull
HOME | NEWS | REVIEWS | PHOTOS | LINKS | CONTACT
REVIEWS 2016 (Page 6)
Back to page 5   Next page
GRAHAM BONNET BAND: The Book - Double album
You could easily think that Graham Bonnet (ALCATRAZZ, RAINBOW, MSG) have too much material left when he release a double album. But fact is that it's just disc 1 who has the new songs, while disc 2 consist of re-recordings of old numbers from his long career as a rock singer. I can't help thinking that it seems a little desperate (or maybe I'm just trying to be funny). It's a little like: "You have to love me! If you don't like my new songs, just listen to what I've done in the past. Maybe you like that better?". But I don't know if he have to worry that much about that. He's already a legend, and there's nothing wrong with his new material, which is the finest kind of melodic hard rock. But sure, his old material will always be much better. But I guess that's just because of nostalgia.
Why don't you just check this out instead of reading what I think about it?
(Frontiers Music)
NOV. 17, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SOULBURN: Earthless Pagan Spirit - Album
Wasn't their last album, "The Suffocating Darkness" (2014), much better? This is not exactly bad, oh no, but it's not as good as I expected it to be. And the most useless shit is the last track, "Diary Of A Reaper". Don't ever do that again!
What this Dutch band gives us is pretty raw old school black metal with a twist of doom and death metal, influenced by bands like BATHORY and HELLHAMMER. And if that sounds like something that you would like, then you should definitely try this album.
Release date: November 18, 2016 (Century Media)
NOV. 16, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ZOMBIE RODEO: Cult Leader - EP
ZOMBIE RODEO is what they call a gritty fuzz rock band, and they comes from Helsinki, Finland. It's said that on this EP both music and vocals are much tighter and pronounced than on previous releases from the band. And it's also a more heavy, melodic and diverse feeling.
We get 5 tracks, and I like what I hear. Very good hard rock according to me. And if I should mention a favorite song, I guess it would be the second track, "Silver Medicine".
Release date: November 18, 2016 (Inverse Records)
zombierodeo.org
NOV. 16, 2016
PhotoPhoto
LIGHTNING STRIKES: Lightning Strikes - Album
"Can't Cross The Rainbow" sounds like DIO. And many of the other songs reminds me of good old RAINBOW and DEEP PURPLE (they do a cover of "Our Lady").
This Southern California band originally formed in 1985, but due to line-up problems it didn't last for too long that time. They released a single though.
Now the band is back with original members Karpis Maksudian (drums) and bassist Cat Tate, as well as the new members Rob Math (guitar, LEATHERWOLF, PLAYER) and Brazilian vocalist Nando Fernandes (HANGAR). Derek Sherinian (DREAM THEATER, KISS) play keyboards on some of the songs, and there's also guest vocals from Tony Martin (BLACK SABBATH) and a Japanese called Noah (AVANCHICK).
Most of these songs are really good, so this is really something that you have to hear.
Release date: November 18, 2016 (Pure Legend Records)
lightningstrikesrocks.com
NOV. 15, 2016
PhotoPhoto
BRUTUS: Wandering Blind - Album
Photo
I got this record after their gig at Klubb Undergrunden here in Borås, Sweden on November 5. And just as I wrote about that show, it's a mixture of early BLACK SABBATH and GRAVEYARD. And the singer reminds me of a young Ozzy Osbourne. The band mention BLUE CHEER, CREAM, PENTAGRAM, GRAND FUNK RAILROAD and Johnny Winter as their influences. So in other words you could say that what they play is simply heavy 70s blues rock.
The band is based in Oslo, Norway, but if I got it right there's members from Sweden (Ulricehamn and Göteborg) too.
It's damned good of course, so I can't really see any reason why you should not check this out.
(Svart Records)
brutusband.com
NOV. 14, 2016
PhotoPhoto
Killed By Deathrock Vol. 2 - Album
TURBONEGRO used to call their music death punk, but that there was a whole genre called deathrock was actually unknown to me. But after the first wave of punk rock bands made their impression on the youth of the late 1970s, subgenres quickly emerged. Genres we now recognize as post-punk, goth rock and industrial seems to be what they call deathrock. And most of the 10 songs on this compilation sounds like post-punk or new wave to me. Sometimes with a little crazy touch. But I like what I hear anyway.
Volume 1 was released in 2014 to document an entire scene of more or less unknown bands in this sub genre. On volume 2 you get the chance to hear underground bands from Denmark, UK, Belgium, California and Colorado.
(Sacred Bones Records)
NOV. 13, 2016
PhotoPhoto
THUNDERMOTHER: Hellevator - Single
Photo
Seems like THUNDERMOTHER are working on a new album, but it will probably take some time before it's finished because they're touring so much. This is the first single from that upcoming album anyway. And it's the same good old hard rock n roll that we use to get from these women. Damned good in other words, and something that you definietly should check out.
(Despotz Records)
thundermother.com
NOV. 12, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SATAN TAKES A HOLIDAY: The Beat - Single
Another Swedish rock band who try to be cool. This is the first single from their upcoming album, "Aliens". Their music is described as a mixture of rock n roll, 60s garage rock and 70s groove. They're said to be 1 of the best live acts here in Sweden, but I know nothing about that (I missed them when they were here in Borås, probably something more interesting to do).
Pretty o.k. Could be worth a try.
(Despotz Records)
satantakesaholiday.com
NOV. 12, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DARK CLARITY: Dark Clarity - EP
Melodic heavy rock band from Lahti, Finland they say. Formed in 2008. Their music is said to be influenced by 80s heavy rock and hard rock. This is their first official release.
To me this sounds more like melodic hard rock than heavy rock, but I guess that can be the same thing in one way or another. Both songs are good anyway, and that's more important than how you describe their music.
Worth checking out.
(Inverse Records)
facebook.com/Darkclarity
NOV. 11, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DRAUGGARD: WyrdWeorc - Album
Russian/Austrian black metal band who formed in 2003 in Nizhny Novgorod, Russia. 10 years later they released their first album, "Da Nobis Tenebras". This is their second album.
They have their own unique sound somehow. It's almost progressive sometimes, but hardly the worst kind of nursery school for adults (if you get what I mean). Not bad, but I have definitely heard better black metal in my life.
Release date: to be announced.. (Unexploded Records)
wordpress.drauggard.com
NOV. 11, 2016
PhotoPhoto
AVULSED: Deathgeneration - Double album
Spanish death metallers AVULSED celebrate their 25th anniversary with a double collection filled with 36 tracks. The first disc consist of re-recordings with special guests like Per Boder (GOD MACABRE), Chris Reifert (AUTOPSY), Svencho (ABORTED), Rogga Johansson (PAGANIZER etc. etc.), Johan Jansson (INTERMENT), Ville Koskela (PURTENANCE), Tomas Lindgren (AT THE GATES etc.), Kam Lee (ex-MASSACRE) just to name a few of them all. The second disc includes the original recordings of the same songs, but in a different order.
They have made some good songs through the years, there's no doubt about that. Everything might not be great, but I have definitely heard worse than this. So this can absolutely be worth to get.
(Xtreem Music)
facebook.com/1991Avulsed
NOV. 10, 2016
PhotoPhoto
KILLING ADDICTION: Shores Of Oblivion - MCD
How unusual with some death metal.. Well, maybe not. But why complain? It's better than let's say progressive rock or noise anyway.
Here's 4 songs with a band from Florida, who play in the heavier league. They take their influences from European bands like CARCASS and GRAVE, and blend it with the American sound of ROTTREVORE and ICANTATION. It's not bad at all, so this could be worth listening to.
(Xtreem Music)
facebook.com/killingaddiction
NOV. 10, 2016
PhotoPhoto
CITIES OF MARS: Celestial Mistress - 12" EP
Yet another heavy band with eternity songs..
CITIES OF MARS is a heavy psychedelic/fuzz/doom trio hailing from Gothenburg, Sweden, and was formed in 2014. Their first record, "Cyclopean Ritual/The Third Eye EP", was released in August 2015. This is their second record. And as the songs are so long (around 7-11 minutes), there's just 3 tracks on this record. But it's 3 good songs anyway, so this can actually be worth checking out.
(Suicide Records)
citiesofmars.se
NOV. 9, 2016
PhotoPhoto
FURIA: Ksiçzyc Milczy Luty - Album
I start to think that it's another boring heavy instrumental band, but towards the end of the first song there's finally some vocals. The rest of the songs got more vocals though, but that doesn't help much. Hard and heavy black metal (or Nekrofolk as somebody called it) in mid-tempo isn't really my idea of fun. This is actually pretty boring music. I guess it wasn't made for me.
This is the fifth album from this Polish band, and they have been torturing people's ears since 2003.
Release date: November 14, 2016 (Pagan Records)
let-the-world-burn.org
NOV. 9, 2016
PhotoPhoto
BROWN ACID: The Third Trip - Album
Instead of listening to new bands trying to sound like it did in the 60s/70s, here's the real deal. A compilation album filled with hard rock, heavy psych and proto-metal bands who actually existed during the 60s/70s. I guess it's no idea to mention any names here, because most of you have probebly never even heard of these bands before. But it's really good stuff anyway, so you should check this out of course. No doubt about that!
I already look forward to the fourth trip.
Release date: November 11, 2016 (RidingEasy)
NOV. 8, 2016
PhotoPhoto
POHJOISEN SOTURIT: Oksat Pois... Ja Osa Latvuksista - Album
In 2003 2 Finnish brothers - Anssi (vocals/guitar) and Ossi (drums) - decided that they wanted to start playing some angry Finnish metal together. Later a bassist and a second guitarist joined the brothers of metal. 4 demo recordings was released between 2005 and 2011. After some lineup changes the band was ready for their first full length album, where most of the material is re-recordings of old songs.
Hard and heavy stuff with Finnish anger is a pretty good description to this. Not bad, but I have heard better. The best song is "Juopoittelu".
Release date: November 11, 2016 (Inverse Records)
facebook.com/Pohjoisen-Soturit-246211578765754
NOV. 8, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DOMKRAFT: The End Of Electricity - Album
DOMKRAFT combines the Swedish words judgement (DOM) and power (KRAFT). But domkraft also means jack.
The music this Swedish power trio gives us is heavy and powerful doom. Their songs are between 1.41 to 10.30 minutes. Their influences are SPACEMEN 3, MONSTER MAGNET, SLEEP and HAWKWIND.
Not bad at all. Let's give it a try!
Well, I don't know.. I can't come up with anything else but that.
Release date: November 11, 2016 (Magnetic Eye)
NOV. 7, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DIABOL BORUTA: Widziadla - Album
Some kind of folk metal from Poland, with lyrics in Polish. I have heard better in this genre, but worse too. I think the drums sounds like shit, so the best parts are when there's no drums, which isn't too often.
Folk metal usually makes you want to party, but this is somehow a little darker, so I don't feel like drinking when I listen to this album.
Now it might sound like this album is worthless, but it's not really that bad. I'm pretty sure that it would be a little better if it would have had a better production (but I know that it's not exactly free to enter a good studio).
Release date: November 11, 2016 (Pure Underground Records)
diabolboruta.pl
NOV. 7, 2016
PhotoPhoto
BRUTUS, PARAGUAii and PARALLELL at Klubb Undergrunden/Pulsen in Borås, Sweden on November 5, 2016
I didn't really get the 2 first bands, PARALLELL and PARAGUAii. The only good band this night was BRUTUS. How fun is it with instrumental 70s rock (PARALLELL) or experimental/progressive rock (PARAGUAii)? 70s rock can be damned good, but then there have to be vocals, like BRUTUS had. But some people seemed to like those 2 first bands, so who am I to judge? We all have different taste.
BRUTUS was a new band for me, and they were really good. Somebody described their music as the 2 first albums with BLACK SABBATH. Somebody else added GRAVEYARD. And I think that's a good description. The singer reminded me of a young Ozzy actually. A band that you just have to check out of course.
Brutus

Brutus

Brutus

Brutus

Brutus

Brutus
brutusband.com
NOV. 6, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ARKONA: Vozrozhdenie - Album
ARKONA's debut album, "Vozrozhdenie", was originally released in 2004, but has now been re-recorded for some reason that I don't know or understand. What they play is pagan/folk metal with female vocals (even though there's some male brutal vocals too once in a while) in Russian. O.k., but not much else. If they want me to like them, then I think they should get rid of that pagan/folk stuff and learn a language called English. Then it could perhaps be a little bit more interesting.
Release date: November 11, 2016 (Napalm Records)
arkona-russia.com
NOV. 5, 2016
PhotoPhoto
The ANSWER: Solas - Album
O.k., this wasn't really what I expected to hear. Some kind of pretty lame modern rock is what I would call this. They're a little too close to the border to pop sometimes. It's often laid-back and soft. Not all the time though. More hangover than party as I say sometimes. Might be something if you like bands like U2 and INXS?
It seems like this Irish band have been around for 10 years already, and released 5 albums during that time. I have never heard them before though as far as I can remember.
(Napalm Records)
theanswer.ie
NOV. 5, 2016
PhotoPhoto
CALLIGARM: Demimonde - EP
What was that? Oh, nothing but a chaotic black metal quintet from London, who blend in some crust punk energy to make it more powerful. But honestly it doesn't sound too good. 5 tracks is a little too much of this noise. I find it hard to concentrate myself when I listen to this. But I think it works much beetter if you listen to just 1 song at the time, and not all at once.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Cimmerian Shade Records)
facebook.com/calligrammusic
NOV. 4, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DEAD END FINLAND: Slaves To The Greed - Album
This band will celebrate their 10th anniversary next year, and this is their third album. Their music is best described as some kind of modern electronic/pop metal. Or melodic metal if you prefer that description. Pretty good actually, but I don't really know what else to say. Let's give it a try, mate.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Inverse Records)
deadendfinland.com
NOV. 4, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DUMB HOLE: Bravest Of The Galaxy - Album
Some kind of melodic hard rock that sounds more like pop sometimes.
This is the debut album from this duo, where they has collaborated with Per Aldeheim (DEF LEPPARD, Nick Carter, LAMBRETTA etc.). Their sound is epic, but always with a catchy melody. It's almost like a journey over high mountains or a cruise on a stormy sea.
Some songs are good, some are not. The best song is "I'm Ready".
Release date: November 7, 2016 (Schäf Records)
NOV. 4, 2016
PhotoPhoto
FLAYED: XI Million - EP
Old-man heavy rock n roll from France. They have released 2 albums: "Symphony For The Flayed" (2014) and "Monster Man" (2015).
This EP was recorded the good old way on analogue tape. We get 4 original songs and a cover of the CREEDENCE CLEARWATER REVIVAL classic "Fortunate Son". Their music is like their own mixture of AC/DC, BLACK SABBATH and DEEP PURPLE. In other words good stuff.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Kaotoxin Records)
flayed-band.com
NOV. 4, 2016
PhotoPhoto
TRALLERY: Spiritless - Album
TRALLERY is supposed to be pronunced as tragedy, which doesn't sound logic to me (but on the other hand I'm not Spansih). And by the way. There is already a band called TRAGEDY.
Too much mid-tempo. Feels like the album last for an eternity. It just simmer without too much action. It doesn' really start to boil too often. But if you like confit, then go ahead. It can be really nice with a confit at this time of the year. (Let's hope that simmer and confit is the right words for what I mean, otherwise blame Google translate).
This trio comes from Mallorca in Spain, and formed in 2009. They have a wide range of influences in their sound, ranging from thrash, death, groove metal to rock.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Art Gates Records)
trallery.com
NOV. 4, 2016
PhotoPhoto
WARFIST: Metal To The Bone - Album
How about some blackened thrash metal? That's not so bad is it?
It seems like this Polish trio have been around for over a decade. This is just their second album though. There have been many split releases, demos and a EP, "HellTyrant Rising" (2008). Their debut album, "The Devil Lives In Grünberg", came out in 2014.
The music could be described as a lovechild between MOTÖRHEAD and SODOM who worship VENOM. It's raw, brutal and dirty. Not bad at all.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Godz ov War Productions)
facebook.com/warfisthorde
NOV. 4, 2016
PhotoPhoto
TWIN PIGS: Chaos, Baby! - Album
Well, as I said when I reviewed their first single, "Got Enough" - This is a Swedish punk rock band with female and male members from GAMLA PENGAR, TIGER BELL, INKVISATIONEN and BESSERBITCH. Even though it's good old punk rock, the vocals is pretty angry. Which gives it a touch of hardcore/punk. But it's still very catchy and pogo friendly.
Well, it's not so bad, so why don't you give it a try?
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Luftslott Records)
NOV. 3, 2016
PhotoPhoto
TIEBREAKER: Death Tunes - Album
If I'm not totally wrong, I think I liked their last album actually. But this album is not as good as that album was. The first times it just blew in through 1 ear and out through the other. I couldn't remember anything! But after the third or fourth time it was much better.
TIEBREAKER is 1 of these new Norwegian bands that people have been lyrical about during the last couple of years. Their first EP was released in 2012, and their debut album, "We Come From The Mountains", in 2014. Their music is described as explosive rock n roll. But more like 1 foot in yesterday (the 70s) and 1 foot in today. Hardly any death tunes, but worth checking out.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Karisma Records)
tiebreakerofficial.com
NOV. 3, 2016
PhotoPhoto
TYRON: Rebels Shall Conquer - Album
TYRON was founded in 2008 as LILITH LAYING DOWN. They changed the name in 2014 after 2 CDs.
Their music is heavy/thrash metal. A little like a mixture of ICED EARTH, METALLICA and PANTERA. In other words it's hard and heavy, but yet progressive somehow.
They seems to know how to do this, and they have many good songs on this album, so it could be worth checking out. What I miss though is a song that is extra good. Because I can't find it here.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Iron Shield Records)
tyron.band
NOV. 3, 2016
PhotoPhoto
MÖTLEY CRÜE: The End Live In Los Angeles - Album/DVD/Blu-Ray
I have actually reviewed MÖTLEY CRÜE before many years ago. Then it was a compilation that I don't really know why you should get, when there's so many better compilations with them. But anyway.. Here's a recording from their last ever concert in L.A. on New Year's Eve 2015, and we get all the hits and classics that we can expect. But I don't really know what songs like "Primal Scream", "Motherfucker Of The Year" and "Saints Of Los Angeles" has to do in the set list. Everybody should know that everything after the " Dr. Feelgood" album is weaker material.
And I guess many of you have heard about how bad Vince Neil was singing on the last tour. And yes, unfortunately it's not 100% all the time here either. It seems to be very hard for him to follow the right vocal melody (if you get what I mean) in some of the songs (not all). So listening to this is not as funny as it should be because of that. But luckily the other members seems to know what they're doing at least (not that I've been listening so hard to that).
MÖTLEY CRÜE was as best in the 80s, and this farewell will hardly change that.
R.I.P. MÖTLEY CRÜE 1981-2015.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Eagle Rock Entertainment)
motley.com
NOV. 2, 2016
PhotoPhoto
HAMMERFALL: Built To Last - Album
Photo
Long time since I heard a new album with HAMMERFALL. Could it be something like 2011 or something like that? Not much has happened with their music since then. This is not the kind of band who try new things. But I don't see that as a problem. They have been around for so long now that they know what the audience want, and what they want themselves. Luckily it happens to be the same thing in this case: Good old classic heavy metal without any extra ingredients. I like it!
This band has existed for something like 20 years now, and this is their 10th album.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Napalm Records)
hammerfall.net
NOV. 2, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DARK TRANQUILLITY: Atoma - Album
While some bands seems to want to change their music, and take it in a other direction, DARK TRANQUILLITY keep on doing what they do best. Which still is melodic death metal with the roots in the well-known Gothenburg sound. Now I don't mean that they sound exactly like they did 20 years ago, because they have developed through the 27 years that the band have existed. But they're still true to their roots, and haven't changed style too much.
But if you actually want something different from this band, then I recomend you the deluxe edition of this album, where you get 2 bonus tracks that are very different. Soft, slow and clean vocals all the way. Almost ballads.
It's already 3 years since their last album, "Construct", was released. And I don't think I have been listening to DARK TRANQUILLITY since then.
"Atoma" is their 11th studio album, and it's a really good album that you should check out.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Century Media)
darktranquillity.com
NOV. 1, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SICK OF IT ALL: When The Smoke Clears - EP
This New York hardcore legends is celebrating their 30-year anniversary with this EP. It will be released as a limited Deluxe 10" vinyl with CD plus Artbook, as well as digitally.
We get 5 brand new tracks in good old style. And what I like with this band is that there's more punk than metal in their songs. Another good thing is that these songs are no longer than approximately 2 minutes. Why fool around when it's better with a direct hit?
1 thing that is a little irritating is those damned gang choirs in every song.
Release date: November 4, 2016 (Century Media)
sickofitall.com
NOV. 1, 2016
PhotoPhoto
AZOOMA: The Act Of Eye - Album
Progressive death metal just doesn't work for me.. I have said it before: It doesn't matter how brilliant you are at your instrument if you can't make good songs. But just because it's too advanced for me (or whatever it can be), it doesn't mean that you won't like it. We're all different. And it wouldn't surprise me if everybody else will raise this album to the skies.
This is the first album with this band, who comes from Iran. They blend brutality and melodies like they had been doing this for several years. Their influences comes from NILE, CARCASS, DEATH, GORGUTS, early OPETH and MORBID ANGEL.
(Xtreem Music)
facebook.com/AzoomaOfficial
OCTOBER 31, 2016
PhotoPhoto
NEKROMANTIX: A Symphony Of Wolf Tones & Ghost Notes - Album
You can really hear that this psychobilly trio comes from Denmark. But I guess that's a bit of the charm with this band.
This is actually their 9th album, so it's hardly a new band we have here. They formed back in 1989 already, and their music is described as a cocktail of dirty rock n roll, punk and rockabilly, which they spice up with a love to monsters, zombies and bad horror movies. They have become a cult act through the years.
Not bad at all..
(Hellcat Records/Epitaph)
OCTOBER 31, 2016
PhotoPhoto
VVORSE: Näkyjä Helvetistä - Album
Some kind of dark hardcore/crust punk from Finland. Sometimes mixed with some sludge to make it heavier. Sounds more or less the same all the time to me. But it's not easy to do something different in this genre. The only differance from Swedish bands who play similar stuff is that VVORSE sing in Finnish. Otherwise nothing new at all. It's not bad, but I have heard better bands in this genre. You should still give it a try though.
(Inverse Records)
facebook.com/vvorseband
OCTOBER 31, 2016
PhotoPhoto
HARDLINE: Human Nature - Album
HARDLINE evolved from being a Sunset Strip sensation featuring brothers Johnny and Joey Gioeli to a supergroup of sorts, featuring former BAD ENGLISH members Neal Schon and Deen Castronovo, as well as Josh Ramos (The STORM), Anna Portalupi (Tarja) and Francesco Jovino (PRIMAL FEAR, JORN). Combine that with the production and songwriting skills of Alessandro Del Vecchio (RATED X, RESURRECTION KINGS, REVOLUTION SAINTS) and you have a dream team (more or less).
This band actually released their debut album, "Double Eclipse", in 1992 already. And the goal with this album was to have a heavier and updated sound.
The music is melodic hard rock in 80s style. So if you like that, then this is definitely a band for you.
(Frontiers Music)
OCTOBER 30, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SECRET SPHERE: One Night In Tokyo - Album
16 tracks! The only excuse for that is that it's a live album.
They begin the whole thing with a 3 and a half minutes intro. So damned boring!
I don't think that this was meant to be funny, but I find a couple of things that you just have to laugh at. Like when the singer throw away kisses loudly or when he's shouting "meow, meow, meow" like a cat for example. Very funny. And he does it a lot. Hardly just 3-4 times. Very weird behaviour.
SECRET SPHERE might not be so well-known in other countries, but it seems like they're very popular in Japan anyway.
But let's talk about the music now. Well, it's melodic power metal from Italy, and it sounds o.k. to me. That's actually all I have to say about that.
(Frontiers Music)
OCTOBER 30, 2016
PhotoPhoto
TYKETTO: Reach - Album
What am I going to say about this then? Melodic hard rock that doesn't sound so bad. Another record that I find it hard to say anything wise about..
Seems like it's been 5 years on the road since their last album. But in the spring of 2016 they went back to the studio again to record this album. They say that they have a new energy, and that all members have pushed each other beyond their limits. Well, I can't remember if I have ever heard this band before, so I know nothing about that. But it's a good album anyway.
TYKETTO will be back on the road again in November/December.
(Frontiers Music)
OCTOBER 30, 2016
PhotoPhoto
UBUREN: Fra Døden Fødes Liv - Album
Norwegian black/Viking metal in the more primitive league. And honestly I have heard better than this. Not that it's totally useless, but it's not more than just o.k. either.
The lyrics are both in English and Norwegian.
It's said to fit fans of ENSLAVED and BATHORY. I would like to add BURZUM too (not that it's that primitive).
Release date: October 31, 2016 (Via Nocturna)
youtube.com/watch?v=iy9ETeLCjW8
OCTOBER 29, 2016
PhotoPhoto
JUNIOR BRUCE: Endless Descent - Album
..and yet another heavy rock band. There seems to be a whole jungle of these bands nowadays. And this band might not sound any different from any of the other bands in the sludge/stoner/doom genre, but it's good, so I don't really have anything to complain about anyway. On the other hand there's not that much interesting to say either. So just let the music do the talking instead. Because if you like heavy rock, then you should like JUNIOR BRUCE too.
The band formed in 2007 from the ashes of Floridian heavyweights BLOODLET, and this is their first full-length since their 2012 debut "The Headless King".
Release date: October 31, 2016 (A389 Recordings)
OCTOBER 29, 2016
PhotoPhoto
FORNICUS: Hymns Of Dominion - Album
FORNICUS was born in late 2012 in the American bible belt (Kentucky). "Hymns Of Dominion" is their second full length, and it's hardly any gospel that they play. No, this is black/death metal. It's hard, fast and brutal. Just the way it should be when you play this kind of stuff. And I really like what I hear. This is yet another album that you just have to check out. I'm pretty sure that both black metallers and death metallers will like this.
Release date: October 31, 2016 (Negative Earth Records)
facebook.com/fornicus666
OCTOBER 29, 2016
PhotoPhoto
AXIS OF DESPAIR: Mankind Crawls - EP
This group features former and present members of Swedish bands like NASUM, COLDWORKER, INFANTICIDE, VOLTURYON, LIVET SOM INSATS, NERVGIFT and OVERTORTURE. And if you know those bands, then I guess it's not so hard to figure out that it's grindcore we talk about here. Old school and raw grindcore to be more specific. More hardcore/punk than metal is another way to describe it.
It's a very short record (about 10-12 minutes I think). The songs are between 53 seconds to 2.29 minutes. In your face without any kind of excuse. Just like it should be.
(Give Praise Records)
OCTOBER 28, 2016
PhotoPhoto
BURIAL HORDES: Extinction - EP
A brutal mix of black and death metal from Greece, but yet not chaotic. Sure it's hateful and dark, but there's still a melody in these 4 songs.
I think both those who like death metal as well as those who like old-school black metal are going to like this.
The band have been around since 2001, and released their first album, "War, Revenge And Total Annihilation", in 2005.
Worth checking out!
(Folter Records)
facebook.com/BurialHordesOfficial
OCTOBER 28, 2016
PhotoPhoto
KINGDOM: Sepulchral Psalms From The Abyss Of Torment - Album
Blackened death metal from Poland. A country that has given us bands like VADER and BEHEMOTH for example. This band is compared with KRISIUN, ANGELCORPSE and BLACK WITCHERY though.
This is the third album from the KINGDOM, and it's like an iron fist straight in your face.
I like this band, so check it out!
(Godz ov War Productions)
facebook.com/kingdomtempleofdeath
OCTOBER 28, 2016
PhotoPhoto
THOUGHT VOMIT: Punks Brutal Retaliation/Sync The Skies - Album
This is their fourth self produced studio album. Their mixture of punk and thrash metal smells like blood, sweat and beers in a very small venue filled with too much people who are going berzerk.
Some songs are pretty o.k., but not much else. And what they're doing in the last songs are a good question. It's not punk or thrash anyway. Just useless crap. And the last song is 11.40 minutes long!
(Self released)
OCTOBER 28, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ZIX: Tides Of The Final War - Album
Female-fronted classic heavy metal from Lebanon. That's not something that you hear every day.
This is their debut album, where they have menaged to get guest apperances from people like Tony Martin (BLACK SABBATH), Blaze Bayley (IRON MAIDEN), Paul Di'Anno (IRON MAIDEN), Ross The Boss (MANOWAR) etc. etc. There's a lot of really strong songs here, so this is definitely something that could be worth a chance or two (or maybe 3 or 4 then).
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Pure Steel Records)
facebook.com/Zixband
OCTOBER 27, 2016
PhotoPhoto
The WELL: Pagan Science - Album
Psychedelic 60s/70s blues rock that sounds like a mixture of HAWKWIND and BLACK SABBATH. People who like 60s/70s rock, doom and so called heavy psych should love this band, because they're damned good at what they're doing. I really like what I hear! And so should you.
The WELL is a female/male trio from Austin, and that's all I know about them.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (RidingEasy)
OCTOBER 27, 2016
PhotoPhoto
MINDGHOST: The Anti-Citizen - Album
MINDGHOST comes from Alingsås and Borås, Sweden. They play some kind of modern heavier metal with influences from classic hard rock from the 80s. And it works pretty good somehow, and they have a couple of good songs. But I never get the feeling that they have any potential hit to deliver. And then they get help from Blaze Bayley (ex-IRON MAIDEN) in 1 song, who seems to be everywhere these days, which might impress. But not even that helps.
It's not a useless album, but maybe they should listen some more to those classics from the 80s? And every song doesn't have to be in mid-tempo. Speed it up once in a while for example.
Release date: October 27, 2016
OCTOBER 27, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DEMON: Cemetery Junction - Album
This band formed during the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal era, and released their first single, "Liar", in 1980. Their debut album, "Night Of The Demon", was released the year after that. And a couple of more albums was released, until "Blow-Out", who came out in 1992. It was time for a break. But in 1997 it was time to regroup. It wasn't until 2001 that they released a new album though.
They might have played heavy metal in the beginning of their career, but this album sounds more like something from Frontiers Music. Which means melodic hard rock. And that's not so bad either.
Well, I can't deny that they have many good songs among these 11 tracks. So I guess this can be worth checking out if you like melodic hard rock.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Spaced Out Music)
OCTOBER 27, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SNAGGLETOOTH: A Tribute To Lemmy - Album
Photo
There's not just MOTÖRHEAD classics on this tribute album. There's also some other stuff, like HAWKWIND for example. And there's also 3 tracks with Lemmy himself: "Tie Your Mother Down" by QUEEN, a duet with Doro Pesch and a rare duet with Richard Kruspe from RAMMSTEIN.
Bands who perform their favorite Lemmy songs are OVERKILL, ONSLAUGHT, UGLY KID JOE (featuring MOTÖRHEAD guitarist Phil Campbell), KÄRBHOLZ, DESTRUCTION, PERZONAL WAR, KORPIKLANI, MONSTER MAGNET and last but not least BLACK EXPLOSION who does a song inspired by early HAWKWIND (funny dudes).
Good for being a tribute album, but I'm still waiting for Lemmy's solo album. Will it ever be released?
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Metalville)
OCTOBER 26, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ART X: The Redemption Of Cain - Album
O.k., here's an ambitious project. It's actually another classic rock opera, but the music is best described as symphonic metal. Among the singers are Gabriele Bernasconi (CLAIRVOYANTS), Zak Stevens (SAVATAGE, CIIC), Andre Matos (ANGRA, SHAMAN), Blaze Bayley (IRON MAIDEN, WOLFSBANE), Amanda Sommerville (AVANTASIA), Roberto Tiranti (LABIRINTH) and Tim Aymar (CONTROL DENIED, PHARAOH). The musicians comes from bands like NOVEMBRE, TESTAMENT, DORO and KAMELOT.
It's a pretty long album, that last for 57.42 minutes. Everything might not be great, but most of these songs are o.k. Not much else though.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Metalville)
OCTOBER 26, 2016
PhotoPhoto
PERZONAL WAR: Inside The New Time Chaoz - Album
Reminds me a lot of METALLICA actually. But more like middle-age thrash metal. Which means more heaviness than speed. But that works too.
This band celebrate their 20-year anniversary with this album, which contains re-recordings of 11 tracks from their early days - 5 songs from ""The Inside" (1998) and 6 songs from "NewTimeChaos" (2000). Both these albums are sold out, and have never been released outside of Germany (where the band comes from). So this could be something if you're intrested in their early recordings.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Metalville)
OCTOBER 26, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SATANS KADAVER: Det Allseende Brunögat - Album
Another odd punk/metal band from Uppsala, Sweden (you might remember MUMINCUNT from last month). This band is inspired by "everything from extraterrestrial Autoeroticism to supernatural sex and wet dreams from the depths of the sea". All lyrics are in Swedish, and the band's musical influences are "rooted in everything from classic punk to today's more extreme manifestation of evil and alienation".
I think their sound is similar to Swedish trallpunk (melodic punk rock). Possibly with a touch of metal in some of the songs. But they have their own twist (the Muppsala twist).
It seems like this band was formed 10 years ago already, but this is actually their first album.
I think it's good music, but I doesn't always get their lyrics. That's the odd thing with this band. But that just makes them special, so it's not a big problem.
People who like Swedish punk should check this out.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (ViciSolum Productions)
facebook.com/satanskadaver
OCTOBER 25, 2016
PhotoPhoto
STIFFY JONES: Narrow Road Of Memories - Album
STIFFY JONES comes from Stockholm, Sweden and formed in 2005. This is their second album.
I don't know why the label call this Celtic/folk punk rock, because this is more like melodic punk rock in the same league as MILLENCOLIN and similar stuff from the States. Which is not so bad either. Celtic punk to me is Swedish bands like SIR REG and FINNEGAN'S HELL (check them out).
They have a couple of really good songs here. No doubt about that. So this is definitely worth checking out.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Odd Note Records)
stiffyjones.com
OCTOBER 25, 2016
PhotoPhoto
NETHERBIRD: The Grander Voyage - Album
After a couple of singles, the fourth full length from this Swedish black/death metal band is here. They're compared with DISSECTION, UNANIMATED and WATAIN. I think their sound is a little progressive actually. But it's a really good sound that black metallers definitely should like. But I also think that death metallers should give this a try. Or any extreme metaller by the way.
It's no short pieces we have to deal with here. Most of the songs are around 7-8 minutes long. But I think it works in this case.
Release date: October 28, 2016 (Black Lodge Records)
netherbird.com
OCTOBER 25, 2016
PhotoPhoto
Dee Snider: We Are The Ones - Album
Dee Snider is most well-known for fronting TWISTED SISTER. But he has also had a solo career and other bands while TWISTED SISTER was on hiatus. This is his third solo album anyway, and he really take the opportunity to do something different than being that screaming maniac that he use to be. This is more laid back somehow. A mixture of rock and softer hard rock. But also some other stuff. Like an acoustic version of his biggest hit ever, "We're Not Gonna Take It", which sounds a bit odd.
The songs I like best is "Over Again" and "Crazy For Nothing". The rest of the songs are either o.k. or not so good. This is hardly the kind of album that you will remember as a classic in the future, but it was somehow fun to hear anyway.
(earMUSIC)
OCTOBER 24, 2016
PhotoPhoto
STATUS QUO: Aquostic II, That's A Fact! - Album
Most of these songs are new versions of old songs, but there's also 3 new songs on this album. And you can always question if we really need acoustic versions of these songs? But on the other hand this is the second acoustic album, so I guess the first album must have been a succees after all.
There's all kinds of instruments involved here (all kinds of string instruments, harmonica, accordian etc.) and even choir girls. And it's not bad, but a little odd in the beginning as I'm used to the original/electric versions of their songs.
And to those of you who are waiting for a new electric album: I think you can forget that. It seems like they will continue to play acoustic in the future. Both on record and live. But you should never say never again.
(earMUSIC)
statusquo.co.uk
OCTOBER 24, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SPIRIT OF THE FOREST: A Void Into The Fields Of Silence/La Natarue Obliqée - Album
And there he sit little Rupert and play on his acoustic guitar. In the background we can hear a string orchestra and people who shout. Might not be the most useless intro that I've heard, but hardly the best either. And this last for 2.43 minutes.
But that was just the calm before the extreme metal storm attack you.
This band comes from Quebec in Canada, and they play dark but pretty melodic black metal with a icy atmosphere. Among their influences are EMPEROR and DISSECTION, but they try to make something on their own out of it. And I must say that it sounds really good to me.
(Scum Productions)
facebook.com/pages/Spirit-of-the-forest/225454954171337
OCTOBER 23, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SPIRITUAL SICKNESS: Spiritual Sickness - EP
American progressive power metal they say.
This EP was originally released in 2014, but is now re-released. I don't know if it's available physically (CD, vinyl) or just digitally. I actually don't know that much at all about the band either. But they released their debut album, "Architects Of Agony", in 2013 anyway.
These 4 songs are good, so give them a chance.
OCTOBER 23, 2016
PhotoPhoto
Kee Marcello: Scaling Up - Album
Acoustic photo
Some of these songs are old stuff that he wrote for EUROPE and EASY ACTION. And "Don't Miss You Much" for example sounds a lot like something that I have already heard with EUROPE (can't really remember where though). There's a lot of really good songs on this album, but all 12 tracks are not so great (nothing is really bad though). If there had been more songs in the same top class as "Don't Miss You Much", then this album would have been excellent all the way. But it's still a great album, so you should definitely check this out. There's no doubt about that.
(Frontiers Music)
keemarcello.com
OCTOBER 22, 2016
PhotoPhoto
NECROVEN: Primordial Subjugation - Album
Another death metal band from Spain. Seems to be a popular genre down there in the sun. This is said to fit fans of MORBID ANGEL, INCANTATION, IMMOLATION, SADISTIC INTENT and DEAD CONGREGATION. So if that sounds like something that you really like, then NECROVEN will be your new favorite band, because this wasn't bad at all.
Release date: October 24, 2016 (Memento Mori)
facebook.com/Necroven-131959596914062
OCTOBER 22, 2016
PhotoPhoto
AGGRESSION: The Full Treatment - Album
Sounds like an old demo tape from the 80s, but this is actually a re-issue of their debut album from 1987.
AGGRESSION is a thrash metal band from Canada, and they're back and working on a new album actually. Try this while you wait for that. Especially if you're looking for true old-school stuff. Then this is definitely a album for you.
(Xtreem Music)
facebook.com/Aggression85
OCTOBER 21, 2016
PhotoPhoto
CEREBRAL FIX: Disaster Of Reality - Album
Thrash metal with a big doze of hardcore/punk like DISCHARGE. The last track, "(Untitled Mystery Track)", doesn't really belong here though. It's just crap.
This is the fifth album from this British crossover band. Their first album in 24 years actually. And those of you who are into bands like D.R.I., NUCLEAR ASSAULT and S.O.D., as well as DISCHARGE and G.B.H., should definitely get this album as soon as possible. This is definitely something for you!
(Xtreem Music)
OCTOBER 21, 2016
PhotoPhoto
NANGILIMA: Shards Of Loss - EP
2 pretty long (10 and 9.45 min.) doom/death metal songs. Really heavy and slow, but yet atmospheric somehow. The band comes from Sweden, and are said to fit perfect for those who like SWALLOW THE SUN, NOVEMBERS DOOM, SATURNUS, INBORN SUFFERING, DOOM:VS and similar stuff. I can't say that it's bands that I use to listen to, but it's actually not so bad at all.
Strictly limited edition to 100 copies on CD-Digipack, and exclusively available through the Xtreem Music mailorder. So act fast if you want 1 (if there is any left).
(Xtreem Music)
facebook.com/nangilimadoom
OCTOBER 21, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN: Dissociation - Album
I don't recomend you to listen to this when you have a hangover. It will only make it worse. But if you're totally sober and want a challange, then this might be something for you.
I guess you can call this metalcore, but there's much more involved in this brew. Like jazz, dark rock and even electronic music. Advanced stuff that some people call math metal actually. And that's hardly my kind of stuff, but I have to admit that some of these 11 songs are actually pretty o.k. anyway. Everything is not good or even interesting though (like the electronic stuff for example).
Maniacs like PRIMUS and SYSTEM OF A DOWN might be something similar, so if you like those bands, then you probably love these crazy bastards.
This is not just their sixth album, it's also their last album (it wouldn't surprise me if they're back within 5 years).
(Cooking Vinyl)
OCTOBER 20, 2016
PhotoPhoto
HOLLYWOOD MONSTERS: Capture The Sun - Album
..yet another intro without any meaning. But after that it's melodic hard rock that we get. And it's not bad at all. There's actually plenty of good songs here, so this is absolutely worth listening to.
Among the special guests on this album are Tim Bogart (VANILLA FUDGE), Tracy G (DIO), Neil Murray (WHITESNAKE), Danko Jones (DANKO JONES) and many others. And if I got it right, Vinny Appice (DIO, BLACK SABBATH) are playing drums in this band.
Favorite song: "It's A Lie".
OCTOBER 20, 2016
PhotoPhoto
HION MARTELL: Different Roads - Digital Single
HION MARTELL is a Swedish rock band who are pretty catchy and melodic. They have been around for many years now, and I have reviewed their records here earlier. I don't really know what to say about this song though. All I can come up with is that it's a good song about taking different roads to the same goal in life. Check it out. They're worth it.
hionmartell.com
OCTOBER 20, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SOULWOUND: No Peace - Album
This is the second album from this Finnish band. The music is fast, brutal, heavy and aggressive metal in the same spirit as classic SEPULTURA and the Finnish thrash legends STONE. And it's really good stuff, so this is something that you should check out of course.
Their first demo, "The Severance", was released in 2006 already. And their first album, "Seeing Red", was released in 2013.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (Inverse Records)
soulwoundband.com
OCTOBER 19, 2016
PhotoPhoto
QUEEN ELEPHANTINE: Kala - Album
I'm waiting for some action here. But that's like waiting for the perfect woman. She will never come, and there will never be any action here. All I can hear is long instrumental parts led by an over-fuzzed bass and drums, but there is vocals too (not in every song though). Often same riffs over and over again. And sometimes it sounds more like some philosopher playing a psychedelic mantra. The second track, "Quartz", was at least better than the rest. The songs are between 5.48 and 10.37. People who like heavy fuzz rock with atmosphere might like this better than me. 2 times was more than enough for me.
This band is originally from Hong Kong, but have relocated to New York. Their music is described as exotic-flavoured doom/ambient.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (Cimmerian Shade Recordings (LP)/Argonauta Records(CD)/Tartarus Records (Cassette)/Atypeek Music (Digital))
facebook.com/queenelephantine
OCTOBER 19, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ANATA: The Infernal Depths Of Hatred - 12" LP
O.k., this is not a new album, it's a vinyl reissue of their debut album from 1998, which has never been released on vinyl before.
In 1993 other death metal bands went either in a more melodic direction or a more brutal direction. But this band from Varberg, Sweden took a different way by a combination of both styles. Fans of MORBID ANGEL, mid era AT THE GATES, early DARK TRANQUILLITY and early SUFFOCATION should like this a lot.
This is something that you just must check out!
Release date: October 21, 2016 (KaosKvlt)
facebook.com/AnataDeathMetal
OCTOBER 19, 2016
PhotoPhoto
Stefan Berggren: Stranger In A Strangeland - Album
Swedish singer/musician/songwriter with an almost 30 years long career. He have played with acts like SNAKES IN PARADISE, M3, COMPANY OF SNAKES, RAZORBACK and BERGGREN KERSLAKE BAND among others. "Stranger In A Strangeland" is his first solo album though, which features appearances from old friends such as Bernie Marsden (ex-WHITESNAKE), Stephen Bentley-Klein (DEEP PURPLE), Neil Murray (BLACK SABBATH, WHITESNAKE), Tomas Pomma Thorberg (SNAKES IN PARADISE, FOUR STICKS, PLANKTON), Sebastian Sippola (FOUR STICKS, PLANKTON), Marcus Jidell (AVATARIUM, ex-EVERGREY), Joakim Svalberg (OPETH), Lars Karlsson (DIAMOND DOGS) and more.
He start pretty soft with "Sands Of Time". A little weird to start the album with a slow song. But after that it's some kind of melodic blues/rock that we get. And it's not bad. I wouldn't call any of these 10 songs excellent though.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (Pride & Joy Music)
facebook.com/stefan.berggren.5
OCTOBER 18, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DARKEST SINS: The Broken - Album
Good old melodic/power metal in general, but there's some brown moments too. Like when Fabio Lione (RHAPSODY OF FIRE) start to sing Italian opera in the longest song "Far Away" for example. And yes, there's both female and male vocals here.
The band comes from ålesund in Norway and formed in 2009. This is their debut album, which they have been working on for the last 3 years. They have previously released a demo in 2011 and a EP in 2013. Their roots and main influences comes from classic metal bands like IRON MAIDEN, JUDAS PRIEST and 80s era BLACK SABBATH. That doesn't mean that DARKEST SINS sound like those bands though.
Definitely something you should listen to if you like melodic and/or power metal.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (Pride & Joy Music)
facebook.com/darkestsinsband
OCTOBER 18, 2016
PhotoPhoto
POLTERGEIST: Back To Haunt - Album
Comeback album with a Swiss thrash metal band, who released a couple of albums in the late 80s and early 90s. A time when thrash metal wasn't so hot as far as I can remember. Partly because death metal was about to take over. But 22 years later thrash is way much hotter, so now it's time for a new album with POLTERGEIST.
They're not the fastest or most brutal thrash band. It's more like early ANTHRAX than let's say KREATOR, if we put it that way. I like what I hear anyway. And I think it's not impossible that you will like them too. So give them a chance, mate.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (Pure Steel Records)
poltergeist-metal.com
OCTOBER 17, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ROD SACRED: Submission - Album
16 songs?! C'mon, that's way too much. But on the other hand we get some good old hard rock/heavy metal in the same league as SCORPIONS during the 80s and early EUROPE (2 first albums). Not bad at all. Most of these songs are really good, so you have to check this out.
This band was founded back in 1983 already, which makes them one of the longest living metal bands in Italy. They have just released 3 demo recordings and 2 albums, which isn't that much for such a long career (they might not have been active all the time). And it seems like most of the songs on "Submission" are old tracks. 7 tracks are new songs that was recorded earlier this year, the rest is old stuff.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (Pure Underground Records)
rodsacred.it
OCTOBER 17, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SONIC SYNDICATE: Confessions - Single
Another single from their new album. Another electronic pop/rock song. Another dissapointment. All hope is gone when it comes to this band. That's for sure now. It wouldn't surprise me if they end up in the outtakes for next year's Eurovision Song Contest.
(Despotz Records)
OCTOBER 17, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DESTINY: Climate Change - Album
6-8 songs would have been enough from this Gotheburg, Sweden-based heavy metal veterans. But then there's as much as 14 tracks.
This band formed back in 1982 already, but as far as I know they have not been active all the time. But now they're back with a new album anyway, and many of these songs reminds me of a other Swedish band: CANDLEMASS. DESTINY play a little faster though. But you can still hear that they have been influenced by BLACK SABBATH, SAVATAGE and METAL CHURCH, but they are far away from a copy of those bands.
With titles like "Living Dead", "Sheer Death" and "Ruins And Destruction (Climate Change)", there doesn't seems to be much light in their lyrics.
This is not the only new album they have been working on. They have also been working on a album called "Global Warming", which they plan to release next fall.
Good stuff worth checking out.
Release date: October 21, 2016 (GMR Music)
destinymetal.se
OCTOBER 16, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ENTOMBED A.D., FRANTIC AMBER and PUTERAEON at Sticky Fingers in Göteborg, Sweden on October 14, 2016
After some food and beers I arrived around 20.35 or 20.40. The place was supposed to open at 20.00, and the first band was supposed to start playing at 20.30. But what do I find? A long queue that I had to stand and freeze in! Not a good start..
When I finally came in and climbed up the stairs, the first band, PUTERAEON, had already started to play. Meat death metal is what they call their music. Even though it goes pretty fast, they're still heavy and powerful. A very good band that comes from Alingsås, Sweden. The members have been playing in bands like TAETRE, RECLUSION, NOMINON etc. Definitely a band that I think you should check out.
Puteraeon

Puteraeon

Puteraeon

Puteraeon

Puteraeon

Puteraeon

Puteraeon
Next band was FRANTIC AMBER, with members from Sweden, Denmark, Japan and Colombia. But they are based in Stockholm, Sweden. They play melodic death metal, and they was really good at that. So, another band that I can recomend you to check out. That's all I have to say about them..
Frantic Amber

Frantic Amber

Frantic Amber

Frantic Amber

Frantic Amber

Frantic Amber

Frantic Amber
Well, I guess ENTOMBED A.D. doesn't need any presentation. They should be more than well-known to you. Otherwise I don't know why you read this.
I think it must be about 2 years since I saw them last time, and I have seen them a couple of times through the years. They hardly ever dissapoint me. They always deliver a good show. And the singer, L-G Petrov, is of course always a funny dude. And they did a really good show this night too, so the only thing I can complain about is the light. It seems to be either too little or too much wherever I go to see a band.
Entombed

Entombed

Entombed

Entombed

Entombed

Entombed

Entombed
OCTOBER 15, 2016
PhotoPhoto
Kee Marcello at Bengans in Göteborg, Sweden on October 14, 2016
Yeah, why should a rock star start playing on time? Very boring to wait..
This was not a "real" show, but just 3 acoustic songs before they started to sign his new record, that was released on this day.
Bengans is actually the oldest and biggest record store in Göteborg. And even though I got the record for review a couple of days ago, I have not heard it yet (will listen to it tomorrow though).
The 3 songs we got to hear this afternoon was pretty good, but maybe a little too long for some reason. Maybe because they were performed acoustic? It will be very interesting to hear these songs electric, so to speak.
More details when the review is up..
Kee Marcello

Kee Marcello

Kee Marcello
OCTOBER 15, 2016
PhotoPhoto
DARKRYPT: Delirious Excursion - Album
"From India not Scandinavia" they say. Well, it's death metal anyway.
This band take their influences from bands like DEMILICH, ADRAMELECH, DEMIGOD, early AMORPHIS, FUNEBRE and NIHILIST. Mixing was done by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios, and mastering by the legendary Dan Swanö at Unisound Studios. And there's guest appearances by Rogga Johansson (PAGANIZER, The GROTESQUERY etc. etc.), Nitin Rajan (PRIMITIV) and Riju Dasgupta (ALBATROSS, PRIMITIV).
Most of these 9 tracks are good, so this can absolutely be worth checking out.
Release date: October 15, 2016 (Transcending Obscurity India)
facebook.com/darkryptband
OCTOBER 14, 2016
PhotoPhoto
WARCRAB: Scars Of Aeons - Album
A heavy band that actually succeed to be good. Because even though it's heavy, it's still catchy (in lack of a better description, it's hardly like you will dance to this). They're not monotonus and boring like some heavier bands can be. There's melody and energy in these songs. They call this doom/death/sludge.
The band comes from the South West of England, and has been lurking in the British metal underground since 2011. "Scars Of Aeons" is their third album, which includes 5 tracks, who are between 4.47 to 10.09 minutes long.
Release date: October 15, 2016 (Black Bow Records)
OCTOBER 14, 2016
PhotoPhoto
VORVAN: Once Love Was Lost - Album
Some dudes playing heavy while some maniac stand there and scream. So fucking useless! And then somebody claim that this album "will undoubtedly be remembered as one of the best albums of 2016." What a lie!
This is supposed to be some kind of metal punk, but I would call it dark hardcore with a touch of noise rock.
The band comes from Russia and formed in 2009.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (WOOAAARGH/Darkened Days)
facebook.com/vorvanband
OCTOBER 13, 2016
PhotoPhoto
HOLY SERPENT: Temples - Album
This band comes from Melbourne, Australia. And what they play sounds like a mixture of stoner, doom and sludge, with long instrumental parts that are a little psychedelic sometimes. The vocals are also psychedelic. They definitely have a vintage sound.
There's just 5 songs on this album, but it last for 44 minutes. The songs are between 6 to 11.45 minutes long.
Very good stuff that can be something for fans of heavy rock and 70s rock.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (RidingEasy)
holyserpent.bandcamp.com
OCTOBER 13, 2016
PhotoPhoto
BLACK DREAMS: Soul Stealer - EP
Here can we talk about broken English.
BLACK DREAMS was founded in 2015, and comes from Rauma in Finland. They play blues-driven heavy metal with some gothic and doom metal influences. The members comes from bands like DISCIPLINE X, SOLITAIRE and HORROCKS.
We get 2 pretty o.k. songs on this EP.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Inverse Records)
facebook.com/BLACKDREAMSOFFICIAL
OCTOBER 13, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ICONS OF FILTH: Nostradamnedus - Album
Here's another old punk band that I have not heard before.
This album was originally released in 2002, and it was their third and final album. Pretty o.k. stuff, but honestly not much else. Seems to be more anger than melody.
ICONS OF FILTH was a Welsh anarcho punk band that were formed in 1979 already.
That's all I have to say about this..
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Westworld Recordings)
OCTOBER 12, 2016
PhotoPhoto
NOPES: Never Heard Of It - Album
This is something that I would describe as alternative punk rock. It reminds me a little of Seattle and grunge actually. But The NOPES are actually an Eastbay outfit centered around Oakland and San Francisco, and their own descriptions are "spazz punk" and "fringe punk". They're heavy, loud, noisy and raw at the same time, with the speakers on 11. I'm not sure if that gives you any better idea of what they could sound like, but they have obviously succeeded to find their own unique sound. It's hard to tell if this is good or bad though.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Magnetic Eye)
OCTOBER 12, 2016
PhotoPhoto
RIKK AGNEW BAND: Learn - Album (LP, Digital)
It seems like Rikk Agnew has been playing guitar in California hardcore/punk bands since the late 70s. From 1980 to 1982, Agnew was a major musical force in iconic lineups of both O.C. hardcore band ADOLESCENTS and the goth icons CHRISTIAN DEATH, yet also released his own landmark debut solo album, "All By Myself".
His latest band is simply called RIKK AGNEW BAND. And to start playing punk again might sound like a good idea, but unfortunately he doesn't seems to remember how to make good songs anymore. Most of these songs goes in through 1 ear and out through the other. It doesn't matter that the energy is high and the songs are full of raw punk rock fury, when you don't have the songs. I have definitely heard worse than this though.
But there is actually 2 tracks that stand out from the rest: "Think Of The Children" (with somebody who sounds like the singer from The UNDERTONES) and "Cat Fight", who has a female singer. Those 2 songs are the best songs on this album.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Frontier Records)
facebook.com/officialrikkagnewband
OCTOBER 12, 2016
PhotoPhoto
IRON CURTAIN: Guilty As Charged - Album
A young heavy/speed metal band from Spain is what we get here. It's a little rough but yet melodic. They definitely have a couple of good songs here, no doubt about that. They look and sounds like something from the 80s. So if that's what you're looking for, then this could be a band for you.
They have been pretty productive during their existance. It started with 2 demo recordings in 2009 and 2010. After that they have released several EPs and 2 full lengths. Some bands have not even released their first album during that time.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Pure Steel Records)
facebook.com/pages/IRON-CURTAIN/168183273229512
OCTOBER 11, 2016
PhotoPhoto
ICHABOD KRANE: Beyond Eternity - Album
US-Metal act ICHABOD KRANE released their debut album, "Day Of Reckoning", in 2014. Now their second album is here. And what we get is true classic heavy metal in the same league as JUDAS PRIEST, but with some keyboards here and there. The songs are good, so this could be worth checking out.
The band consist of some current and former members of HALLOWEEN (no, not the German band HELLOWEEN), as well as some other players.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Pure Steel Records)
ichabodkrane.com
OCTOBER 11, 2016
PhotoPhoto
G.B.H.: Ha Ha - Album
This is a re-release of their ninth studio album, which was originally released in 2002. These 17 tracks (why so many?) is said to have been their best material in a while. There's talk about the 80s, that it would sound like they did back then. But I don't know. It's good anyway, no doubt about that. But not as good as the old classics (but I guess that wasn't so hard to figure out). And 17 tracks is like 7 too many. But it seems like some bands in the late 90s and early 00s just had to fill their albums with as much material as possible. I prefer quality before quantity. Luckily there's not so many bad songs here, and that's good.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Westworld Recordings)
facebook.com/GBH.official
OCTOBER 10, 2016
PhotoPhoto
The VARUKERS: How Do You Sleep? - Album
Photo
Another reissue from Westworld Recordings. This time it's the fifth album with the British hardcore/punk band The VARUKERS, which was originally released in 2002.
The VARUKERS should be familiar to you. Especially if you like bands like DISCHARGE (which the singer was a member of for many years). It's something similar, but not really as good as DISCHARGE. The VARUKERS are far away from bad though.
I once saw them live actually. Must have been about 10 years ago though. I remember that some punk stole the singer's cider, and he just went backstage and came back with another big bottle (must have been at least 150 cl).
Good stuff that could be worth checking out if you like British hardcore/punk.
Release date: October 14, 2016 (Westworld Recordings)
OCTOBER 10, 2016
PhotoPhoto
VÄNLADE: Wayward Sons, Masters Of Time Vol 1 - EP
They start this covers EP with 3 classics that I really like: "Barracuda" by HEART, "Fire In The Sky" by SAXON and BLACK SABBATH's "Never Say Die". And they do a really good job there.
After that comes "Bastille Day" by RUSH, which I have not heard before. But JUDAS PRIEST's "Riding On The Wind" is another classic that I really like.
The last song is "Wayward Son" by KANSAS. Another song that I'm not familiar with.
How can you not like this? This is almost a must for every true fan of classic hard rock and heavy metal.
facebook.com/vanlade
OCTOBER 9, 2016
PhotoPhoto
WENDIGO: Initiation - EP
A mixture of hard rock, blues rock and stoner rock is what we get here. The band comes from Germany, and they have been rocking since 2012. This is their debut EP.
I like what I hear, even though it sounds like a demo. They reminds me of a Swedish band called STALLION FOUR (where did they go by the way?). Good stuff anyway, and therefor worth checking out.
The best song is the first song, "Play It". But "Sail On" is not bad either. The last track, "Holy Hypocrite", is a little too lazy and long with its 7 and a half minutes.
facebook.com/wendigoband
OCTOBER 9, 2016
PhotoPhoto
SPIDERS, LAVA BANGS and TENGIL at Klubb Undergrunden/Pulsen in Borås, Sweden on October 8, 2016
I don't know if they was saving energy, but there wasn't much light on the small stage. Kind of hard to take any good photos then, unless you have a very good camera.
TENGIL is one of these bands who are a little hard to get a grip on. A wall of sound where you can hear some kind of progressive/experimental rock. Which doesn't really say that much about their music. I think you have to hear this power trio to get a better picture of what they sound like.
Tengil

Tengil

Tengil

Tengil

LAVA BANGS was 2 women and 1 man. Some kind of Grrrl riot punk rock that was pretty o.k. But sometimes they played something else, which was not so good. I don't really know what else to say about them..
Lava Bangs

Lava Bangs

SPIDERS have never dissapointed me so far, but I have seen better shows with them through the years. Mainly because I had to sit during most of their show. It would have been so much better if I could have stand infront of the stage all the time. But my leg said no to that.
They played many of my favorite songs anyway, and are among the better Swedish bands in the 70s inspired blues rock genre.
Spiders

Spiders

Spiders

Spiders

Spiders
OCTOBER 9, 2016
PhotoPhoto
CRY OF DAWN featuring Göran Edman: Cry Of Dawn - Album
Göran Edman (John Norum, Yngwie Malmsteen, BRAZEN ABBOT, GLORY etc. etc.) is 1 of the best singers we have here in Sweden, with over 30 years as a rock singer. It's said that he have been singing on over 50 albums. And he have been singing everything from neo-classical metal to progressive rock and AOR. Always with a soulful voice.
CRY OF DAWN is his latest thing. The music is AOR/melodic rock. And if you happens to like that, then this is something that you really should check out.
(Frontiers Music)
OCTOBER 8, 2016
PhotoPhoto
RAVENEYE: Nova - Album
I would describe this as some kind of heavier and blues-based melodic hard rock.
This is a UK-based rock trio formed in 2014. And even though the band have not existed for so long, they have already been touring in U.S.A, UK and Europe. Their debut EP, "Breaking Out", was released in 2015. Now their first full length album is here, and they really have a couple of good songs here. No doubt about that.
Some of these songs, and especially the first track, reminds me of PEARL JAM and SOUNDGARDEN. While others reminds me more of a band like BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION.
(Frontiers Music)
OCTOBER 8, 2016
PhotoPhoto
KAMCHATKA: No One That Can Tell - Single
Swedish power trio KAMCHATKA is back with a new blues rock song. And it's another good melody that you definetely should check out if you're into that genre.
Not much else to say..
(Despotz Records)
OCTOBER 7, 2016
PhotoPhoto
INFANT DEATH: Violent Rites - Album
Raw and occult thrash/speed metal from Trondheim, Norway is what we get here. This is their third album. It sounds a little chaotic sometimes, but with control.
You won't find any 10-minutes songs here. Most songs are around 3 minutes. And that's enough.
Not bad at all. Could be worth checking out.
CD out now, LP comes on October 14 (Apocalyptic Empire Records)
infantdeath.bandcamp.com
OCTOBER 7, 2016
PhotoPhoto
KATANA BLOOM: Football Won't Save Your Children From Drugs - Album
Funny album title.
This band play some kind of catchy and melodic rock, possibly with a punk attitude sometimes, but are described as "garage hard n roll", which they say is "a Swedish derivation of hard rock, rock n roll, punk rock mixed together". In Sweden we would call that action rock, which is what The HELLACOPTERS played in their early days. This doesn't really sound like action rock to me.
They seems to have a couple of good songs here though, so I can't complain about that anyway.
KATANA BLOOM comes from Venice, Italy. This is their first full length.
katanabloom.bandcamp.com
OCTOBER 7, 2016

Back to page 5   Next page   Take Me To The Top
This site has been online since 2001.
All reviews and photos/images by Jimmy Blom.